We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels we've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #14 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels we've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in a double room here for only one night in March 2013. It was just like a hotel - we had a flat screen TV with cable channels in the room, a comfortable be, everything was well kept and seemed quite new. The shared bathrooms were clean and worked well.

The roof terrace is really nice, with a great view of the town by day and night. There's a jacuzzi, a nice bar area, hammocks, a computer and TV area, wifi and it was nice to get a free margarita in the evening. It's a great budget option for Cancún and we would definitely stay here again.

It's really close to the bus terminal so it's cheap and easy to get to and from the airport or to catch an ADO bus to Chichen Itza and it doesn't take long to get to the beach on a local bus (although the traffic can get bad).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you back soon!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    123
    50
    17
    19
See reviews for
7
83
111
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at Hostel Mundo Joven while traveling solo. As a female traveling solo I was very pleased. The security is very good. Someone is always at the front desk, and you need a key first to get into the wing which your room is located and than to get into your dorm. I chose to stay in a 4 person dorm. It was a no frills room with 2 bunk beds. The mattress was comfy and clean and there was a big locker with an outlet inside of it to charge my electronics. The atmosphere there was also very nice. There was a large rooftop deck with a bar and wifi where you can meet fellow travelers. IT wasn't a party vibe it was a chill vibe. In the a.m. I was impressed by the breakfast buffet...cereal, toast and jelly, yogurt and granola..Oh and one more thing the hostel is only 2 blocks from the bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MELNYC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Google Translation
Woooow, gracias por ver todas las cosas positivas que tenemos!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

As we had our flight back from Cancun we stayed here for one night at the end of our trip. The hostel is perfectly situated near the bus station for connections to airport thus ous decision to pick here. Cancun itself is very expensive but this hostel offers a decent dorm for backpackers on a budget. Roof top bar/hangout is a good plus side if you are feeling lazy, to be honest not much to see in Cancun so we hung out upstairs for most of our day. T.V room for football and computers to get online, really cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Muchas gracias!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed in Mundo Joven for 4 nights, while buying tickets and waiting to fly to Cuba. Before arriving, I was not excited to have to stay in Cancun, however after staying in Mundo, I left with some fairly decent feelings toward the rather ugly city.

My favorite parts--
--The hostel has various activities happening each night--BBQs, free tequila nights, beer pong, etc (its a little like being in college again, but a bit classier). These happen on the hostels amazing rooftop area, and facilitate a friendly/social enviroment--ie a great place to meet other travellers. The free welcome margaritas help as well.
--The rooftop area, in general is the heart of the hostel--with a jacuzzi, computer & tv room, hammocks, tables, a bar and a decent kitchen.
--The location--its perfect whether you´re just passing through or if you intend to stay a while. Its barely a block away from the ADO bus station (which also has an airport shuttle), collectivos to Playa, etc.,Aveninda Tulum, a few groand Parque de Palapas (where all the good, cheap food can be found).
--Good, free breakfast---toast & jam, cereal, yogurt and granola, fruit, coffee/tea

Room Tip: At the time we were there, the air conditioner was not neccessary, and cost much more for a dorm wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Welcome to Cancún! Welcome to Hostel Mundo Joven!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleta de Fuste, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed in an air conditioned private room which was very clean and fairly quiet (for a hostel). There is a nice rooftop bar for hanging out, Internet is free and there are plenty of things to do around the hostel.

Al around great experience. will stay here again if i ever return

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Happy travel amigo!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night as I used it really just for sleeping as I had not slept the night before after a long travel night and was exhausted!

I slept in a 14 person dorm which was great - although it was a tiny bit hot. Each bed has its own fan but they aren't really powerful enough. The showers were hot though which is key when you are travelling! I slept well so I was happy.

The breakfast was excellent, fruit, granola, yoghurt, a variety of cereals, toast and spreads, tea, coffee and juice.

The staff were also very helpful and friendly. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelonTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you and we hope to see you back again!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for a night on my way to Valladolid. I got a private room- clean and quiet. I was afraid that a hostel would be noisy but I heard very little from my room, nothing that kept me awake or woke me.

Loved the rooftop bar and hang space, free use of computers and internet, AC, and proximity to the bus station. Sure, my room was very basic and a little rough around the edges, but I expect this from a hostel. Thumbs up, would stay here again- it's a great option for travelers passing through Cancun via bus. I can't speak to it's location for exploring the town.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor in a private room. It was quiet the night I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian337788, Gerente at Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thanks amigo!

Julian (Management)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#84 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#68 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.9 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 182 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,677 reviews
0.9 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 121 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing