We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End up staying 4 nights here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Ranked #16 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“End up staying 4 nights here”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My friend and I booked one night here, planned to spend two days in Cancun. But everything here was just wonderful. Rooms are spacious, lovely patio with food and drinks (free tequila shots), as well as the loving staff members who gave bunches of tips and take you to parties at night! They have a hot tub also!

The location is great as well, 5 min walk to the main bus station, from where you can easily go to Tulum, Merida, Chichen Itza, Playa del Carmen and etc. also close to the local bus stops (8 min walk)

street food, restaurants, supermarket, fast food, everything is close.
Anyways, I love Mundo Joven!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    123
    50
    17
    20
See reviews for
7
83
112
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Mundo Joven is the exact opposite of the previous hostel I stayed at in Cancun. I won't go into too much detail, but the rooftop breakfast buffet was a real treat. The dorms weren't too crowded. My ten bed dorm had an en-suite shower, plus two separate WCs and two sinks. AC was included- some may like that but I don't need it- some guests seem to like it freezing at night! The best thing however, was the atmosphere. Everybody was in a good mood here. Relaxed but upbeat. The building shows a little wear in places, but it is clean and bright. WiFi in the rooms and rooftop hammocks are nice too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

mundo joven is amazing hostel . great staff all ways want to help.
the room is clean and chap . great place to meet new people and also great party's .
if you want to have fun in Cancun go to mundo joven .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carugate, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Position is perfect for the bus station but VERY far from the sea. Staff is very helpful, with lots of advice and infos. The roof is fantastic, with jacuzzi, bar, showers, relax area and so on. The double room is very big, but since it's next to the roof, it could be very noisy at night. No lift, so you have to carry your luggage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

centrally located, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful roof top terrace including bar and whirlpool to hang out. The private rooms are very nicely done. Good restaurants are in walking distance, a laundry service is next door. Breakfast is very basic but ok. Taxi to the ferry terminal to escape Cancun to e.g. isla mujeres is 35 Pesos.

Room Tip: Private rooms are really nice with own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in mundo joven hostel and we were scared to take our clothes off to sleep because there was many "spots" on the blanket, it was very loud at night, it stinks..really, there is no hot water and before we came here we had to cancel our reservation for 2 nights, i wrote 3 messages to 2 differents e-mail they gave us and i had an answer only 3 days later, so i had to book again because i was worried they would have cancelled our last night here...the only good points are the location near the bus station but far from the beach and the roof top is nice too but the jacuzzi is so dirty i saw no one in it...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank van-s-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I just spent one night here, upon arriving in Cancun. It's only minutes on foot from the main bus station, making it extremely practical. The guy at the reception was friendly and helpful. Dorms are male or female and there were just a few girls in my very large room, which I think had 10 beds. It was a reasonable price. There is a big individual locker next to each dorm bed, but you need to have your own padlock (which I did). Inside each locker is an electrical plug, a wonderful idea if you want to charge batteries, phone or iPad, because you can lock it up while it's charging.

The bathroom was clean though the water in the shower was pretty cold. Not sure if it ever gets warmer.There is a rooftop bar to have a drink or to use WiFi, and there is also a computer room on the roof. It was a friendly crowd of mainly young people. They give people a paper bracelet to wear, I suppose for security reasons. There is breakfast included in the price, but as I had a very early morning bus departure, I did not discover what the breakfast was. There is a supermarket across the street and money changers just near the bus station, so it's very convenient.

I'd recommend this hostel to any budget traveler who wants a practical location to stay short-term.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#87 of 175 in Cancun
198 reviews
5.8 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 175 in Cancun
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mezcal Hostel
Mezcal Hostel
#1 of 135 in Cancun
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orquideas Hostel
Orquideas Hostel
#2 of 135 in Cancun
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel El Corazon
Hostel El Corazon
#10 of 135 in Cancun
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun

Property: Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun
Address: Uxmal 25 SM 23. MZA 3LT25 | Col. Centro Municipio Benito, Juárez, Cancun 77580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Mundo Joven Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing