We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GR Caribe by Solaris
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$559
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$396
US$252
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$730
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$525
US$507
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Palace(Cancun)
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$255
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$708
US$592
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,382
US$849
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,411)
Filter reviews
3,411 results
Traveller rating
1,694
1,045
343
187
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,694
1,045
343
187
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarco polobogavante restaurantlas fuentesroyal sidesister resort next doortime shareocean viewlobby barnightly showsentertainment staffbottled watersenor frogsall inclusive resorthot dogsa lot of funhave a good timea la carte restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 3,411 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay was from March 2nd-March 9th. Our reception at the front desk was tedious, with only one couple ahead of us. When we opened our room the smell of mold was enough to knock us over. The rooms were adjoining (our daughter and her grandparents were with us) and in front of the elevator and feet away from a hotel housekeeping phone... The doors were very thin. There was a problem with the water temperature for one day of our stay. Burning then icy. Now, the staff- WOW!!! Beautiful service in all areas, starting with the Lobby Bar and Gaby. Absolutely wonderful. Bogavante restaurant was elegant and delicious with outstanding, personal attention to detail. Our hats are off to Nahum and crew. Each dinner was a delight. The poolside service was beyond all expectations, with our personable waitress, Veronica. Pamela the young lady in charge of poolside activities was upbeat and cheery bringing all into the fun of the day. Last, but not least was Viri in the spa, located next door in Royal Solaris, who gave a much needed neck, shoulders & back massage the day after our arrival. What a way to start a vacation! We did not plan on spending our time in our hotel room so our comment is for five thumbs up- Thanks to premium staff. I must also give a big A+ to Patty, our housekeeper for the duration of our stay. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered regarding the rooms during your stay. We appreciate taking the time to share your experience; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can improve our facilities to make unique vacations for all of our guests. We are delightful to read how wonderful was your journey with the staff during your stay in GR Caribe Hotel. We are so glad to know that our guest services exceeded your expectations. All the staff is looking for your return; they will receive you with their arms wide open and a big smile, you can be sure they will make a magic vacation each time.

We are looking forward to see you soon.
Warm regards from México to California

Hoteles Solaris de México
^S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband, 5 year old and I stayed at the hotel March 10th through 19th. This was our 8th all inclusive and we have always stayed at 4 star resorts. Although we have had great vacations in the past, this is the first time that we both agreed that this is a resort we would return to. The biggest seller for us was the size; the pool, beach and restaurants were all in close proximity to each other and just seemed more enjoyable than the bigger resorts that we have been to. It was also great to have access to the Royal Solaris next door for variety.

Airport Transport
- if transportation to the hotel is not included with your package, you can expect to pay $17 per person for the less than 10 minute drive ... on the way back to the airport, we paid $10 per person by going through the hotel. I'm sure you could get it even cheaper if you set it up yourself.
- there is no need to talk to the official representatives inside the airport. They just eat up your time with time share info that you may not be interested in. Right outside the airport doors will be other employees who will guide you to your transportation. Be sure to bring a printed copy of your itinerary; they will be checking this to see if your transportation is included or if you have to pay separate.


Pool
- the pool was pleasantly warm compared to every other resort we've been to
- during spring break, the Royal Solaris pool was a gong show with young adults, but the GR Caribe was very relaxing. There were still quite a few children in our pool, but not of drinking age.

Shopping
- you can catch the city bus right outside the hotel for $1 per person one way; you pay the driver as soon as you get on and he'll give you a ticket. I was told by a local that the ticket is for insurance purposes, in case you get injured on the bus.
- on your first trip, don't be afraid to tell the driver where you want to get off so he'll announce your destination
- 10 minutes to the La Isla mall - this is a wonderful high end outdoor mall and there is also an aquatic center where you can swim with the dolphins. Entrance for the aquatic center is $13 US per person (over 3 yrs). You can pay $88 for an educational session with a dolphin trainer. The participants get to pet and kiss the dolphin and it swims and performs right in the water with everyone. The more expensive session ($144) includes a swim, where the dolphin pushes the person out of the water with it's nose on their feet.
- 13 minutes by bus to the first open flea market
- 30 minutes by bus to Wal-Mart (which is a 4 block walk to Market 28, the biggest open market)
- if you hate bartering, you will not enjoy the flea markets and I would recommend getting your Mexican souvenirs at La Isla mall, where there are two large retailers of Mexican goods
- if you have never negotiated for goods, here is my process: When I love an item, I ask how much and then politely say thank you and put it down and walk away. They will come back with a better price and then I again say thank you, tell them it's very nice and walk away. They will come back again, usually close to half the price they started with and then I graciously accept.
- If you're a jewellery lover, be sure to check out the Cancun Airport on the way home. There is a nice store that sells well priced silver gemstone jewellery.

Kid's Club
- the kid's club is next door at the Royal Solaris. This is the first time my little guy would go to the kid's club. Children under 4 years need to have a parent present and for kids over 4, parents where not permitted to stay. They have water slides and an indoor area for crafts, with a TV and an Xbox. The ladies at the kid's club were fantastic and we felt very comfortable leaving our child for an hour or two at a time.

Beach
- the sand was soft and fine; unfortunately the winds were brutal on our trip, which made the ocean too rough for young kids
- unlike other resorts we've been to, there was no bar on the beach

Room
- we were in 2108, which was parallel to the restaurant kitchen; at night the light flooded in our room from the kitchen and it wasn't until near the end of our trip that I got smart and hung up our beach towels over the blinds to block the light.
- I found the beds comfortable, but they were too hard for my husbands bad back. The staff was quick to get us extra comforters to put under the sheets and he didn't have any complaints.

Food
- one difference from other resorts is that the indoor buffets are not open for lunch; there are plenty of other choices though
- for the most part, we enjoyed the food and I have to say that this is the first resort we have ever stayed at that at least one of us didn't have any "stomach" issues

I hope this was helpful info. We really loved the resort and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shelleyshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for recommending GR Caribe. It is great to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. We appreciate taking your time writing your review and sharing all the tips for our travelers when visiting Cancún and staying in the GR Caribe Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the access to our sister tower the Royal Solaris Hotel. Is a pleasure to know you loved the Kid's Club, our staff is always doing their best to make the kids happy. Thanks for pointing the quality of the food, we are always trying to bring our guests the best courses in our different restaurants.


We are looking forward to see you soon.
Warm regards from Mexico to Canada
Hoteles Solaris de México
^S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Due to the miserable Chicago weather and long winter, I had to get out quickly for a long weekend. I found this All-Inclusive w/non-stop flights leaving five days later. The GR Caribe is a hotel/timeshare with a lot of visual appeal. It's decorated in a mediterranean arabesque style of white stucco and red roof; it has several uniquely decorated seating areas inside and out. Since we booked so late, we were given a small room in the middle of the hotel that had two small windows, one facing the pool and sea, and the other the breakfast room next door. Our room had a musty smell, which actually reminded of the scent of rotting wood. However, it was tolerable and seemed to add to the charm. Notice that there are no balconies in this hotel, so bring extra swim suits, since they won't be dry by the next day. The food at the buffets was only ok. It reminded me of food from a school cafeteria, except with more choices and an array of fresh fruit and regional cheeses. The à la carte restaurants were better. However, what I was craving was a good, fresh grilled fish, not a tasteless fillet with a mediocre sauce, which is what they offered. Wi-Fi was available for a $20 day surcharge, totally uncessary, especially since the computer room was "Members Only". The beach was small, but quiet. Lastly, I disliked that people would save several lounge chairs early in the morning, at beach and pool, and never use the chairs other than to hold their towels. I realize this happens everywhere now, but I find it so arrogant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is geared more toward adults - small resort - the pool is small and quiet - the food is very, very average - no seafood - taco and hotdogs everyday at the pool snack shack - the buffet was boring - no seasonings
The hotel is odd - all rooms open to the outdoors so it is a little loud
The beach is awesome - white sand - miles to walk - play volleyball - swim - whatever
All the amenities are at the sister hotel next door - buffet, gym, spa, entertainment - so you had to walk over to the other hotel for everything except the pool

Room Tip: ask for room on 2nd floor or higher and with a ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annierose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from spring break at the GR Caribe in Cancun. We have been to Cancun several times and stay somewhere new each time, trying to find that perfect vacation spot. We will look no further! The GR Caribe is hands-down the best place we've stayed in Cancun! Caribe is a smaller resort which right away eliminates that cookie-cutter, chaotic feel of the mega resorts in the Cancun area. The resort has an exotic Moroccan flair which is very visually appealing and stands out among the other nearby resorts. It is extremely clean and the workers are very friendly and professional. Our room was a standard lagoon view room, however a spectacular view of the ocean awaits us every time we open our door! We felt like we had 2 wonderful views - what a bonus! The most important parts of our vacation are always the beach and the food/drinks. GR Caribe has an excellent beach area! No rocks, fun waves to play in, not crowded. We were perfectly content spending about 10 hours each day laying right on that beach! All that outdoor time creates a hefty appetite so thank goodness we had the BEST dinners at the on-site Veneto restaurant each evening. Their upscale menu changes nightly and we were so impressed by the quality of food and service we received at this restaurant. We have traveled extensively and taken many cruises as well, and we can easily say this food was as good, if not better than, cruise food. And that is high praise from us! I had no idea you could dine so well in Cancun. Again, it helps not to be in a mega-resort where the food is mass produced. And the service...I have never seen such a professional staff take such pride in their work as in the Veneto dining room. We had Morimoto as our main server and we absolutely loved him! He took the time to thoroughly explain our dishes every single night and went out of his way to create the best dining experience for us. What a wonderful gentleman he was! Usually in Cancun we are looking to go off the resort to eat just to take a break from the food. It didn't even enter our minds this time. As a side note, another bonus was we had access to the Royal Solaris next door and they have the most delicious wood fired pizza. They make it right in front of you and the authentic Italian taste was something I looked forward to at lunchtime. We can't wait to return to the GR Caribe on future spring breaks and next time we will be bringing our family and friends with us! Hope it stays just the way it is <3

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review regarding your recent stay at GR Caribe. Is a delightful to hear that you have found your perfect vacation spot with us, and be sure that we will make every vacation unique.

We are glad to read you enjoy our wonderful beach and all the beautiful views that our resort offers. With pleasure we present our best dinners every evening in our Veneto Restaurant and we can assure you will have the best experience with Morimoto's suggestions everytime.
We are happy to know that you are very pleased by quality of service,cleanliness, the food and the delicious pizza from sister Tower Royal Solaris Hotel.
We are proud to say we have a professional team always ready to give their best all the time to make our guests feel at home.

Remember: GR Caribe is your second home. We are looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends in a near future.

Warm regards
Saludos desde México hasta Iowa
Hoteles Solaris de México.
^S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews