We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of GR Caribe by Solaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GR Caribe by Solaris
Ranked #23 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

You need low expectation to stay at GR Caribe by Solaris site ,if you like low quality food ,service beer and liquor and a good headache after your at the right place. I traveled with my wife and thought by the reviews it was an ok place WOW was i misled thanks to the people who gave this place a good review ,if you want a small pool outdated hotel with horrible food and trust me all the so called food are frozen even if you go next door ,watered down liquor and walking around with a dog tag on your wrist ,birds flying over your head dropping crap all over the chairs and there people skils oh sorry i didnt see any but man can they harass you the whole time your there to go on a time share tour .we met a couple who are suing them for false misrepresentation..They wont take american money charge only ,but the will take it for tips we went out to eat for a good meal or we would have staved I felt like Gordon Ramsey i sent everything back from there so called restaurant which there dress code was not enforced and people where there in shorts sandles and t-shirts hmm and why did I get dressed ,you get what you pay for people do your home work this place is like a pig with lip stick. i refuse to take the first room the wanted to put me in it smelled like mold .i got a room on a higher floor the room was clean the beach was the best part of our stay put that is free .the walls are paper thin and can hear everything from people getting off the elevator and down in the court yard i ask the front desk to check my flight the day we were leaving they ask are you a member I said no so there response was NO ,thanks a lot solarASS go with your gut skip GR Caribe by Solaris

Room Tip: The best rooms is at a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolarisHotels, Social Media Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest

We appreciate your time and valuable feedback regarding your stay at GR Caribe in helping us to improve and make the necessary adjustments to provide our future guests a memorable experience.

We deeply regret regarding the perception you had during the time you were in our Resort, we have already informed to our General Manager about all the points you have mentioned, we have been taken corrective actions in order to improve our range of services and facilities.

Allow us to explain you that there are crows in Cancun so it's out of our hand this situation , however we have taken some measures to reduce the access to the property

On regarding dollars change, is because of the government regulations in Mexico. It is recommended that all travelers bring Mexican pesos as well as their credit and/or debit cards to minimize any inconvenience the exchange cap at banks may cause.

We regret not having met your expectations and all the inconveniences you experienced with us. We can assure you that we care and listen all the reviews and we have carefully considered your comments.

We would have liked that you had lived the typical Solaris experience and being pampered as you deserve.

Sincerely,
Hoteles Solaris de México.
^X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    947
    302
    172
    130
See reviews for
946
984
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is very nice!! Nicely decorated, unique and very groomed grounds. The lobby is very pretty and the gardens too. The staff was awesome!! Virgilio (hello smyrna, GA!!!), Neftali, Cordoba, pao, edwin, Alberto, jose antonio, erick, botones, etc. Great staff! There's another female in the lobby that made us mango martinis in the afternoons; very nice young.lady. most of the staff was nice, courteous and professional. We miss their smiling faces!! If we decide to go back to Cancun it will be to this.hotel again because of.the service. Never once did the staff show anything except professionalism. The food was great, less.the fast food (burgers) but that's not what the point of. Our.trip.was anyways. The breakfast buffet was nice and it has a personalized touch. Lunch and.dinner at bogavante because of the awesome oceanview,.also the great.food, and again,.the service!! The staff here works very hard to make sure.the.guests are happy,; this is evident! The cleaning crew was.also prompt and.did a great job daily. The timeshare salespeople were a different story though!!! Not sure.if they do.anything else except pray on guests?? They just sit there waiting... A bit too aggressive for us but an east fix.with a firm NO. The sol ha people also very nice! Very hospitable staff and we.got a great no stress kind of vibe. The.little gift shop was cute but overpriced and $26 for sunscreen is not funny. The hotel next door has better prices st tge gift shops there fyi. All in all, we would go back in a heartbeat. We had a great time!! :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Europaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My sisters and I did a girls week in Cancun at the GR Caribe by Solaris all inclusive and had an amazing time. The hotel room was nice and very roomy, the food was good, and the pool and beach were outstanding. The thing that set this vacation apart from the others was the amazing staff that works at the GR Caribe. They really made our vacation memorable and fun. Jhonathan was amazing at breakfast and lunch at the Café. Every morning he was in a fun and festive mood and ready to get us started with our mimosas. He made sure our glasses remained full throughout the meal and even helped carry our plates back to our table after we visited the buffet. One day it was raining all morning and afternoon and we just hung out in the café area. Jhohnathan made sure we were always taken care of with something to drink and then helped us setup for lunch. Neftali also helped out for several of our meals and was very attentive and pleasant. We knew we were in good hands with these two. When we moved to the pool area we were handed off to Veronica and Henry. They were just as attentive as Jhonathan and Neftali were during breakfast. Veronica would come over several times with new drinks for us to try and Henry was always checking on us to ensure we were well taken care of. For dinner we really enjoyed Bogavante. The food was amazing and again the staff went out of their way to make our meal memorable. Ishmael and Neftali had great food suggestions as well as made sure our glasses were never empty. After dinner we enjoyed the entertainment that was provided in the lobby which usually included a person playing either the trumpet or saxophone. It made for a relaxing evening and Gabe who worked the lobby bar was another outstanding server and was always ready with a new drink. One night when we sat out in the Zeferino Plaza, Gabe came over and showed us some card tricks. It was very entertaining and made the night really special. A few times we would go over and visit the GR Solaris hotel. We ate at both Marco Polo and Rosmarinus. The food was OK, nothing amazing and the staff wasn’t as personable as the GR Caribe staff.

Thank you again to Jhonathan, Neftali, Veronica, Henry, Ishmael, and Gabe for making our stay so amazing. We can’t wait to come back.

Susan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I want to start this review by saying that even though this vacation did not meet my expectations I still enjoyed my time here.

There was a lot of things I did not enjoy about my stay here but first ill start with the positives.

*The concierge service was very friendly and helpful they gave us a tour around the facility as soon as we arrived and made sure our bags got to our room while he was giving us the tour. They answered all our questions and gave us great ideas on how to spend our time there.

*The restaurants on site "Bogavante & Veneto" had a great menu and atmosphere the servers here were really friendly and the alternating menu's gave us something new to try every single day that we where there.

*The Live Entertainment was nice , the shows were a lot of fun to watch.

*The grounds are well mantained they cleaned constantly and they did a good job making sure my room was cleaned every day.

Unfortunately this is where the positives stop

One of the main things I enjoy doing on my vacations is....Drinking!

*The bar was not fully stocked they were missing a lot of liquor and you really don't have any options all generic liquor and only two beers on tap :( . When it comes to this portion I can honestly say that you can tell they cut every corner they could with the bar service nothing was really made fresh everything came from the bar gun. I have also stayed at other resorts where they keep a fully stocked bar in your room this resort offered four 8 ounce bottles of "Sol" Beer.

*The service: I am a Mexican-American and I really felt discriminated against here. I say that not as a whole for the hotel but just a few individuals and situations I had. Here are the bad experiences I had

1) I was at the beach and it was a busy day so there was a lot of other beach goers there .I was sitting in a row of chairs so I was surrounded by others. The man who going around asking everyone if he wanted drinks stopped by me and asked if I wanted anything to drink. I said "Yes" just like everyone else had. I asked him for a Pina Colada. About 15 minutes later he came back with everyones drinks except mine. He apologized and said he would come back with my drink. I waited about another 20 minutes and saw him return back to my section with re-fills for everyone even though they didnt ask for them . I thought that was really nice of him until he told me he forgot my drink again, he apologized and said he would return with my drink. I waited another 20 minutes and he came back to my area empty handed asking if anyone wanted a refill, at that point I asked him where my drink was. He said he had forgotten and he would come right back with it. at that point I had all but given up hope of ever getting anything from this man so I told him I didnt want the drink anymore because I was going to go for a swim in the ocean. He told me not to worry it would be waiting for me when I came back. After about 30 minutes of being in the water I returned to my seat and found a drink waiting for me, except it wasnt the drink I had asked for, He had brought me back a margarita which even then I gave him the benefit of the doubt and thought to myself it was honest mistake until I took a sip of it. It was almost undrinkable, it tasted like someone had poured a ton of salt into it. The reason I say this was basically discrimination was because all the other people around me where not Mexican and they got great service.

2) Las Fuentes: What can I say about this place? It was the worst service I experienced in my entire time there. I gave it three chances and every time I left frustrated and dissapointed. I could get over the disappointing food there because I understand just like many buffets everything is mass produced for quantity not quality. But I noticed a few stations set up where they made fresh food. I decided to try it out so I approached the station and asked one of the cooks what she was making she rudely pointed to a pile of food to her right that was already made and said its all over there. I thought " oh ok" maybe she isnt making fresh food . but then I noticed another customer of a different race approach her and she immediately smiled and explained to him what she was making . When this gentleman started to grab one of the items that was already pre made she stopped him and asked for his plate so she could give him fresh food. There was also different situations where we were seated at our table and when we got up for food the hostess gave our table to other customers this happened on two occasions.
I was never offered a drink at this restaurant I always had to get my own drinks and refills. The waiters only cleared dirty plates from my table.


3) I started conversations with other hotel goers on my stay there. Since both GR Caribe and Gr Deluxe are both integrated its easy to go from one hotel to the other, I paid extra to stay at GR Deluxe to have access to their amenities. I felt cheated as I noticed people whom I had spoken with earlier and knew that they were staying on the other side of the hotel f where allowed to eat at the restaurants and drink at the Bar in GR Deluxe.

4)The bed was really hard, I have a back problem so the stiffness helped but my wife hated it.

The main closing statement I'd like to end with is that I felt that because I was a Mexican-American that some of the staff there felt like they did not have to provide adequate service to me. I felt like they had something against me and I don't understand why, I always made sure to tip fairly and I was always treated everyone their with respect. It was really unfortunate to run into some of the situations I did. I really did have fun at this place but there was also many moments of embarrassment and a feeling that I wasn't welcome. I am going to as far as to say that this will be my last trip to Cancun I will be choosing a new vacation destination for my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from GR Caribe, had a 5 day vacation.
It was a great place, I don't understand the bad reviews in regard of food. They have a great variety of food options and places to eat. Off course it all have a little Mexican homemade twist to it.
They even try to have sushi at their buffet restaurant, which it wasn't very good, but hey, lets be a little flexible here.
Drinks all all inclusive, and fast. Top shelf liquor available. Only downside is that their house wine selection isn't great, but other options are available for purchase by the bottle
Staff was great, very polite prompt, always with a smile
They approached us twice with the Timeshare offer, but we told them right away we weren't interested and they never bothered us again, so just let them know you don't have the time or interest and end of story.
The evening shows were kind of bad, but again, we are in Mexico and they did their best to entertain, don't expect a Broadway production...

My one complaint: we arrived at the resort kind of early 11:30am, check in is not until 3:00pm. They held our baggage and let us explore the resort, eat and drink while our room got ready, we were told our room would be 2350, fine....
We waited, around 2pm we asked if the room was ready, since the place looked empty, but were told that it wasn't.
At 3pm I went to the front desk and asked for my room keys. At that time I was told by Joel that my room number had changed, I had requested a king size bed room and it wasn't available, so he was giving me a room with 2 queen size beds.
O wasn't happy with that, specially because I was waiting forever for my room 2350. Then he said that he could upgrade me to a Ocean view room, but again, with 2 queen size beds.
I refused the option and wanted to talk to the hotel manager, because I'd like to know earlier in the day about the issue with the beds and made a decision earlier to go with the queen size beds.
At that moment, Joel typed something in the computer and Voila... Magically my room 2350 was all ready and available. He explained that it was an ocean view room, but that we would not have any extra charge.... So we finally got our keys.
Did not understand why they held us so long at the lobby and why all this "trick" on exchanging rooms....
This was our only complaint.
The resort was not booked at all, there were always chairs available at the pool and beach areas all times of the day.
Would recommend this resort to friends and will for sure stay there again too

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just came back from Cancun after wonderful weekend at GR Caribe. It is really nice facility and as long as you are not looking for a huge resort this is it. Very Nice, Very clean, Friendly and really nicely laid out hotel. IF you need to get wild there is always resort next door that is connected and you will have full access to it.
Restaurants are very nice and food was good. Served in a very unique ways (a la carte restaurants) buffets' are really nice and clean.
Bars are very generous in the drinks that they mix so you have to watch yourself. They have all kind of alcohols available so make sure that you ask for your by name. If you don't see it don't assume that they don't have it.
Now to the "but" part. Upon arrival we found out that our room does not have king size bed. we had to switch rooms next day, no big deal till I've heard other people had to go through this. I guess that is the practice, "book whatever you wish you will get what we have" To move we had to check out of our room before 11am and wait outside till 2 so our new room could be readied. in the process of that our coupons for lobster dinner were misplaced and they would not even try to replace them. I guess it was our fault, just a little surprised that they would not even consider doing anything for us especially that you have to sign for everything extra.

Yes they will hound you down for timeshare presentation. You can simply say no but if you get talked into it you can easily get out of it by asking for the copy of the contract so you can sent it to your lawyer for review. They have refused to do that for other couple that we met. You still get your 160$ hour massage and maybe a cheap trip.

if you go shopping go to the supermarket located behind the flee market by senior frog. you will find a lot of products at very reasonable prices and if you want to try your luck with you negotiating skills at least you will have a good starting point for negotiations.
(expect quoted prices to be at par with Beverley Hills Rodeo drive) tourists are nothing but money bags for locals. At the same time we have never felt unsafe. They will try to get you into their stores, that is how they make money but we were always safe.

Over all it was a good experience and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysiek_930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have been members of Club Solaris for ten years now and we LOVE their all inclusive hotels. We have stayed at Royal Solaris, GR Solaris, Solaris Los Cabos and recently GR Caribe (May 13-22, 2014). Very clean. Staff is always taking care of the facility. Love the atmosphere at GR Caribe. Very relaxing and their staff was simply excellent. Very helpful, friendly and always with a big smile! Special mention goes to the staff at the pool: Veronica, Henry & Pamela. Great job!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Cancun
Royal Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#32 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
4.6 mi away
Park Royal Cancun
Park Royal Cancun
#61 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oasis Palm
Oasis Palm
#77 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR Caribe by Solaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR Caribe by Solaris

Property: GR Caribe by Solaris
Address: Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#24 Family Hotel in Cancun
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — GR Caribe by Solaris 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your GR Caribe by Solaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gr Caribe By Solaris Cancun Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing