We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas stay on the beach at JW Cancun.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Christmas stay on the beach at JW Cancun.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We absolutely loved our Christmas-week family stay here at the JW. At first we booked an extra-spacious oceanfront corner-suite with 2 balconies, but cancelled later and decided to indulge-in for Club 91 suite on the 14th-floor with premium oceanview instead. Boy, did we make the right choice !! From sunrise to sunset, the view from our balcony was mezmerizingly beautiful. We surely lucked-out big time to get the club-level room for the holidays before it was too late.
Almost a decade ago, we had planned on coming to JW Cancun for our 10th marriage anniversary, but ended up going to Marriott's MorningStar & Frenchmen's Reef at St.Thomas instead.Then two years later, planned again but were unexpectedly successful in getting Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club exchange for the Christmas-week and could'nt resist taking up on that offer. Our visit here to JW Cancun was since, long overdue and we were so glad to experience one of our best & most memorable Christmas weeks one could ever ask for.
The hotel had very impressive & grand displays of christmas decorations throughout in their massive-lobby areas and hallways. From the time we were picked-up at the airport by the resort's complimentary Black SUV (marked with "Club 91" logo), operated by private "Prestige" company, and until a week later dropped off by the same shuttle, our entire christmas-week was a smooth-sailing without a glitch in our stay here at the JW.
Club 91 on the top-floor felt more of a "boutique-style" concierge-lounge. For a $100/night upgrade, it offered guests exclusive & personalized services with luxurious amenities. Upon arrival, you can opt for checking-in directly at Club 91's conciege-desk. Without a fuss, the bell-boy happily escorted us with our luggage to the 14th floor club-level desk. Even before our check-in was complete, a staff-member hurriedly led us in, to the tables in the lounge as it was close to 9 pm and they were about to wrap-up the dinner. We were so hungry as it got late exiting the airport, we grabbed whatever we could in our plates but on this night they waited an extra 20 min. for us & made sure we had enough food. We practically licked our plates clean as those small plate servings, with a variety of dishes though, were really yummy. Boy, we couldn't be more thankful to the Club's staff being gracious, courteous & so thoughtful to their guests, they did everything to make sure that they took care of us the minute we opened their club's entry-door.
Their concierge desk had confirmed our reservations days prior to our arrival for our christmas-day dinner at their famous signature Italian/mediterrenean restaurant "Gustino" (which by the way, exquisitely delivered a memorable family christmas-dinner night). Their spa-treatment was equally terrific. And for sight-seeing, Club-concierge helped with our one-day family-tour to Chichen Itza, and the day after to Isla Mujeres, an island adventure with activities for the entire family, snorkeling, swimming with dolphins & taking a tour of the island with the help of english-speaking locals.
Again, we can't forget that the best part of being the guests of Club 91 was, the lounge offered 5-meals a day throughout our stay. All meals were delicious and prepared gourmet-style, featuring signature-dish of the day (esp. at dinner-time), brought from one of their 3 famed restaurants. With special emphasis on presentation, that may at first appear like food-sampling type portions, but wait till you see their healthy choices, great variety, and gourmet-quality of dishes, that were so palate-satisfying, you'll find yourselves running for seconds. Day after day, as the holiday crowd increased, we didn't see them running out of food at all, neither did we ever had to wait for a table. It was amazing how efficiently they were running the club-lounge all day.
My teenage son is a picky-eater and at meal-times he eats very little due to some food-intolerances. But here at Club 91, their excellent staff accommodated well to his dietary needs. We are so grateful for having the pleasure to have enjoyed great holiday family-meals together at the lounge.
Thank you Ladies of Club 91 !! for keeping up with the superior & top-notch hospitality.

Overall, JW has more to offer guests, a getaway to the quieter-side, more relaxing-side, on an upscale beach-side resorts of the town. Hotel staff made great efforts to be helpful without being intrusive, and would go "the extra mile", greeting/addressing guests by name, even the kids.
On a huge balcony with the gorgeous views of the aqua-blue Carribean sea on the east, the sky-line view of the hotel-zone on the south, and the golf-course and lagoon-view on the west, we opened our christmas-presents in the morning, right here on the balcony under the warm & pleasant sun. Our room faced CasaMagna hotel-side. Twice daily housekeeping was a plus.The evening turn-down service left a few Chichen-Itza-shaped white & milk chocolates, with switching-on of soft jazz-like music & temperature adjustment.
A large spacious bathroom was clean with a separate shower, a big tub & a separate room for the toilet. Robes,"Club 91 logo" slippers, bath scale & Umbrella were placed in a large armoire-like closet with plenty of drawers & a safe big enough to hold a lap-top, cameras, valuables etc.
Every evening there's music & entertainment in the lobby bar with a singer & pianist.
Fitness center was spacious, clean & had plenty of modern equipment.
Well laid-out pools were all over the resort property with several bridges going over the short lazy-river. And casading-levels included the infinity pool, that seemed everybody's favorite. My son loved doing hand-stands in the pool trying to see if his toes touched all the bridges. Their thickly-cushioned lounge-chairs were very comfortable, palapas arranged in lines surrounding the pools & also on the white sandy beach steps down from the property looked beautiful. It was a treat for our eyes !! overlooking the bright aqua blue sea. We don't have such intricately & beautifully made palapas in US.
We noticed there was a unique "Diving Reef Pool" right next to the quieter adult pool on the south-west side of the property. This 18-foot deep pool offered scuba-diving lessons with a PADI certification to guests 10 yrs. & older. I don't remember the cost of the lesson, but I'm certain it was pricey. My son felt the water-temperature in the diving-pool was really cold, so he opted out. Instead we all went parasailing on christmas-afternoon with "AquaWorld" right outside JW on the beach. When suddenly it was our turn to leave on the jet-ski, Santa appeared briefly on the beach for a charity's cause, and was escorted for a quick lift-off. People on the beach were all smiles, nobody complained waiting a little longer. With a light ocean breeze and some hidden sun, it was a pretty fun-ride over the skies of Cancun for the three of us going up altogether as a family.
Check-out was the same as check-in, which was fast & friendly at the club's desk.
The best in it's class, and pushing to set the bar higher, offering the most refined level of service, we're now sold for a return stay at JW Cancun.

Room Tip: To get the best option of staying on the 14th floor Club-level room, book early. Higher floor premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalTravelBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,977
    870
    260
    99
    80
See reviews for
1,451
1,482
90
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I opted to revisit the JW Marriott in Cancun, after a previous visit almost five years ago. We once again chose the Club 91 alternative, and were equally impressed this time. The hotel is spot on in décor and freshness. The culinary features of Club 91 make it easy to never drift away elsewhere, and the fun chats with other guests made each day better than the next. After being first led to a room on the Casa Magna side of our hotel, we asked to see a better room on the opposite side facing the Hard Rock, as the views are way nicer. We were given room number 1409 which had spectacular views of both the ocean as well as the bay, just above the beautiful pools below. Can't get a better room, trust me! Overall, a pleasant experience once again. This place does it right!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Hard Rock Hotel side have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We find the staff to be very courteous and helpful. Most remembered us from our stay last year. Imagine walking into a large resort and being greeted by your name? The dining selections are perfect and room service food is well presented and very tasty!

Also being a Marriott Platinum member for 5 years, having this hotel in Cancun is exactly what we were looking for from an upscale property.

We love this place and will always stay here! Looking forward to my spa visit this morning.

Room Tip: Rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Avoid the Marriott in Cancun. I made a mistake and booked a non-refundable reservation for the wrong date, realized the mistake, called them within the hour, and they will not cancel the reservation -- a very expensive penalty for such a small mistake. I will not do business with this "gotcha" hotel chain again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are very sorry that you had this incident during your on-line reservation process. However, all non-refundable rates are clearly indicated in the rates’ listing and there are several steps during the reservation process where you can confirm all your information before making a final purchase. Thus, we have to adhere to the on-line reservations’ policies but we hope that our facilities and our first class service during your stay make your impression about our hotel chain change for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed one night at the beginning of a two week trip and two nights at the end. We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the upgrade and welcome gift as a Platinum member. The rooms and beds were comfy, the view was beautiful and the beach was really nice. We also spent time in the pool and especially enjoyed the fact that they heated it starting in the late afternoon.

The buffet was decent and was great since it was included in the rate. I also liked that they kept breakfast open until 12 or 12:30pm. But I wouldn't have paid $30 per person for it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaniaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We are Marriott Platinum and expect a lot from upscale Marriott properties -- we were very pleased with the JW Cancun. All staff members were very pleasant and courteous. A room maintenance issue was solved within 10 min of my call. Housekeeping essentially comes twice a day. The evening turndown service is more like a normal daily service. It is especially nice to come back to a "fresh" room after dinner. The Club91 staff is OUTSTANDING. Virdiana, Martha, Roxana, Adriana and all other Club 91 personnel display just the right mix of courtesy, service, personality, and humor. We were always pleasantly greeted by name on each Club91 visit. The Spa was great for relaxation and exercise. Upper level spa access is included in Club91. The outdoor services staff were also very helpful. The transportation inbound from Prestiege was the only irritant in our stay. We read several reviews about noise from the adjacent Hard Rock but never had a problem. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 14th Floor -- Low odd number
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently chose JW Cancun for our spring break destination. Lovely hotel; adjoined with Marriott's Casa Manga for many dinner options on property. Lovely pool and private beach. Room was well appointed and spacious enough for 4 with a perfect balcony view over the pool. Kids menus, easy access to transportation, and friendly service. We would definitely return to this spot for a Cancun visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine2779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,962 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing