We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here 1/10/14 to 1/16/14. The price we got was pretty good and hard to beat considering it's a nice Marriott. We travel a lot and have stayed in Cancun many times so we have enough to compare to. The hotel and the grounds are nice. The rooms are clean and nice as well. The service was good and the hotel manager, Miguel, made us feel welcomed. The beach and pool are were very nice and there weren't too many children. We found out after a couple days that there is an "adults only" pool area on the other side of the hotel which was great. We slept with the sliders open and falling asleep to the crashing waves is the best. If I had to mention my dislikes, it would be petty things. 1. The food is expensive. $20 for a burger and small portion of fries. A can of soda was close to $5. Breakfast buffet was close to $30/person. A no name linen shirt in the gift shop was over $200! Unreal. The food overall was good. WiFi is extra. I think it was about $10/day but free in the lobby so every evening, everyone was in the lobby lounging around on the phones and laptops. I would stay here again but I will admit, the food in Cancun is getting pricey and the restaurants seem to be disappearing. I think next time, I will seek to do an all inclusive. The best one we've ever tried is Excellence Playa Mujeres. We've done the Rivera Maya one but Playa Mujeres is better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauly563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,441 - 2,447 of 4,556 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I married at an all-inclusive hotel in Cancun but decided to stay at the JW Marriott for a few days after to get away and relax. Relax we did! Overall we enjoyed the resort. Our favorite part was the heated pools! The ocean was too choppy during our stay so that wasn't an option so it was great we could actually use the pools when it was only 75 degrees out.

The rooms, especially the bathrooms, were regal and we felt spoiled. Though it was weird you needed a key in order to open the mini bar! Our view was great, but I didn't love being able to see everyone else on their balcony and talking to the neighboring rooms on theirs. That was weird. Lots of other guests were there for a convention with plenty of activities, but it would have been nice if there was some kind of evening entertainment for everyone else. Being a good 5 miles from the center of the Cancun entertainment area, there really wasn't much to do at night.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I just wan to say that I love the people that work in that hotel
They are friendly starting from wen you enter the hotel to the end of your stay.
Especial thanks to Paulino Najera
He always make us feel at home.
Ps. I travel with my wife and service dog, will be nice to give more access to service animals.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredopj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very good hotel. Attentive staff. We had reserved a Premiere Ocean view room and paid extra for it. Unfortunately it was facing the small pool and although it did have a side ocean view, the main view was of the roof and air conditioners of the neighboring sister hotel. The hotel was very comfortable and immaculately clean. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the main pool and the ocean, as the other side has a limited ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We just returned from 5 nights here. I am a platinum premier member and used 285k points for a regular room with Club 95 access.

Check in: pick up from airport was provided by club 95. Arrived at 2:30 and room was not ready... The place was maybe half full. We were told to leave and come back at 4:00. They knew when we were coming since they picked us up. No offer to stay in the lounge, no drink. We got a regular room, no upgrade although they were not full at all.

Pool/service: stayed by the adults only pool. Had to reserve chairs by 7:00 or 8:00 am. It got pretty full by 11:00. Service was good enough but not great. We had to hunt down our waiter, Edwin, numerous times. We had to vacate the adult pool one day at 4:00 for an event. No drink, just pack up and move.

Club 95: food was frequent, 6 servings from morning to night. No outside seating. It was small. The food was good but you eat very quickly (it's a buffet)....not a good choice if you like a dining experience. We tipped at every meal, but it didn't make any difference. Can only take water and coffee out of the club.

Room: nice view of the ocean and the bay. Great balcony! Small sofa. Comfy bed. Good housekeeping service. (We tipped)

Overall: slow paced, relaxing and beautiful views. Just what we were looking for.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WOF8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife arrived at 3PM that is what is stated as Check in time, they make her wait for a long time until they gave her a room, in this one they had a wedding next door so you could not stay at that room as the noise was impossible, she went down to the front desk to ask for another room, after waiting they gave her a nice suite but what a surprise when she opened the door the room was full of people (other gusts), she went down again, after waiting again they gave her a room that was hole, horrible dark, no view, old and in bad shape, here she goes again to the front desk, the guy told her that she is very difficult, ok perfect, 1st a room in the middle of a wedding, 2nd a room with a lot of company, 3rd a room that one that you would not put your enemy , then she needed to wait for more than 1 hr to have a normal room this is after 4 hrs, and she is a gold Marriott Regards, the management of this hotel is a COMPLETE MESS

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel when in high season, very poor managment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Your comments are always welcome and appreciated because accurate account of our guests experience helps us in our constant search for ways of improving our service. The lack of customer service which you describe is certainly not indicative of the JW Marriott Standards for which we are known and which our customers have come to expect and deserve. I assure you we have used your comments to develop ways to avoid similar situations. Once again, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and apologize for the inconvenience during the first hours of your stay with us. I hope there will be an opportunity soon for the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa to regain your confidence and good will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife in November - early December 2013 and enjoyed it so much. The hotel was only about 10-15% full. The staff was great and always smiled. Rooms very always clean and fresh. The food was above average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladyslav O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#4 of 176 in Cancun
5,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £211 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room at our hotel in Cancun, Mexico. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing