We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel but unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel but unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was so excited when my husband told me that he booked a three night trip for our one year wedding anniversary.

Fortunately I had an amazing time simply because I got to spend time with him. Unfortunately the JW proved to be underwhelming at best.

The front desk staff including the concierge are rude and unwelcoming. Apparently they don't feel it is within their job description to be asked questions by guests.

The beds are terribly uncomfortable.

THE ROOM SERVICE IS TERRIBLE - I GOT SOMETHING SIMPLE - THE GRILLED CHEESE WILL MAKE YOU WANT TO BARF! The breakfast is good but it will cost you $60 each morning.

Make sure you have a big budget for cocktails!!!!! We are not cheap by any means but the price of drinks is outrageous. A bucket of 6 "Pacifico" beers will cost you 50 USD and if you want a margarita it will cost you a whopping $20 bucks - for a regular sized drink.

On top of that the hotel's system went down during our stay and as of today 2/20 (we checked out on Monday Feb 17th) it still has not come back online and we don't have a final invoice of what they will charge us.

On a positive note the view of the ocean from the balcony is beautiful and the hotel is within walking distance of several great Seafood restaurants! Try out the CrabHouse and Fred's - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that we failed to provide appropriate responsiveness to your questions during your stay; we have shared your comments with the involved Department Heads to reinforce that all our guests queries are responded in an accurate manner. We would also like to mention that we offer high quality products in all our restaurants and bars and that we conduct periodic surveys in order to maintain our prices according to our market. We apologize for the inconvenience caused from our system failure; we are working very hard to correct it so that we can send the pending bills as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,975
    870
    260
    99
    80
See reviews for
1,450
1,481
90
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Nice hotel, typical Marriott. The reception staff could have been more helpful. I was looking for a guest that was staying there and they said that they did dot have a reservation system and could not check? I found who I was looking for but it took a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapeartiststravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

There are several 'upscale' restaurants within walking distance from this amazing hotel, but when it comes to quality, the JW Marriott offers the best, most fresh, perfectly prepared food I've had in Cancun. To make this experience within the hotel even better is the polite and friendly service staff. While the JW is slightly pricey, you certainly get what you pay for and more!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were there for 4 nights. Excellent view of ocean from patio. Rooms are spacious and cozy. Pools are best, Staff and service is also good. All of them are very courteous and helpful. The best part to be is in the front pool and watching the ocean.
Bar is also good, excellent drinks.
Would stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean overview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shilpa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, great beach, wonderful food! Loved it! The rooms are great and spacious. Pools are great. Would definitely return to this hotel. The spa is one of the best spas I have ever been to. Almost as nice as the four seasons Maui.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A group of 8 girls chose this resort for our annual winter get away. The hotel grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The beach is large and pretty. In this area, water does get rough and is not always great for swimming but it's the most beautiful blue! The hotel staff, each and every one of them that I encountered, went above and beyond to accommodate. After a brisk walk for exercise, we were given a cool towel and bottle of water upon returning back to the lobby. I thought this was a very nice touch! The rooms are very clean but I do feel it's time to change the mattress. You can see the indents from previous guests when entering the room. Also, when opening my bathroom door one evening, the handle came right off in my hand. But the bathrooms are large and so is the room. Turn down service each evening. Food was very good at the restaurants we ate at and Ivan was awesome at the adult pool bar! My biggest complaint is that there is really nothing going on in the evening. The lobby bar has a female singer with a very nice voice but the music is so slow, not at all up beat. Even if in between her sets they could play some current dance music, that would help. All local hotels are all inclusive so there really is no other place to go except for local clubs which as a group of woman, we were apprehensive about trying. The spa is stunning! They are currently doing a bit of a remodel to it (not sure why) but it will only be even more beautiful. Nicely equipped gym as well. We also were there when they offered 4th night free and free breakfast with 25% off spa. An excellent value! We would return!

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just got back from this hotel....5 nights on Club 91 Level with a friend. I am Marriott Lifetime Platinum.....Easiest is to break it down into Pros and Cons

Pros: Gorgeous Water, Location, Very Nice Beach. Room has spectacular view of Ocean. Club 91 upgrade offered some nice perks (14th floor room, Food and Beverage, Airport Transportation) Housekeeping was efficient and good. Gym is fantastic for a hotel gym. Clean, large and with a good variety of equipment.

Cons: As others have mentioned Front Desk Staff and Frankly Club 91 staff was just "okay". The cons really lie around the fact that it felt like they were "managing" the food too much. Nothing was replenished quickly when gone or empty. Bar was often unstaffed. It felt like they were trying to make sure you didnt eat as much (and we are not "big" eaters). They are the Soup Nazi when it comes to even taking a muffin out the door which is a little absurd in my mind. I have stayed at similar clubs in other parts of the world and never experienced this. (at other JW properties). The club also has NO outdoor space as they have closed in the balconies. Not a fan.Another con would be the uncomfortable loungers on the beach. They need an upgrade for sure. Finally, this is an odd comment, but I (and other guests) were frankly horrified to see the lack of safety for the employees enforced. For example, men on the roof making repairs and on scaffoldings 4 stories high with NO safety harnesses. I know it is not the US, but I was actually sick to my stomach as the workers were working right outside the window of the gym and it was very scary. To me, it does not matter WHAT the Mexican government requires, Marriott should be concerned for the safety of the workers. (And to prevent the trauma of guests who could potentially witness a tragic accident).

All in all, this is my third trip. The beach has been largely restored which was a really plus over my last visit. I would visit again.

Room Tip: The higher the better. All rooms have ocean views. Ask for the Non Hard Rock side as the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ilovelamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,958 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing