We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort but some problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice resort but some problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I spent 8 nights at the JW Marriott in Cancun in February of 2014 and I probably would have given the hotel a top rating except for a couple of flaw that were important to us. Most of the staff at the hotel were very accommodating but the front desk staff could not address some issues that, for an expensive resort, were quite important. To begin, the hotel's computer system was down for the majority of our stay and it was impossible to check our running tab of expenses until the night before we left. Needless to say, when one charges basically everything to the room there is a long list of charges to reconcile to insure that the bill is correct.

The bill wasn't correct when I was finally able to get a printout of our bill the night before our departure. The first two nights of our stay included the buffet breakfast for two and we were charged for those meals on our bill. There was also a charge for a dinner at one of the hotel restaurants that we didn't have. The front desk attendant said he was going to check the charge receipt and when he finally emerged from the backroom he admitted he could not find the charge receipt and gave us a credit for the dinner. All in all I caught approximately $200 of bogus charges that would have been levied against my credit card. We received what I thought was less than a very sincere apology for the mix-up. The front desk staff at this hotel need some customer service training in a major way.

The next big flaw at the hotel was the smoking that went on at the pool. Marriott makes a big deal about being one of the first hotels to ban smoking but little known to us this does not pertain to international hotels. I complained to the front desk about the constant cigarette and even worse cigar smoke at the pool and all I got was shrug of the shoulders. When we returned to the U.S. I called Marriott Customer Care and the snippy woman told me that it was right on the Marriott website that smoking was permitted at the pools at international hotels. She told me to wait on hold and she would find it so I could read it for myself. after about five minutes on hold she came back and admitted she couldn't find the information. So beware, before you book at any Marriott call the property itself and ask about smoking so you won't be disappointed. Marriott needs to rethink its policy before there is a confrontation between guests or before people like me stop booking Marriott rooms. This may seem a minor thing to some people but to people with breathing difficulties it is important. It seems like the people at Marriott would rather cater to the Cuban cigar smoking crowd than those of us "common people".

It's a sham I downgraded this property because most of the employees really seemed to want to please the guests but the experience was ruined by an ill conceived hotel policy to cater to a small minority of people to the detriment of the majority of their customers.

A

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cubsfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience you had with our system being down. Regarding other guests smoking by the pool area, according to relation in Mexico, smoking is permitted in open spaces, public areas and some designated guests rooms. We are not 100% smoke free property. We are sorry again for the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,773
    809
    253
    95
    73
See reviews for
1,329
1,382
83
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We come to Cancun two times per year. Always stay at the Ritz but it was sold out so we thought we would try the JW. While it is a nice alternative it pales in comparison. There is no reason these two hotels should even be close in price or level of rating. If you want quiet luxury the Ritz is far superior. But it makes an ok alternative and is much better than being home in the snow.

Towels are only available at one location and are not readily offered. When you ask for one you get badgered by the people selling jet ski, parasailing adventures.

Beach service is a almost non existent. On our third day we finally saw a beach waiter. The Ritz trips over themselves to wait on you.

Internet is a joke, we picked up the Hard Rock hotel internet better than the JW. They have a free lobby wifi and everyone is always in the lobby and hallways checking their phones. There is no wifi offered at the beach.

Buffet is just ok. Everything looks good and the setting is pretty but several stations are blocked by everyone waiting for inlets The Ritz buffet is much better.

The cabanas are covered with wood/logs and sun/rain gets thru. We only saw 3 of them
Being rented during our 5days at the hotel. At the Ritz you get a hut that actually blocks the sun and occasional passing shower.

The JW is filled with kids and the hot tubs are often being used as kiddie pools. They really should consider swapping the adults only pool and the kids pool. Why should the main pool be filled with screaming kids when they can all scream at each other in the smaller pool rather than the pool with the infinity edge.

Not a horrible hotel, just not as luxurious or high end when compared to the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, this will definitely assist us in our search for excellence. We have used your comments to find ways to improve our service and hopefully if you give us the chance to host you back, find a way to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I just got back from my vacation and I must say I couldn't have asked for a better hotel. I stayed here on points and personally I think it ended up being better than staying at an all inclusive resort. This hotel does have an all inclusive option (I believe that's what Club 91 is) but I didn't think it was worth the money. The men at the front desk were extremely helpful when my girlfriend and I were locating the places we wanted to eat. We visited Chichen Itza as well as Garrafon on Isla Mujeres and booked both through Best Day Travels and I strongly recommend you use Best Day for all your travel needs (including the shuttle). The hotel room itself was wonderful and even for being on the 4th floor you can't beat the view that you get (especially if you're up around 6 am to watch the sun rise). There was a lot more small children than I expected in the hotel and quite frequently we found them in the jacuzzi outside even when there are signs that say children aren't allowed in the hotel. However, the hot tub in the spa never had children in it. The gym in this hotel is hands down the best gym you can have in a hotel. Especially with the view of the ocean while you're running on the treadmill. The room itself was pretty nice. I did love the double vanities as well as the stand alone shower separate from the tub and that the toilet was closed off from the rest of the bathroom. I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel, however be ready to pay a pretty penny if you choose to eat every day in the restaurants here. Even the all you can eat breakfast buffet is $30/person. I'd recommend taking the bus (which was very clean btw and only $1 or 10 pesos per person) to visit some of the local restaurants (i.e. Blue Gecko, El Fish Fritanga, Tacun, Carlos'n Charlie's & Calypso).

Room Tip: The gym & spa are located on the 4th floor if you really want to be on the same floor as those
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeAndre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Public Relations Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our wonderful JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to learn about your visit and even more that you enjoyed our great facilities like the Gym and the bathroom in your room. We would also like to thank you for the feedback you have provided. Next time around, we would be delighted to host you at some of our great restaurants located at the neighbor hotel CasaMagna Marriott Cancun, I am sure you will not be disappointed. Thank you again for connecting with us and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We found the Marriott to be very luxurious. The room was very nice and the grounds are outstanding. We were welcomed at the front by a great staff ( especially Marco). The view from our room was excellent from a nice balcony. We have stayed at many hotels in our travels and this is a nice one for luxury. We did however encounter some hitches worth mentioning. The first was we reserved a King and had to settle for 2 doubles. This may have been OK FOR A NITE OR 2 but for 6 nites it became an irritant. We also had terrible service one morning at breakfast in the Sedona Grill, which was excellent before, which caused us to not eat there again during our stay. We also thought the bar service in the pool area shut off too early. We went to Beachwalk for cocktails after however we always felt as if we were bothering a staff too busy to provide the kind of service you might expect from this type of property. I don't want to be too negative because we really do think this is a fine property and overall most of the staff were professional and friendly.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 14Daroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I are kind of picky when it comes to restaurants and hotels. That's why we LOVE the JW Marriott in Cancun. We have stayed there twice and simply can't say anything less than total praise. From the staff to the food, to the rooms and the rest of the resort, this is where we will be staying from now on when in Cancun.

Room Tip: We always get the premium ocean view and it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

we came here on our honeymoon in august. it was a great experience. we were lucky, the property felt almost empty. the food was great, service was solid, and property was perfect, and the massages were the best we've ever had. It was obviously a little pricy, but you pay for what you get at a JW. It is right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our family recently returned from a 5 day vacation at the JW Marriot. We had previously stayed at the Ritz Carlton and Royale and found the this hotel to be a more comfortable and enjoyable resort. The hotel billing system had been down for a week which caused a few issues, but the front desk was very helpful in addressing our requests for adjoining rooms. The pool area can get crowded and some people are down by 7AM to get their favorite spots...there is plenty of room on the beach with shaded spots available. The Thai restaurant was better than any Thai I have had in the States. Spa and workout room were equivelant to Four Seasons and larger than that of a Ritz Carlton resort (such as Key Biscayne or Naples). Overall, a wonderful resort

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2.9 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#6 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing