We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite resort in Cancun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just got back from an amazing week in Cancun and can't say enough about the wonderful experience we had at the JW Marriott. I have stayed at several different resorts in Cancun and this was head and shoulders above the rest. It was my husband's first trip to Cancun and he loved it. The property is absolutely spotless, from the lobby to the guest rooms to the beautiful pools and beach. The staff could not have been nicer or more efficient, always greeting us with genuine smiles. We had a particularly nice experience with Reuben, who was the first person to wait on us at the Beachwalk Restaurant and then waited on us poolside repeatedly through the week. He always remembered our name and welcomed us warmly every time we saw him. He even helped our daughter practice her Spanish. What an asset he is!

They were changing out the pool chairs while we were there and we got to enjoy the new ones on our last day. They were so comfy I didn't think we were going to ever return to our room!

The food was very good at the Sedona Grill, where we enjoyed the breakfast several times, and at the Beachwalk. We did not try Gustino while we were there but it was a beautiful restaurant. The banana daiquiris were particular favorites poolside, as were the peach smoothies.

The only gripe that we had, if you can call it that, was that the water pressure in the shower was so strong that once we had let the sun "kiss" our skin for a day or two, it hurt to stand under the water.

We would definitely recommend the JW Marriott to anyone!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Laura D:
Amazing review! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, Glad your stay was satisfactory! In JW Marriott Cancun we strive every day to create unique experiences to all of our guests, I´m pleased that we made that happen with you and your family. I will let Ruben know about the wonderful comments you have made of him on this review. You need to come back again and try the new super comfy beach chairs!!!! Next time in Cancún I highly recommend to try our 4 diamond awarded restaurant Gustino, I’m sure you will love it”
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,183 - 2,189 of 4,475 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just got back from an amazing family vacation at the JW Marriott.
The ladies up in the Club 91 couldn't have been nicer (and the young men bartending in the evening). We had a large family group which included 2 infants and two other children ages 6&9, and we were showered with attention!
The pool area and beach are the nicest that you will find in Cancun! They were just putting out
super nice beach chairs on our last day! All rooms have an ocean view--the rooms overlooking the pool are great because you see not only the ocean, but also have a nice view of the bay in the background as well .You have a view of the entire beach and other hotels for miles.. Service at the pool was also very attentive. We loved it. The only mistake that we made was in taking a side trip to Isla Mujeres --couldn't wait to get back to the JW.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is great because you also have a view of the bay in the background. We never r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Frisco:
I am happy to read that we exceed your expectations! Thanks for choosing JW Marriott Cancun for your family trip, is nice to see you enjoy your stay and the facilities and service did not disappoint at all. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the staff, especially the ladies of Club 91 and Beachwalk waiters, I will let them know about the comments you have made of them. I´m glad you enjoyed the stunning’s views of the Mexican Caribbean ! Hope we can welcome you again!
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the moment we stepped into the JW Marriott Cancun we were overwhelmed with their hospitality and service. The servers at the oceanside grille were extremely efficient and quick. We ate in the Italian restaurant on site. teh food was delictable. We had the outdoor spa experience as well...perfect!

Our check in and check out process were both easy and correct.

Loved every minute of our stay...THANK YOU!

Room Tip: spend the extra money to get the ocean view...its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawnn2Duskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Dawnn2Duskk:
I´m so happy to know that we exceed your expectations! And that our service and facilities was what you deserve and expected. Thank you for your feedback about our Beachwalk staff they strive every day to create unique experiences to our guest and they really appreciate recognition. Regarding Gustino, our 4 Diamond Awarded Restaurant I really appreciate your warmest comments y will love to welcome you again in JW Marriott Cancun and Gustino. Hope to see you soon in Cancun
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a surprise the Italian restaurant was. I have travelled for 40 years and this is the best restaurant ever. Hard to believe because I eat out 270 days per year 3 meals per day for 41 years on average and to think I would find it here shocked me somewhat but in a very good way. I ate there three times with my staff and then with my wife alone. They even gave her a rose at the end of the meal. I would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel. Great location. great staff wonderful breakfast fantastic beach it was perfect and I rarely can say that. I know hotels and I cannot think of one thing wrong here as we held a meeting and then my wife and I stayed longer. Hated to leave to tell the truth

Room Tip: pay to get a full ocean view on a high floor. You will not be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear robert g:
I´m pleased that Gustino exceed your expectations, our 4 Diamond Awarded Restaurant is also one of my favorites on site, thanks so much for your trust and loyalty and for dine with us 3 times! I will personally send this comments to our Gustino Manager, Omar Lopez and their staff, they appreciate the recognition. I hope your meeting went well and thanks for your warmest comments I’m happy to know that you liked our facilities and service.
We want you to come back very soon!.
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Amazing property with very nice beachfront pool and excellent structure.
Rooms are excellent, very good restaurants and great breakfast with typical Mexican and traditional alternatives.
Walking distance from good restaurants and minutes from Downtown Cancun.
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank tichaguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear rtichauer:
Thank you for your great comments about JW Marriott Cancun, I´m glad that you enjoyed the facilities and service and that you had a goodtime, thanks for noticing our breakfast buffet we strive every day to make Sedona Grill Buffet one of the best in Cancun Hotel Zone, Yes you are correct, our property location really allows you to visit all areas of Cancun fast and easy with a bus stop just in front of the hotel at the main avenue..
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly! Food & drinks were yummy... my only complaint was the bites! I woke up with new bites every morning. Not that the hotel can prevent bites... The room was nice! I didn't like the bathroom doors but other than that the pool area is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Sheena P:
I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! It´s a shame that you experienced this bites… unfortunately it´s one of the things we can’t control !!!! Thanks for your opinion regarding the bathroom doors and it’s nice to read that you have fun in the amazing infinity pool? Awesome don’t you think? Hope we can welcome you again.
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the J.W. from 7-3-14 - 7-8-14 and we had a fantastic time! The resort is beautiful and so are the grounds. The staff is very attentive. And the rooms are spacious and comfortable. If you get the chance dine at Gustino's its a bit pricey but well worth it. I will be back!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Conrad C
I´m very placed that you and your wife enjoyed every single detail of the JW Marriott Cancun, thanks so much for your warmest comments and for noticing the staff, I´s nice to read that you have the chance to dine at Gustino, our signature 4 diamonds Restaurant. It will be a pleasure to host you and your wife again in your next trip to Cancun.
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#5 of 177 in Cancun
4,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan, Km 14.5 | Lote 40-A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cancun
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Family Hotel in Cancun
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £183 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa, an oceanfront haven of unparalleled sophistication, impeccable service and warm Mexican hospitality designed for today’s most discerning travelers. Sumptuous comfort, chic residential styling and glorious waterfront views distinguish every room at our hotel in Cancun, Mexico. Abundant taste marks every dining experience, from casual to elegant, and indulgent charm distinguishes each and every day. Relax on a spectacular beach kissed by the sun and caressed by the sparkling waters of the Caribbean. Stroll through traditional markets ablaze with color or listen to the lullaby of the ocean surf from your private balcony overlooking the sea. With its powdery sand beaches and ancient Mayan mysteries, Cancun will dazzle your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cancun Hotel Cancun
Jw Marriott Cancun Resort
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing