We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We returned to this hotel for the week before Easter. After a very satisfactory experience last year we were looking forward to our stay. We were not disappointed in any respect. Our arrival experience was smooth and pleasant, with the front desk staff graciously accommodating a few special needs. The room had a great view and met our needs perfectly. Don't mistake one fact: this is not a new hotel. Yes, there was a small crack in the sink. There is no microwave or bar sink. But the furnishings were super clean and pleasant. The linens were fresh and clean. And most of all the room was thoroughly clean. The housekeeping was great, with little origami figures greeting us the first two days. The concierge service was exceptionally helpful and pleasant this year. The pool/beach/recreation area was immaculate and in good repair. The breakfast buffet continues to defy description. Overall, we experienced great satisfaction in the hotel and look forward to our next return. We recommend this hotel highly to families looking for very nice, safe surroundings in a family friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Third floor, center section, ocean view. They have great patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Bilyu:
I´m happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service where what you expected! Thanks for noticing our Front desk, Housekeeping , and Concierge staff , they work very hard and strive day by day to create memorable experiences for all of our guests, Thanks again for taking the time to connect and share your experience.
More than happy to welcome you again
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,762 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am an expat living in Cancun and every time my parents come to visit me they stay at the Casa Magna. This past weekend was their fourth or fifth time staying there and they couldn't say enough nice things about it. I was able to spend time with them at the pool and beach where the service was outstanding. Our pool waiter Efren was a delight - a pleasure to chat with, never late to bring the next drink or plate of food, and was truly a kind and hardworking staff member. The service at the restaurants and concierge was just as great. Any problems were fixed right away and with the utmost respect and kindness. The beach view is breathtaking. Time and time again, the Marriott shows that it is a leader in the areas of service, hospitality, and tourism. It's no wonder my parents and myself are repeat customers. Thanks for making my family's stay one to remember!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelFitz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks so much for your loyalty and trust during this 5 years. Thanks so much for noticing Efren, I will let him know about the wonderful comments that you have made on this review, also I will love to invite you to participate in our “Marriott VIP” special Program for local guests, if you’re are interested please send us an email (cecilia.gonzalez@marriotthotels.com) so we can send all info to you.
Best Regrads
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Don't believe what they tell you about shared services with the JW Marriott next door. After arriving we found out that the only shared services are a hallway and that you can use the restaurants. They also bring up the fact that you use Expedia to book multiple times. If I am correct it takes two to make an agreement. Don't punish the consumer because they used Expedia to get the best rate. They agreed to the rate and should treat you like any customer. Thumbs down to Beatriz at check in and Miguel Flores who didn't help.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Front Office Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Scott S.
We appreciate taking the time to post your review in Trip Advisor. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the usage of both hotels facilities. Guests only have the privilege to cross charges using the restaurant and bars of the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa. The usage of the pool and pool area are exclusively to the guests where they have their room reserved.
We deeply regret that we were not clear enough with our information and that we did not clarified this when you brought this matter to our attention. I would also want to inform you that no matter what source you used to make your reservation, you deserve same quality and excellent service. Unfortunately this time we were not able to meet your expectation.
Sincerely
Tiffany Santamaría

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family (two adults, 11 year old son) went to Cancun and stayed for 10 days at the CasaMagna over Christmas 2013. We really enjoyed it. The hotel staff are nice, the hotel is clean, the view from the room was fabulous, it is generally easy to get sun loungers on the beach. It is the quiet end of the hotel strip but it is easy to catch the bus to go to the restaurants etc. We hired a taxi for the day, organised through the concierge and did two Mayan ruins. Eating in the hotel was easy, the food is typical Marriott food (thus you know what to expect). Overall a great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out over the beach and the hotel pool. There was a party there one night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear travellingscubadiver:
I´m glad that you chose our hotel to spend your holidays! Thank you for your preference and also for taking the time to recognize our staff, they will be thrilled to learn about your experience. I´m very happy that you enjoyed the stunning view of the beautiful Mexican Caribbean!
Please come again we will be more than happy to welcome you
Best Regards!
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It had been 11 years since our last visit and we were just as impressed as before. The staff was very helpful, especially Leonardo who has been on staff for 23 years. Ask for him as he is so very friendly and so helpful. On checking in we were told our room was not ready and did we wish to upgrade to a suite overlooking the ocean for only $59 a night more. We opted not to do that as we were familiar with hotel and felt we would be spending all our time out of the room. To our surprise Leo came up with our luggage and said our room was ready. What a room!! Overlooking the ocean and pool with a HUGE balcony. We loved it and did not want to leave. What can you say about the bedding. It is the best ever. Wanted to take it all home with us, but no room. Lucky Marriott.

A short walk to the front of the hotel there is a bus that runs the length of the hotel district. For $1.00 American you can ride to any restaurant or shopping center on the strip. We were needing a burger fix and wound up at Johnny Rockets at La Isla Shopping Village.

All together we had a great time. If you like ice cream/galato walk over to the JW Marriott. Their flavors and textures are much higher quality. The gelato at the Casa Magna had ice crystals in it. They will let you try all the flavors first. Yum.

Room Tip: Went on line to book with Travelocity. They do not precharge room as others like Expedia.Can be canc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear germangourmet:
Thank you very much for your trust and loyalty. We are very pleased to have you back after 11 years! , I will let Leonardo know about the wonderful comments that you have made in this review. The location of the resort really allows you to access all areas easily. It is really nice to see you got chance to do so!.
We are looking forward to your next trip to our Cancun Resort
Warmest Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

upon arriving at this hotel
we were impressed by the beautiful
lobby and the view of the pool
area and gorgeous beach through the lobby windows. however, as we walked through the hotel
to get to our room, the hotel showed it's age. we had connecting ocean view rooms. the rooms were very small. they smelt of mildew and were desperately in need of renovations. the rooms felt very damp. we didn't eat in the hotel restaurants, as there are so many great options in cancun. we had only booked two nights in this hotel and then were off to riviera maya. for two nights, it was fine. had I planned on staying longer, I would have checked out and stayed elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Director of Rooms Operation at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Guest Jamie C,
Thanks a lot for the excellent review about our hotel. I am happy to read that the sense of arrival met your expectations and also hoping you enjoyed the view of the ocean from your room. In regards to the mildew you mention, I will personally walk the room and make sure the issue is corrected immediately. Also I want tell you that beginning of June of this year, we are going to start renovating our guest rooms. I really hope you can make another trip to Cancun and stay with us in one of this new rooms.

Sincerely
Paulino Najera
Director of Rooms Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family (husband, two girls ages 6 & 7) went to this resort for spring break and we had a wonderful time. The pool and the beach were lovely and well cared for. These areas were never crowded and I could always find plenty of lounge chairs to use.
Our room was up to Marriott expectations and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
We signed up for the all inclusive plan and I thought it was well worth it. We paid $369 through the www.marriottrewards.com website and that covered our room, our food and beverages at the restaurants at the resort, gratuities, kids club access and other discounts and freebies around the property. Since it is a walk to go anywhere else to eat, I thought the all inclusive price was reasonable and the food was good. I had no problems with the free wi fi.

Room Tip: They seem to have a lot of room types available. I would just ask for an upgrade away from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCancun, Hotel Manager at Marriott Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Kikathleen:
I´m glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and Service you experienced where what you expected. Thanks so much for your warm comments and for noticing the housekeeping staff!!! They work hard every day and appreciate the recognition.
Hope we can welcome you and your family again in the near future
Best Regards
Manuel Magaña / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £136 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Cancun Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Paradise at Marriott Cancun Resort. Powder soft sand and sparkling turquoise seas beckon travelers to the heart of the Mexican Caribbean and our 5-star resort in Cancun, Mexico. A legendary locale close to Kukulcan Plaza, Luxury Avenue, La Isla Shopping Village and Coco Bongo and perfectly matched with Marriott’s commitment to service satisfies adventurous souls seeking to explore ruins or searching for serenity in the shadows of an ancient empire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Casamagna Cancun Hotel Cancun
Marriott Cancun
Cancun Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing