We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another year - another visit”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Quite a few things have changed during the year. The Sunrise lobby is finished, - lots and lots of new marble all around. The Nizuc lobby is being worked on. More marble also. What is missing, though, is the beautiful stained-glass ceiling.
What stayed the same is the wonderful service. EVERYONE just goes out of their ways to spoil you. And of course, the whole complex is beautifully taken care of, the many pools are great, and the week went by too fast!
Too bad, that the shuttle bus does not operate any more in the evening to go to dinner to the other Palace resorts in Cancun. But there are still enough restaurants within the Sunrise, the Nizuc and the Moon Grand to play havoc with one's diet.
So, we are looking forward to next year's visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,738 - 12,744 of 22,949 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed in the Grand section of the Moon Palace mid November for a business trip. Overall it's a nice property. Quite large (Gigantic is probably a better word).

My room was on the 1st floor in building 87. The furthest you could be from the beach or pool. Room itself was quite spacious with an in room jacuzzi. Each room in this section has a in room minibar stocked daily and a large balcony or patio. The balcony had a comfy lounge bed plus a table and two chairs.

The pools in this section are nice. Much calmer/quieter in this section than in either of the other two.

That difference in the sections is the location, size of the rooms, amenities, and level of activity in that section.

* The Sunrise is an active section. Multiple pools, lots of activities, many restaurants.
* The Nizuc is located between the other two sections. Extremely small balconies. Fitness center is in the section
* The Grand definitely has the largest rooms. Not many restaurants in this section though, so you'll either walk or take the shuttle to one of the other sections. Shuttle runs frequently.

Room Tip: If you're in the Grand section, request building 86 as its closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyhawk352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Moon Palace. We stayed in the Golf Villas & was great having the use of a golf cart. Was very quiet. Everyone is so friendly. The only downer for me was the food. I had expected more fish but found that what there was wasn't that great. Room service was handy but the food was usually cold. We had some problem with our credits but Ramon Bustamonte, member services, helped us out and had it fixed in no time. He also helped us book some side trips. Christina, Customer Service Rep, was so helpful in assisting us with airline problems. We are hoping our children will enjoy this resort with some of their friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have been members of Palace Resorts since 1997. Throughout the years we have stayed at Cancun Palace, The original Moon Palace (Nizuc side) ,and Aventura Palace. We've also at Hard Rock, Punta Cana, DR when it was still owned by Palace Resorts. All of our invited friends and family love the Moon Palace. The resort looks even better now than when we first visited in 97'.

This last trip (11/29-12/7), we stayed at Moon Palace Sunrise as usual, it did not disappoint. We had a blast! Clean comfy room, paradasaic grounds & great food. The paella by the pool was fantastic & the chicken wings at the grill in front of the Flowrider were excellent. Almost every evening after dinner we had a flaming Mayan coffee, which I highly recommend.

The activity staff was great and I would like to say thank you to them for their well organized & fun activities everyday. So thank you to: Marco, Cesar, Nico, Jose Luis, Patricia, Diana, Luisa & Melissa.

The only negatives I can say is the beach water at the Moon Palace is not to nice but their beautiful pools more than make up for it. The beaches on Cancun Island (Beach & Sun Palace) are much more inviting. Also, maybe it's a matter of opinion, but their hot dogs & chili by the Flowrider grill were a little weird tasting. Note to management: Try Hummel's hot dogs - muy delicioso! :-)

Here are a few pictures not normally seen on the website of their activities, etc. We would like to thank Palace Resorts for their continued improvements, upkeep & customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have been to the Caribbean and Mexico many times and this resort by far, was the most enjoyable. Our accomodations were very luxurious right down to having aroma therapy and a pillow menu in your room. The food at the buffets and restaurants are fantastic, with the Brazilian and the Mexican being our favorites. The golf was super and we were very happy with the condition of the courses. A bit of a "herding cats" scenario at the club house with everyone running every which way and the attendants were a bit stressed but it did not affect our rounds. The shuttles to and from the other sites, Nizuc and Sunrise and back and forth from the golf course were a bit frustrating as the vans and buses were either quite full or not frequent enough. The pools were spectacular and we most definitely will return. A big thank you to Sylvina our concierege at the Grand as she was very sweet, kind and helpful. Thank you again , We will never forget our holiday at the Moon Palace.

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher floor but all the rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoboundOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was our first time to the Moon Palace Resort and we will definitely recommend it to anyone couples & families. We stayed in the Moon Grand section of the resort and it was beautiful rooms were big and nicely decorated. The service from the moment you arrive until you leave is great! The location for. Em was perfect being about. 20 minute bus journey from the strip of hotels in Cancun centre you get best of both worlds as you are able to use the facilities of the Beach Palace and Sun Palace where you can also go shopping if you wish to, The hotel put on a free bus service for this to take you to and back to the hotel. The food was good plenty of options our personal fav was the Momo wish was the Asians that was in the Sunrise section of the resort. The resort is lovely and you can walk right along the beach to all parts of the hotel. There is also a bus service to take you around the hotel if you wish to use it. At nights we liked to go to the Sky Bar in the Sunrise sections where our bar tender Claudio would make us the most amazing cocktails and provide and excellent personal service every night along with the other staff at the bar. The pool areas at the Moon Palace were great I'd say at the Grand section it was more relaxed than the other two sections of the hotel and poor alimony suited for couples and more mature people (depending on what you like) Where as the other sections had more entertainment and a different vibe to it around the pool so again you can choose what kind of day you want around the pool. The holiday credit is good as well although we only used ours to swim with the dolphins which is at the Moon Palace and it was amazing. Overall I would recommend the Moon Palace for a holiday,. Wish I didn't have to come home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once again we were treated like Princess in a Palace. We spent another vacation at the Moon Palace, our third trip. Every thing was perfect like usual... except for the weather, which you don't have any control on. I would like to express my special thanks to Ana Meija, your outside facility manager at the Nizuk. She such a beautiful person, inside and outside, like I said earlier, she is one of your very special assets... make sure your keep her for a longggg time. Also a special thanks to her staff: Adalberto and Baltazar for their beautiful service, signing and smiles, to Chef Didier, Andres, Uriel. We enjoyed particularly your new Pizza corner at the Nizuk with Esmeralda, the Mexican restaurant with their singers, the Japanese restaurant.
I would like to mention the renovation at the Sunrise, it is WOW WOW!!! Keep up the good work. Everywhere the staff is smiling and give an excellent service.
The only reproach I have to express is to the golf course management but I will deal with them directly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

THANK YOU very much for sharing with us your experience lived at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. In particular, on behalf of all our Food & Beverage Team, it has been an honor for us to attend you. We will be happy to see you many more times.

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 177 in Cancun
6,241 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#15 of 177 in Cancun
6,245 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,108 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,636 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £258 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Destinology, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing