We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 7 Day Stay !!!!!!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great 7 Day Stay !!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on a Tuesday, the only blip we had all week was in the transportation from the airport to the hotel. It was not as swift as previous arrivals and we were shuttled along with non-palace members. That had never occurred before plus we were taken to sketchy areas of the air operation before we departed to the resort. This was reported to Palace staff and I just want other travelers to be aware of this event and report anything out of the ordinary!

That being said, it was game on after that! Fun, fun,fun ! The checkin was standard 20 minute Palace checkin....got a swim up room in the Sunrise section. That was a great perk, 10 feet from our room to our exclusive pool! Room was generic Palace jacuzzi room, clean, well appointed, cold beer and good booze! Ice machine is on second floor, but can't have everything..... Room attendants did a great job!
Days were spent at the beach, narrow with great sand. Grandsons spent hours snorkeling while we chatted and observed while consuming those great tropical drinks. One grand kid went one on one with some jellyfish and Palace staff were quick to apply their remedy, well done!
Evenings were spent wining and dining, the Barracuda has some great steaks and staff, some good sides and fantastic dessert. The Italian Gondola was very good. Our evening buffets were done at the Bugambilias, standard Mexican fare, great selection and large variety of desserts. For breakfast we would hit the buffet at either Bugambillias or Gondola....there is always the snack bar
We didn't do much with our resort credits this trip, went to isle me juries for a day trip and kids went snorkeling.
The flow rider and water slider were a hit!
To the staff I would like to give you all a big hug! You made use feel welcome and treated us like family, no request was to difficult and always completed with a smile. To remind other travelers, write down the names of your favorite attendants and put them in your after trip survey from the Palace so they can be awarded points!
Check out went smoothly and I can't wait to get back to Cancun, will be back March 10 at the Sun Palace! Keep up the good work!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cargomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Cargomast

Thank you very much for the kind words I’m really glad that you enjoyed both the facilities and the service our staff provided. That’s our ultimate goal and it’s great to know that we achieved it.


I will definitely share your comments with everyone here.


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,827
    4,268
    1,648
    763
    683
See reviews for
8,916
5,978
113
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,006)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The golf is above average, pool areas are spotless and enormous, the sandy beach is nice and very clean. The wait staff can't do enough for you. Tremendous selection of dining options and the food is excellent. Took trip to Aquaworld for the speed boat ride and snorkeling tour. That was a blast! We have been here four times now and can't wait to go back. As a bonus we saw the Chicago concert for free at a dinner show.

Room Tip: Even though you must climb the stairs, I like the views from the second and third floors, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Andy F

Thanks so much for your comments.
We value your loyalty and constructive feedback you have definitely contributed to our success. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with all travelers.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nizuc for me, food, rooms,pool side entertanment,friendly people,dinner for two by the pool,dinner for two on the beach,dolphin swim, friendly staff, and big time enterainment-CHICAGO- this time. CLEAN

Room Tip: Nizuc-ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our services and facilities, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday here at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

Hasta pronto!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Guess if your into lots of people, noise, airplanes flying over every 5mins, dolphins being kept in a cage/pen that is too small then this is for u...i could go on then this is the place for you. Rooms are clean very nice hotel is the same. But overall i found this a crazy place, every pool had music or dancers or games no pool that was nice a and quiet. My cousin had his wedding here thats why i went i will never go back here. Wedding planner was MIA the day before the wedding. The music didnt play when she walked down the aisle went on and off when she got to the groom. Horse and carriage broke down, ppl got sick from the food, all the room reservations were a mess. Even the free coach to the airport didnt work out. Oh and u have to pay 16% tax on any points u use. so good luck! im happy to be home!

Room Tip: not by the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobiesailor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerton, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic vacation all the way around. This started with the resort helping us book reliable and safe transportation and ended with top notch service in every capacity. It was also a nice blend of activity and relaxation. With this being a winter retreat from the snow and ice (as well as a 10 year anniversary getaway), we chose to spend most of our time at the resort vs venturing out into the Cancun nightlife. That said, we were never bored. The activity pool staff was beyond excellent (Nico, Luisa, Paty, Aldo and Melissa to name a few). They made it a point to get to know their visitors and make you feel at home.

The food, shows and hospitality was top-knotch. The only negative was that this area of Cancun does not display the clear blue water you will see in select other areas. This tends to shift due to tides and hurricane activity.

Room Tip: When staying at Moon Palace Cancun, I recommend staying in the Sunrise complex. If you simply want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Derek H,

One of the best ways a guest can compliment our team is by recommending the hotel to their friends. Thank you! I’m glad you had such a positive experience here at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort

I appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about our Resort!

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just came back from the February break. A lot of activities to do for the kids. The resort is very large...largest in Cancun. My kids are teenagers and need to have constant activities...some were too young and others they just wouldn't do...disco, arcade, night time shows. We are from NY and we travel at many all inclusive, usually 5 star, this at best is three. The food is not great, does not change much. Although, the barbecue's during the day at the huts are good. We ate in Cancun twice during the week. The beach is gorgeous, pools are great and the resort is very clean. The people that work there are fantastic! Service is top notch. Mitch @TripGuy Travel did an excellent job with booking us and knowing this resort very well.

Room Tip: Stay in The Sunrise part of the hotel. Close to the pools and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thanks so much for your comments. We value your loyalty and constructive feedback you have definitely contributed to our success. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with all travelers.

I have taken note of your comments in regards the variety of food, and have already reached out to our Food & Beverage Management to make sure that this is being addressed.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.


YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good restaurants, wonderful staff, extremely clean. The convention facilities are excellent. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. While in the area try Xplore, the ziplines and entire park are a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Janis E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the compliments regarding our Staff . We pride ourselves on selecting the right people and allowing them to do what they do best, take care of our guests

We’ll look forward to seeing you again next time you have the chance to visit Cancun, Mexico

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,226 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,864 reviews
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,518 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly The Grand at Moon Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing