We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week half term break
Was worried flight would be too long for a week but the whole holiday was fantastic
Small hiccup with room allocation when we got there but was soon sorted
Jump in a taxi from the airport not with holiday arranged transport as it is cheaper and quicker in a cab
Happy staff
Clean excellent rooms
Fabulous food with good choices
Felt totally spoilt all week
Will defiantly go back !

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. It makes us very happy to read that you enjoyed our amenities, facilities and service.
We are genuinely committed to provide memorable experiences, we are glad to learn we have accomplished our goal.
We look forward to welcome you back for another fantastic holiday.
Kind regards,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13,435
    4,180
    1,617
    755
    670
See reviews for
8,666
5,818
107
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our first time to cancun, for our honeymoon. My husband and i were a little nervous as we had not heard about moon palace but our travel agent reassured us that it is a 5star luxury resort. Upon arrival we were greeted with a chilled aromatherapy washcloth (so refreshing!) and friendly staff. Our bags were carefully taken to our room and we received a mini tour of our amazing room and the amenities included.
The pools excelled our expectations, as well as the service we received from staff. We have never experienced such professional hardworking people, who take such pride in their jobs! The ones who stood out the most were Hecner Martinez and Jorge Baas (nizuc buffet), Guadalupe and Mario (palapas pelicanos, bar tending), and Albino "alby" in housekeeping (nizuc).

We cant wait to come back next year, and reunite with the workers as well as enjoy the amazing scenery, services, and attractions moonpalace and cancun has to offer :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kait H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for choosing us for this special occasion, your Honeymoon. We are very proud of the staff that you mentioned and we wish you give us the opportunity to return to continue enjoying all that Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resorts offers you during your 1st Anniversary!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

You would not BELIEVE how great of time I had here. Amazing food, great people, and the weather was fantastic! You will never, NEVER, have such a wonderful time anywhere but here, in Cancun, with nothing in the world to care about at all except how much weight you gain from all the free food and drinks.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hunter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for such wonderful comments, they definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, we are very happy to learn that we have succeeded in our mission of make of our guest holidays a experience to remember.
We cant wait to welcome you back at our Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.
Kind regards,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had an amazing time at Moon Palace. The whole experience was outstanding. I have so many great things to say I don't know where to begin.....the resort is clean, beautiful and elegant, and the grounds and facilities are all well-maintained; the staff are attentive and very friendly (especially our favorite waiter, Cesar Donoy, at Nizuc who catered to us every day poolside. Seriously, Cesar was exceptional and super friendly); the pools are beautiful and simply awesome; the food is all top-notch, and the selection and variety of food choices is incredible (there many different restaurants to choose from; our faves were the Mexican and Brazilian steakhouse), even for our kids who are picky eaters; there are literally bars everywhere, and the drinks were always great; there are so many things to do, particularly for the kids (flow rider, slide at Nizuc pool, Wet'n'Wild excursion, Dolphin Discovery, Teen Lounge arcade, Kids Playroom, etc.). Our kids really, really enjoyed our stay. They swam all day, played with other kids, drank chocolate milkshakes, played in the arcade, at poolside, swam with dolphins, etc. We dropped them off at the Kids Playroom (which is an awesome place with tons of stuff for them to do) for 3-4 hours so my wife and I could have some alone time to grab dinner together. The kids get signed in and the staff watched them while also letting them play and do whatever. We were given a two-way Nextel phone to check-in on them. The whole thing was well-organized and gave us peace of mind that the kids would be safe and have a lot of fun. The transportation is easy and convenient when going from Nizuc to either Grand or Sunrise. Shuttle buses come ofter, and you can catch a ride on the extended golf carts pretty easily. It's really a short walk to the different areas, so we ate breakfast and dinner at Sunrise and Grand to mix it up. Again, super easy to get around.

In general, I honestly consider myself to be a fairly harsh critic, but after giving it some thought, I can only come up with a few minor examples of instances where I was disappointed about something at Moon Palace. Aside from one ice machine that wasn't working (room service had to bring me ice, so it really didn't matter) and a hostess at breakfast that was a little unpleasant, the one thing that aggravated us was the hard sell that the activities planning folks made trying to push their timeshares. That was SUPER annoying, but we learned it can be avoided by simply calling them and booking your activities (e.g., golf or Wet'n'Wild) over the phone from your room. When we first tried to use our resort credits to go to Xel-Ha, they basically told my wife we had to endure their 90 minute pitch about timeshares in order to use our credits to go to Xel-Ha. It was really shameless of them, particularly since we spent a fair amount of money on this vacation. With all that said, their attempt to pitch the timeshare sale was annoying, but it ultimately did not detract from our stay and overall feeling about the resort. If you have kids and are looking for an amazing experience at an all-inclusive, Moon Palace is your place. We had a blast! We usually don't repeat our vacations and try new places, but we have already decided we will be going back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Coral building in Nizuc, and it seemed like there were some families around us with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Terry_Fro

Thank you very much for such a detailed review!

We appreciate the feedback about our services and facilities, a family like yours is what we have on mind when we planned to offer such a large variety of activities.

I’m happy to hear that you and your family were comfortable and have enjoyed your stay with us

We look forward to serve you on your next trip to Cancun, Mexico

Kind regards,


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Are you kidding me, the kids are having a blast, food everywhere, drinks when you walk thru the front door.
OMG if you don't like this place your looking to hard...AWESOME final word..until tomorrow i just freeking got here and I'm loving it already...more to follow.

Room Tip: low floor near flowrider AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EricATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear EricATC,

Thank you for your compliments!

We are proud of our services and facilities, we are glad to know that you have had a good impression of our Resort

Have a wonderful stay with us!

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived on a Tuesday, the only blip we had all week was in the transportation from the airport to the hotel. It was not as swift as previous arrivals and we were shuttled along with non-palace members. That had never occurred before plus we were taken to sketchy areas of the air operation before we departed to the resort. This was reported to Palace staff and I just want other travelers to be aware of this event and report anything out of the ordinary!

That being said, it was game on after that! Fun, fun,fun ! The checkin was standard 20 minute Palace checkin....got a swim up room in the Sunrise section. That was a great perk, 10 feet from our room to our exclusive pool! Room was generic Palace jacuzzi room, clean, well appointed, cold beer and good booze! Ice machine is on second floor, but can't have everything..... Room attendants did a great job!
Days were spent at the beach, narrow with great sand. Grandsons spent hours snorkeling while we chatted and observed while consuming those great tropical drinks. One grand kid went one on one with some jellyfish and Palace staff were quick to apply their remedy, well done!
Evenings were spent wining and dining, the Barracuda has some great steaks and staff, some good sides and fantastic dessert. The Italian Gondola was very good. Our evening buffets were done at the Bugambilias, standard Mexican fare, great selection and large variety of desserts. For breakfast we would hit the buffet at either Bugambillias or Gondola....there is always the snack bar
We didn't do much with our resort credits this trip, went to isle me juries for a day trip and kids went snorkeling.
The flow rider and water slider were a hit!
To the staff I would like to give you all a big hug! You made use feel welcome and treated us like family, no request was to difficult and always completed with a smile. To remind other travelers, write down the names of your favorite attendants and put them in your after trip survey from the Palace so they can be awarded points!
Check out went smoothly and I can't wait to get back to Cancun, will be back March 10 at the Sun Palace! Keep up the good work!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cargomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Cargomast

Thank you very much for the kind words I’m really glad that you enjoyed both the facilities and the service our staff provided. That’s our ultimate goal and it’s great to know that we achieved it.


I will definitely share your comments with everyone here.


YENNIA CALVILLO

PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The golf is above average, pool areas are spotless and enormous, the sandy beach is nice and very clean. The wait staff can't do enough for you. Tremendous selection of dining options and the food is excellent. Took trip to Aquaworld for the speed boat ride and snorkeling tour. That was a blast! We have been here four times now and can't wait to go back. As a bonus we saw the Chicago concert for free at a dinner show.

Room Tip: Even though you must climb the stairs, I like the views from the second and third floors, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Andy F

Thanks so much for your comments.
We value your loyalty and constructive feedback you have definitely contributed to our success. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with all travelers.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
5.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,245 reviews
18.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,539 reviews
8.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Property: Moon Palace Cancun
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing