We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing doesn't begin to describe!”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #23 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The best Palace Resort out there!! We have travelled several times to the Palace Resorts & will only stay at Moon Palace!

The staff is always amazing. They are completely attentive & will help however necessary. They always make sure that everything is perfect for anyone who visits, from the easiest going to the most difficult guest.

The options for restaurants far exceeds what is typically expected at a resort - the options are vast & you can always find something for anyone in your party! Same with the pools - you can find the lowkey, kick back & relax pool or the fun, loud party pool & even the kiddy pool!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mefullerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,008 - 12,014 of 23,099 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at the grand section again, but different building from our Christmas stay, we were there from March 9 to 16th. One thing to say, even with our flight delayed almost 7 hours, hotel accomodated us and let us eat and drink as we wished even without our wrist bands, they were very accomodating !! Thank you !! We have 2 teenage kids, and find the Grand section to our liking. my son is 16 and found it boring, but since this is his 9th trip to Cancun area, it doesnt surprise me. The flow rider is always busy, and not all kids will enjoy it, mine didnt.

The room credits are nice, but the taxes have risen since our last stay only a few weeks ago. Now its 16%, but still cheap for some things that you could fork out hundred of dollars at other resorts. DONT use the $75 credit for sunglasses, they are cheaper if you go to the mall area near the beach palace.

I still find that the bus ride from lobby to lobby is more business than pleasure, its just to get you from one place to another, but other resorts I have been to have been more fun to get around and it feels more like a vacation. The lobbies are more for business functions than for vacation if you ask me... So not as relaxing as some might find other resorts, with those nice open air lobbies (moon palace lobbies are more like a convention centre - blah !!)... The walking was nice, very long but that was ok with us. Food was very good as last time, comfort - I found the room cold, and we could not turn up the temperature, it was either air conditioning on, or off. When off it becomes warm and humid before too long. No big deal though, but had to ask for extra blanket as the kids were cold.

We spent most of our time in the heated pool (only one on resort), its in front of the Caribeano restaurant. My wife prefered the lap pool area of the grand as it had more space instead of cramped chairs side by side like other areas of the resort.... Heated pool to lap pool walk time, 40 seconds.... Walk time, Grand section to Nizuc is about 8 to10 minutes, then another 10 to 12 or so to Sunrise from Nizuc.

I like it there, its nice, but we wont go back again. Great place, but it just lacks something that my family and I have enjoyed on other vacations. I wont fault it other than just to say that it doesnt feel very vacation like for some reason... Perhaps it was the not very inviting beach or the not very relaxing lobbies that are throwing me off... I still cannot put my finger on it.... But that being said, not everyone likes all the same things.... I think it was just too business orientated.

If you want a good beach experience and like the water, you will have to go to the beach palace or the Sun palace for the day (worth the trip)... The beach at the moon palace has lots of seaweed.

Room Tip: Grand section stay costs a bit more, but rooms are larger and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We thank you for choosing to stay at Moon Palace a second time around. We're glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, but we regret to hear that you will not be coming back. All the feedback we receive is very valuable as it helps us improve our services and amenities and we sincerely hope you reconsider and give us another opportunity to make it even better the next time around. We thank you for your time.

Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Moon Palace is huge, but beautiful. We loved being able to walk the resort and see all the different areas. We used the bicycles once to get around quickly and that was fun. There are also shuttles if you want a ride. We felt pampered and spoiled, especially with the $1500 resort credit. There was lots to do. We saw the entertainment twice and it was excellent. Golf is great and you have to use your spa credits! Did the swim with the dolphins, but still didn't use all our credits. the best restaurant was the Barracuda. Great steaks. Otherwise, we enjoyed the buffets, which were wonderful. The Grand had the quietest pools and the softest loungers, so we spent our pool days there. Also enjoyed the quiet pool at the golf course after a round of golf, so pack you bathing suit when you golf.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a second or third floor, even though there are no elevators. On the first floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank octobersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was my 11th yr. at the Moon. I am not a member and see no need or any perks to be one either. I keep coming back because of the customer service and employees fun attitudes shines through and never ends. This is the first year I was unhappy with a room because of some problems but Sandra in Customer Relations in Sunrise was absolutely amazing and got things moving and relocated us quickly, professionally and helped us move and went above and beyond after. I would love to bring her back to run my business. We prefer the Nizuc side and their service is TOPS! Carlos our waiter at the Nizuc pool is amazing and wonderful to my children and I. The entertainment staff is WONDERFUL and remembers my children and myself and they exceed the word "FUN"! A HUGE shout-out to Patricia, Felix, Carlos, Shanta, Fabian, Gustavo, Russell, Alonso, Caleb and Christian and Nels. Enrique also who we met last yr and now works at the Moon Grand even made a special attempt to come say Hi to us and play soccer against my 14 yr old daughter on her last day. There might be some glitches but their customer service and the fun and memories they provide will definitely keep me coming back. Oh, and I cannot forget Baltazar either who serenaded me. LOVE them all. My youngest cried when we came home because he misses them already.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

WOW your 11th visit! We are honored by your preference and loyalty to Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort. For us it is a pride to know that we have exceeded your expectations again and we were pleasantly surprised, you are part of our Palace Resorts Family.

We look forward to host you many, many more times in this your second Home!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Fantastic time! We really enjoyed the service, food and activities. The kids club is amazing for children 4-8. The staff was so gracious and almost all spoke English so it wasn't a problem that we knew practically zero Spanish! The Brazilian BBQ was out of this world delishious with impecable service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Decor at this resort is very beautiful, but we were very disappointed with the service. The staff was not very helpful and did not want to put forth any extra effort to enhance the guest experience. Drinks are subpar, and most of the dining is crappy buffet food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosaura Y, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We're sorry to read about your experience at Moon Palace. We can assure you that this is not the typical experience as reflected by so many previous guests in their reviews. Regardless, we welcome all constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our amenities and services for all our guests. Thank you for your time.
Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I have been Palace members for about 8 years now and this was our second vacation at Moon Palace. It was just 2 years ago when we last vacationed here and I can tell you that it felt almost all new since then. The grounds are much nicer and better taken care of. The pool areas have been freshened with all new chairs etc. The lobbies at Sunrise and Nizuc are all new. Most of the rooms at Sunrise and Nuzic have been remodeled. And best of all, the restaurants are mostly all new. And all this for the better. If you've been to MP but not in the past year or so you need to go again and if you've never been to MP you deserve to give it a try.

On this trip we stayed in the Grand section of the property. The property is split into 3 sections = Sunrise, Nuzic and Grand. We found the Grand section to be just that. The rooms are bigger and grander by a large margin. The pools areas are upscale compared to the others and overall it just feels a step above. That said, this section is a couple of years from being completely finished and currently has only 2 places to grab a bite to eat so you find yourself spending a lot of time walking or waiting for a shuttle to take you to other sections of the resort. Until this section is completed I think we'll be staying at Sunrise on future visits.

Which section should you stay in? If room size is important, Grand has the biggest rooms and Sunrise the runner up. If being centrally located is important, Nuzic is in the middle making for much shorter walks. If an ocean view is important, Nuzic has the most rooms with a view, Sunrise the runner up, and at Grand you pretty much can't get an ocean view. If quiet is important, the Grand pools are by far the most laid back, then Sunrise, then Nuzic.

Food. For the most part we had pretty good food at every restaurant we visited. The service and how long we needed to wait for food between courses varied a lot. We had the longest wait times at Caribeno (at Grand), we would suggest avoiding this place for dinner. Tried it 2 times and the wait between starter and main course was over an hour both times. What's worse is the server forgets about you almost completely during that hour. Our luck at LaGondolla (Sunrise) wasn't much better but since the service was a little better and the food and ambiance allot better we highly recommend everyone try it. We give LaTatoria (Golf Clubhouse) our top rating. The Brazilian (Nuzic) was allot of fun and allot of food. Best buffet by far is in Sunrise (Bamibilla's) maybe the best overall service we received during our 2 week stay and ton's of food choices freshly made (some even to order - rare to well done). Over the years we've found the quality of food at Palace resorts to be very predicable and pretty top notch overall. It always feels good knowing that you'll get plenty of choices and that you won't get sick.

Beach = this resort sits all by itself a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of the hotel section of Cancun. The resort offers daily trips into the hotel zone which is great for a shopping trip or if you want to visit a world class beach. The resort has 2 sister hotels (Beach and Sun) which both have great beaches. Note that Sun is for adults only. I mention all this because the beach at MP is not that great to walk or swim in. For those who want to though, they have plenty of motorized and non motorized stuff to do in the water.

What else is great? 27 holes of golf right on the grounds, a really nice SPA, mini golf, bikes, a flow rider, waterslides and toys, fitness clubs (not at Grand), tennis and basketball courts and the list goes on....if you're active and can't stay busy here, something's wrong.

Outside stuff. You can use resort credits to do things like zip line, go to a Mayan ruin, go to a waterpark, take a city tour or visit a local island. All great trips and mostly all just for Palace people so you can expect to be cared for both on and off property.

Overall = we like spending vacations here because it offer so much all on one property and because it's nestled away all by itself. What MP lacks that it's smaller properties have is a level of service that truly feels personal. At there smaller resorts, the staff becomes a friend, remembers you by name and truly does treat you like royalty. That doesn't happen so much at MP. We know that before we go so we lower our expectation a bit but we certainly wish Palace could find a way to make you feel as special at MP as the smaller resorts.

Why the score of 4 instead of 5? Our vacation was wonderful but since the service was not always great and the wait times in the restaurants sometimes ridiculously too long, we think a score of 4 is deserved. Additionally, we did have 2 items stolen from our room (a pair of Bose HP's and a make-up purse). Our fault for not putting these items in the in room safe. We're finding that the safes have become too small for all our gadgets and valuables. We'd suggest leaving as much of that at home as you can because it was obvious to us that when we talked with MP security that they were in no way going to hold anyone at the resort responsible for the theft. Unfortunately my wife trusts Palace more than she should.......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 177 in Cancun
6,275 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#15 of 177 in Cancun
6,297 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,228 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £271 - £661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing