We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon Palace review”
Review of Moon Palace Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Cancun
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I would totally recommend this place for couples and for families. We didn't take our kids and after a few days there we knew we would be back there with the kids. We stayed at Nizuc. It was nice and the atmosphere was great. Both Sunrise and Nizuc have great pools. The food was ok, not great, but we had no complaints about it. There are so many options to choose from when it comes to food. The staff at Moon Palace were great. They were very attentive! I would highly recommend this place for a nice vacation.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for visiting Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you return soon with your children to serve you as you deserve and continue surprising you and your family.

Hasta pronto!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,447 - 11,453 of 23,556 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although the hotel is very nice, the food is above average. The wait time to eat at the specialty restaurants is too long.

One of the things that disappointed us the most was their beach front. The water is not blue...its BROWN due to a reef which is part of a National Park. By no means you want to go to Cancun and see brown water. The hotel then offers a complimentary ride to another property "Beach Palace Hotel" in Cancun which is 30 min away. They do 2 transfers per day..one at 12pm and return at 4pm and one at 2pm returning at 6pm. It is a hassle and you are so limited and 3 hrs is not enough time to enjoy. If you like Golf and do not care about the beach...then you will be fine; but if you travel to enjoy the sun and the beach....this is not the place to go. We have stayed at the Barcelo Riviera Maya and the water, food, anmenities, were excellent.

This hotel also offers you bonus points which you can only use on a few things. Swimming with Dolphins was nice for our son, but if you do not participate...then you can't see your relative interacting with the animals. The whole purpose of that is so that they can take pictures and then offer them to you at a price of $35 per picture of $70 for a disc not to mention that the prices mentioned is per person. So if you have 3 kids attending the show...multiply that by 3. We found that a bit abusive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbarbieri, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We value your feedback and we thank you for taking the time to tell us how we're doing. We're very sorry to hear that you had an average stay at Moon Palace.
Our biggest commitment is making sure that we exceed all our guests expectations, and we're sorry this was not the case.
We will review all your feedback and make adjustments where needed so we can remain one of the best all inclusive resorts in Cancun.
Respectfully,
ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a pleasure to vacation at The Moon Palace Sunrise Resort this past week. Walter Barbieri and his team displayed outstanding hospitality and professionalism during our week long stay. From the time we arrived until the day we departed the service was excellent, the facility was clean and the events were well planned. I highly recommend exploring all of the amenities Moon Palace has to offer. I would awake early in the morning and get a quick workout before meeting the family for breakfast. A full week of activities including, swimming with the dolphins, snorkeling, visiting the beach resort or just hanging by the pool. the question is not will we go back to Moon Palace, but when?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Tony C,

On behalf of Mr. Walter Barbieri, we thank you for your kind comments! We are very proud of our facilities and all our employees. We are certain that they are one of the reasons of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort to be known as one of the best all inclusive Resorts.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Resort or at any other Palace Resorts properties.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As with most all-inclusive they promise you so many things and in the end fall short. The room it’s self in Sunrise was nice; however, the upgraded price for the “deluxe ocean view” was a waste of money. A friend was staying in the not updated section of Nuzci and it was gross. What they say about reserving a pool chair early is an understatement. We got up at 6:30am to try to get a chair with an umbrella and they were all taken, we heard 5:30am was the magical time. Who wants to get up at 5:30am on vacation? We ate at a bunch of different restaurants around the property and felt it was ok, nothing out of this world. The worst part was waiting 1-2 hours for dinner, 90% of the restaurants do not accept reservations so you have no choice. Top shelf alcohol is a joke, its mid shelf if even that. Wait times for a drink at the bars was close to 30 minutes due to only one bartender. Every bartender makes a drink different and honestly none of them were really good, some even undrinkable. Not to mention they only serve 1 beer at most bars, and only on tap that they serve in child size plastic glasses. Icing on the cake is a bunch of bars close by 1am, which makes no sense considering bars really don’t close in Mexico. The resort credits are not as they seem, there is a catch. The beach is gross, full of seaweed and dirty looking water. As for management I called about a room change request four times and they did not even have the courtesy to return my call after promising me they would.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cookie2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbarbieri, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

All feedback helps us continuously improve and remain one of the top resorts in Cancun.

We thank you for taking the time to tell us how we're doing, and we're sorry we fell short in some areas. In regard to the loungers, our policy is that guests are not allowed to save loungers. If you see one that has not been occupied for over an hour, we kindly ask that you bring it to our attention.

We also apologize if there was lack of follow-up from our end. Please be assured that all this feedback will be reviewed, so that we can avoid this from happening to other guests.

We thank you for your time and we're sorry.

Respectfully,

ROSAURA YAÑEZ
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I are here at the moon palace sitting in the lobby bar waiting to see if we can move to a different palace resort ( sun palace)! My husband and I have been members for 5 years. We purchased on our honeymoon 5 years ago. ( today is our 5 year anniversary). First off no one informed us of the promotion of kids under 13 are free. We are just a couple with no kids, so to see the resort crawling with kids was a bit of a shock. We understood when booking that this was not an " adult only" hotel. We have been to many of the other resorts sun palace, adventura, Dominican hard rock and now moon palace. My husband and I also travel without the timeshare. We went to the " mandatory presentation" and of course they try to sell you the stars. We advised them that we want to sell our timeshare and if there was anyone to talk to about it. OF COURSE NOT!!!!' We felt that for being members that we should have some " perks" but no we have the same privileges as someone who booked on Expedia!. I have planned a recommitment ceremony with my husband and attempted to contact photography place prior to arrival and the only thing they kept asking was my membership number! In addition it's $35 A PHOTO!!!!, resort credits don't apply. Yes, $800 for 50 pics is the " best value" I'm not a complainer because I do appreciate everything in life but this resort was not as friendly and the service is not as good as the past. I don't want someone else to feel like " just a wristband" I hope this helped. Don't get me wrong the resort and rooms are nice and housekeeping is always nice. It's just the " higher up" who's building 2 more resorts and only want your money.

Room Tip: If you get a corner room at the end you will not get a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hollie6380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very outstanding in every way Food was good and plenty of it Drinks were great Pools and rooms were very clean Enjoyed the evening shows that were also free. You have no expense after your room is paid

Room Tip: Try to get beach view or beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YENNIACALVILLO, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear stan95,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you consider our Resort very outstanding in every way. Thank You!

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

YENNIA CALVILLO
PUBLIC RELATIONS MANAGER
MOON PALACE GOLF & SPA RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had an amazing vacation here with my boyfriend and another couple. The service was perfect. All staff members went above and beyond, Juan Guinto and Paola in the dining room during breakfast were the two best. Juan always had a smile on his face and would welcome us with open arms, gave us everything we needed and more. Angelina pool side waitress was always there asking us if we needed anything, we never once had to,wait for drinks. Our stay was perfect, and we could not have had a better vacation, we highly recommend this hotel. Ask for Juan at the breakfast buffet!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubmini1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaGranados, Public Relations Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

THANK YOU on behalf of all our staff for your wonderful words regarding your stay at Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort.

We are pleased to read our guests experience when they come to fully enjoy our services and facilities as you mentioned on your review.

We hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the near future.

Hasta pronto!

Norma Granados
Public Relations Manager @ Nizuc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.8 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 177 in Cancun
6,332 reviews
9.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 177 in Cancun
6,386 reviews
3.9 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 177 in Cancun
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,463 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,941 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Cancun

Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km. 36.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Business Hotel in Cancun
#11 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £292 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moon Palace Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Cancun's tranquil south shore, this resort offers more than 2,000 accommodations, each with double whirlpool tubs, 24-hour room service and balconies. The state-of-the-art Awe Spa and Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, located by the Golf Club House, offer a perfect getaway for guest. This all-inclusive resort has something for everyone, including a kid's club, nightclub, 14 restaurants, bars and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Moon Palace Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Palace Hotel
Moon Palace Cancun Mexico
Cancun Moon Palace Resort
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
Moon Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing