We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel only if staying a couple of nights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Stein, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good hotel only if staying a couple of nights.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Background: We are a couple of friends who looked for a good hotel away from the shore in order to drive various places outside Cancun (we rented a car).

The remarks:
We arrived after a really early flight from Mexico City. The room was ready but apparently the weather put it to the test. We were staying on the 5th floor and after some minutes in the room it started to rain, and what a surprise was that also in the room. Apparently, one of the discharge pipes or the balcony itself (the rooms with balcony are on the 6th floor) was loaded with water and well, it was dripping into the room. This was not a new issue as the cealing was already repaired (noticed by a whiter paint layer). Additionaly, this room lacked a minibar, which we noticed as we moved to a new room.

We were moved to the room next door, and what a surprise, same problem. We reported it to the administration and they moved us for a third time, now on the fourth floor, were we finally managed to stay

The information we received from the reception was incomplete as they did not make us aware of the existing pool (small), gym and the possibility of a free transportation van (up to 5km from the hotel).

Ups:
- There is a relatively large underground parking place
- The security personnel is very friendly and helpful
- The hotel is not centrical, but there is an available transport van that allows you to reach the clubs (it only works until 10:30 pm, so a taxi is the only way back, e.g. Coco Bongo) and the Mercado 28.
- The rooms are large with a comfortable bed and a nice bad

Downs:
- The parking place is not directly connected to the hotel, so if it is raining, an umbrella will come in handy.
- The friendliness and helpfulness of the reception personnel. When asked they replied courteously, but otherwise they minded their own business, sometimes not looking at you when answering.
- The breakfast will satisfy you good enough for the first two mornings but afterwards the options become very limited.

Room Tip: Try to avoid fifth floor when it is raining, and take a look that there is a minibar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmarCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We hope you can give us the opportunity to show you that we have more benefits for you, like an emergency stairs, you can use it when it´s rainning, and every morning you can order a special meal like eggs any style, quesadillas, waffles or milk shake, just ask our sttaf, we will be happy to give you all you need.

REMEMBER we are Here For you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    289
    108
    37
    19
See reviews for
194
280
31
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed one night on our way through Mexico, but very happy with hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Shopping center close by has everything you might need. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_ndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Is always pleasing to have guests as you, we invite you to visit us each time that you want it, we will be able to help you to book a new reservation in case that you need it.

Sincerely Hope see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

stayed here the last 2 weeks in may, very clean hotel with large comfortable beds,our first room 120 had problems with the electrics which the hotel must have been aware of, the microwave fridge & air conditioning did not work properly in fact to get the microwave to work you had to hold the switch in over the fridge to stop them tripping out, that said the second room was fine,breakfast was scrambled eggs every morning there were other items but a little more choice would have been welcomed, the free shuttle was non existant we gave up after asking 5 times, location is quite good

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
we appreciated your comments and i feel sorry if you had some troubles during your stay, i hope you could give us the oportunity to come back again and i will prepare you room special for you,

let me show you that the service that we provide you is better than you think

sincerely hope see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really good hotel for starting holidays in Mexico after late night landing in Cancun.
They take good care of guests and serve good dinner even close to midnight and their kitchen is very good, indeed. First Mexican impression was done. It was good beginning I must say.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms from back-side - there happens noise by metal refuse dumps beneath the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSerafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wanted to stay downtown somewhere comfortable that was clean and reasonable. Found it here!

Pros - clean, most staff very welcoming and helpful, very good breakfasts, good size of rooms

Cons - very poor travel desk (only open for about 4 hrs each day, well after each tour had already departed so we didn't speak to anyone there at all); maid service variable - if you try to be green and not get your linen changed the room literally doesn't get touched at all by the maids, and the number of towels you get is bizarre - we often had to ask for an extra towel (although this was never a problem); advertised to have a shuttle bus service - DO NOT RELY ON THIS FOR ANYTHING!!! Often no driver for various reasons, should not really be advertised on the website as a perk to staying there

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I wasn't pleasantly surprised at how clean and well maintained this property is. I picked the location because my dental surgery was taking place nearby...I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very clean, and despite some rain every day, the lobby remained clean. The staff is very kind and the doorman is very helpful with directions, getting cabs and locating the correct bus. My room was very clean, my only complaint is that the bottom sheet on the bed doesn't go all the way to the end, it drove me crazy!

They have a nice breakfast buffet and the restaurant connected next door has very decent food and the price is excellent. There is a convenience store nearby and I rode the bus (#27) several times to the hotel zone for shopping and to take in the beach. If you want to go to the public beach, go to Playa Marlin, less people and just breathtaking. Take bus #27 to Kukulcan Mall, cross the street near the Liverpool store (end of mall) and take the sidewalk that runs alongside the fire department keep walking to the back (you'll see the back side of the mall) and take a little jog to the left to the entrance (kind of hidden) to the beach, you won't be sorry. The other public beach is closer to the Carlos and Charlies, but it is a lot more crowded.

Back to the La Quinta, there is a mall, grocery, restaurant and Mexican open air markets nearby. Even when I was alone, I felt safe at all times. To get a great view of the city, take the elevator to the 6th floor and enjoy the balcony. The pool area was nice and while sitting back in that area it drowns out all sounds of the city noise, very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathelynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I found the La Quinta Inn and Suites to be adequate for the price. It is in a good location in downtown Cancun. It is easily accessible to bus stops, walking distance to malls, restaurants, banks and the American Hospital.
The rooms were clean, the plumbing worked, and there was plenty of hot water for showering. The pool is small but is large enough and has some nice features. The patio area around the pool is pleasant and at the back of the hotel so it feels private and peaceful. There is a small gym and it was clean and the equipment was of good quality.
There is a good breakfast buffet in the mornings and on the weekdays there is a tour desk open,
Alamo rental car also has an agent on site daily.
One shout out to Carla at the front desk who was always so willing to give assistance.

Overall I would recommend it for an economical and safe hotel in the downtown zone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyproud55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
0.1 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 175 in Cancun
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 175 in Cancun
668 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#67 of 175 in Cancun
954 reviews
1.2 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#47 of 175 in Cancun
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun

Property: LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Address: Av. Tulum Super Manzana 4 Manzana 14 lote 2 Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing