We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacos Caminero

Tacos Caminero
Ranked #54 of 948 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Unreal gem in the heart of bar alley in Cancun!!! Right across from Coco Bongo you will find this treat ! My wife and I went there due to the reviews in Trip Advisor and glad we did !! They bring the freshest tortilla chips and your drink order so quick it unbelievable !! Margaritas were perfect and strong We ordered the Fajjtas Camanero( beef, chicken ,pork) and it could have fed 4 people !!! Total bill was $450 pesos, a great price considering what we had!! If in Cancun stop by here and if your lucky , Mauricio will be your server!! He was great!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cmccre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    84
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome find for casual tasty tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were looking for a good taco place in the northern hotel zone. After some research I found this gem in the coco bongo area near señor frogs and hooters. It is located in a nice side alley with several other places opposite coco bongo. As we walked in the alley a recruiter from the restaurant started to sell us on eating there which was funny because I was going there anyway. Sat down and we were immediately waited on. The menu was what we wanted, steak tacos, pork tacos, chicken tacos, and combos. They had fajitas, burritos, beans and rice. Beer and tequila too. All kinds of sauces and toppings for your food along with great guacamole. Everything was tasty and well made. Our bill was 950 pesos with 10% tip for 4 people. We had beer, bottled water and tequila plus our food. Best value for food on the trip. We sat outside which was festive yet relaxed. Service was friendly and attentive. If you want some basic Mexican food without the fancy dishes and recipes, this is the place. Free fast wifi too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chap73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, top-notch service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Cancun. We actually saw a recommendation for this restaurant on a travel map we purchased prior to our trip, and decided to give it a try. Although the staff attempt to flag down diners in Taco Alley and on the hotel strip, it is DEFINITELY worth a stop instead of a walk-by! My husband loved the strong margaritas and they had red wine for me (which was surprisingly hard to come by in Cancun). We went back twice and both times the food and service were excellent (thanks Tony)! The pastor fajitas and tacos are made from pork roasted on site, which was absolutely delicious. The prices are extremely reasonable, and you certainly get a lot for your peso. I can truly say this is one of our favorite restaurants in Cancun and definitely one to try!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome Fajitas for two!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from Cancun and one of the places we stopped to eat at was Tacos Caminero. Our server's name is Rafael and he recommended the fajitas for two and this dish was not only delicious, but it was definitely enough for two people.

The dish consisted of a mixture of meats that were seasoned very well and accompanied with warm fajitas and grilled poblano peppers w/corn. The nachos and green sauce were just as good and made a nice compliment to the fajita dish if you didn't feel like putting them on a warm fajita.

If you make it out to Cancun, definitely make a stop here and ask for Rafael!!! If we go back, we are going back for more fajitas!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J0yful2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stopped in for a casual bite & it worked out great. They sell meat by the kilo & we went that route. They also have several choices for vegetarians, which was great cause my daughter is a veggie. Margaritas were tasty & strong. Prices were reasonable (not low end) but the place is very clean & the service was great. Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tacos Caminero also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tacos Caminero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing