We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to find an Eco-Friendly and customers-friendly hotel in Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #45 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to find an Eco-Friendly and customers-friendly hotel in Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

All round satisfaction. Very enjoyable stay. For people who wish to get away from the expensive and typical holiday resort in the hotel zone, this is the best.
Walking distance to Ado bust terminal.
And also walking distance to shops, money exchange, supermarkets ...etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We appreciate your comments they are very useful, we are glad you enjoy your stay with us. The echo techniques in heating the water with the sun separating garbage and composting the organics of all the hotel gave us a recognition in the evaluation that RainForest did for us. Thanks a lot for your visit.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    231
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
298
58
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in this property and were extremely pleased. It was our first trip to Mexico and our Spanish is rudimentary at best - the staff here were very helpful and kind, and our language barriers were cheerfully overcome. The hotel gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants locally, for tour guides for out trips, and accurate directions for finding local activities - all in spite of neither party speaking the others' language. Mrs. Reina sorted our excursions at the hotel and she was amazing. We didn't use the pool and there weren't any yoga/meditation activities while we were there.

The facilities are basic, but extremely clean and well maintained; the beds were comfortable, the kitchen functional, and the bathroom was newly tiled and decorated. Mayan art and topical plants give the place a great vibe. The only drawback of the facilities was the amount of hot water available - best to shower in the morning, and it can take a while for the hot water to arrive. This wasn't a big deal for us, but for those expecting different, it might be a shock. We found the hotel to be quite quiet, which is something given that we were there for Independence day. The free breakfasts were excellent, with very good service; gluten free options were not a problem. The kitchenette was great, and a supermarket is a few short blocks away (as well as bank machine, the ADO bus station, and the markets). The room service is worthy of a specific mention - scrupulously clean, thorough, and every day there were new artistic towel formations and/or toilet paper flowers decorating the beds and bathroom. The daily paper flowers on the toilet, towel rack, shower curtain were hilarious and quite touching, actually.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock for the safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
A comment like yours is very important, because we read this information to our staff in our monthly meeting , so they are motivated to do better things every day. We are glad you enjoy your stay in the hotel and in the Yucatan a gorgeous place to know. Next time you come tray our massages or our transportation to the airport with an extra cost. About the hot water, some time with echo techniques is a little bit slow to give the hot water because we heat the water with the sun, but is so good for the Planet.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

You absolutely know that you have just entered an Eco-Friendly resort when everybody retains a genuine smile, from the moment you enter until your departure. The service is wonderful, and the breakfast delicious. The patron lives on the top floor, and is available 24/7. The massage was, by far, the best on the coast. What more can be said. Checking out felt like leaving home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend: we appreciate your comments about the hotel, this helps us to make more efforts to give a service of excellence, We really fell very good you could felt this place as your home in Cancun, because this is what we really want in each guest.
We are glad you enjoy our massages, they are very good, the therapist is a certificate one.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Interesting mixed reviews from other people. We got in late, hot, tired, a bit grumpy. Desk staff was quite helpful. When given first key we double checked it was twin beds and he promptly changed it to a first floor room right next to the breakfast area. The ecological bent was a big plus for us. Also how quiet it was. We're not the "normal" visitors to Cancun. For my brother and me, it's just the overnight stop between Chichen Itza and Copper Canyon and for that it was perfect. And the breakfast was wonderful (whole wheat toast) and the black cat we fed our remaining scrambled eggs and ham to added to the overall charm. Vastly more desirable place than the grand palaces on the beach--for us.

Oh, yes, room quite. spacious with kitchenette with sink, refrigerator and two gas burners which we didn't use but with a longer stay even more of a plus.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are glad you enjoy your stay with us, You are right every comment about the hotel is so different, we are glad also you could experience Chichen Itzá is such a grate place, many of our guest decide to stay with us instead the hotel zone because from here they can visit a lot of places like Tulum, Coba, Isla Mujeres and of course Chichen Itzá.
Next time tray our massages they are very good, relax and cheap.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serris, France
Level Contributor
171 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights end of May when we arrived in Mexico.

We got a room via internet (45€ per night) with 2 Queen sized beds, little kitchen area with fridge and 2 electric burners, shower with toilet in the same room and bathroom sink seperate. It also had a/c, a fan, tv and a large safe.

Everything was clean and working which is the important thing but there was a lot of visible wear and tear so if you want everything brand new etc best not to come here.

The garden was lovely with a nice clean little pool. The slightly off putting thing was the recycling bins just by the side of it but I must say that I never saw them over flowing.

The included breakfast was brillant - lots of different options to choose from and reasonable prices for the extra bits you might want . We had quesadillas the first morning and chilaquiles the 2nd. Both were filling and tasty.

All the staff that we met were friendly and helpful and I'd recommend this hotel as a great place to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest: we appreciate you comments, they help s to continue doing our best to serve our guests as they deserve. We are glad we could fit your expectations. See you soon , remember to have a massage in the spa they are wonderful and cheap
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
428 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I opted to stay downtown while my friend paid a much higher price to be in the hotel zone. I was very happy with my choice, as it was quiet, lovely, and cool in the room. I had to ask for a control for the a/c, as it was on all night. I would get really cold, then really hot, so be sure there is a remote for the room you have. I was up and down maybe six times the first night.

I had an upstairs room (28) with wood floors. It had an fridge, which was nice to store water and some snacks. I took my retainers out the first night and left them on the bathroom counter, and over 100 ants were in them when I woke up in the morning.

The staff was wonderful here and helped me with the bus, getting a call made to friends, and also help with the internet.

My major suggestion is to plan ahead for breakfast. Both days I was there I had to wait over half an hour to be served coffee or juice. The nice waitress was overwhelmed with many tables at once. For the quesadilla I had, it was not worth the 45 minute wait. It might be worth eating in the room or going elsewhere if you have a time constraint.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs and it was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanninelehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We appreciate your comments, are useful to maintain quality of the service. We are sorry about the delay in the restaurant, we have more staff now . We are working with fumigation service, because of our policies we have to be very carful in order not to impact the environmental . We appreciate your visit and look forward to serving you.
manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

if you are looking for a place to stash away your stuff while you spend most of your day outdoors, this may be worth the low price. however, the experience is rather underwhelming. first the pros: the breakfast ladies were hardworking and the breakfast was good. there is some 'interesting' eco-friendliness (e.g. a signboard says that your poop is composted and used as manure for the plants around. fine by me, although i can see how some people may find that gross.). lastly, it is close to the ADO bus terminal, so getting to and from it is convenient.
but too many little things (and a few big things) made the stay less than special for me. for starters, there is hardly anybody in the staff who speaks english, so other than just the basic room cleaning, not much should be expected. on one of the days, towels were not replenished even if they were placed in the 'to-wash' basket. the hotel is green, but not very clean...a cockroach in the kitchen area (which by the way is not at all supplied), gave us some reason for exercise one night.
but the most annoying part to me was how the staff hooked us up with a tour agent (named official tourist center. how misleading!!!) to xcaret (without us even asking her for any suggestions!) worse still, the agent turned out to be rather shady. firstly, on our way to xcaret, oliver, an annoying 'tour guide' (pleaase! more like a conman trying to peddle overpriced cosmetics) tried to scare us about huge dangerous bugs in xcaret and how they would kick us out the moment they found any non-biodegradable sunscreen on us. both almost complete lies. we bought the biodegradable sunscreen, thinking that the regular sunscreen we had was banned. but when we got to xcaret, the lady at the entrance cordially offered to hold on to our regular sunscreen and offered us a free packet of biodegradable sunscreen for free! when we tried to return the unopened sunscreen we bought, the guys hemmed and hawed and refused to have any money. after much protestation on our part, and threatening to spread a bad word, they gave back half the price and took back the sunscreen. i guess the hotel only owns part of the responsibility for this, but it just leaves a terrible taste in the mouth.
so all in all, please avoid if possible. If you do decide to stay here to save a few bucks, do not get sucked into the tours they offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We regret not having met your expectations, your comments are very helpful in pointing mistakes. Since your visit and immediately after your comments , we talked with our staff who contact you with someone that was not allow to do so, and was severely punished. We are having much more careful with the subject of towels and fumigation . On the other hand, we inform you that our staff speaks English now, so our English speaking guests will be best served.

Manager.

Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#73 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#43 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#35 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing