We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Nearby Hotels
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$559
US$538
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$396
US$252
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$730
US$629
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Palace(Cancun)
US$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$525
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$255
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$708
US$592
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,382
US$849
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
308
264
61
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
264
61
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown cancunado bus stationhotel zonesmall poolbreakfast was includedlarge supermarketthe breakfast areafew minutes walkzona hotelerano elevatorstayed for nightsair conditionerrooms are largeroom keymayan rivierathird floorkitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is in a quiet street down town cancun very close to centeral bus station,bus R1 and 2 that goes to all hotels and beaches of cancun and also to the colectivo tgat goes to Playa del carmen.The woman that works in the kitchen is very very nice..she prepared for us very good sandwiches very early in the morning before the hour...for takeaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your good comments of our staff, Mexican’s hospitality is one of our qualities. We will tell Martha you spoke well of her. Thank you for you visit, see you soon and tray our massages they are good and cheap.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

PLUSES:

 A 10 minute walk from the main bus station in Cancun (buses from the airport, many Mexican cities and down the coast for more beaches and Mayan ruins).
 McDonalds and a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.
 Restaurants are further away but 100% Natural is only a 20 minutes walk.
 Local buses go from outside the supermarket with a large number of destinations (if you can work them out – they go to the beach and the ferry terminal for Isla de Mujeres).
 Friendly and welcoming staff.
 Well planted grounds around a pool. Plenty of places to sit (with wifi reception).
 Internet signal good and speed fast for most of the day.
 Security boxes in the room (need to get a padlock and pay a deposit at reception).
 Hotel is very clean.
 Flat screen TV.
 Air conditioner in the room – noisy but effective.

NEGATIVES:

 Bathroom small with tight turns. There is a very elderly soap dispenser in the shower.
 Room well used and far from new but not to the point of being tatty or depressing.
 Breakfast basic and tightly controlled: 1 cup of coffee with refills at full price. Coffee didn’t have much flavour.
 Some road noise (hotel is on a busy divided highway)

CONCLUSION

A good basic hotel if you want to stay in town (most people choose to stay at the beach which is a few minutes away via local bus - cost is around 50c US and they are very frequent). However, the hotel isn’t that cheap (I paid $87 a night including tax after shopping around). Slightly further out of town (another 10 minutes walk) there is a new La Quinta – very smart and booked solid well ahead of time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get some road noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Than k you for you comments, they are useful to continue working getting better things for our guests, we have 30 year working and now renewing many of the old things in the hotel. We are in a big avenue but it is not a highway, that’s why we have double glass in the windows of the front building, so all can sleep well. Our breakfast have 10 different choices in a full breakfast. Hotels in Hotel Zone where the beaches are much more expensive than us in downtown. La Quinta is a compete different concept, we want to make our guest fell that they are in Mexico. Thank you for your visit.

Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Wonderful hotel, great staff. Claudia so helpful and sweet. Ladies in the kitchen so quick and happy. All staff smiling and helpful hardworking. Owner makes himself available and is pleasant to deal with. Rooms are clean and spacious. Great TV's Beds are not your typical rock hard Mexican beds, firm but comfy. Pool is wonderful but could use night lighting. Gardens are so lush and green, you would never know you were in the middle of a city. We stayed 3 times. Our roof / window leaked once during a torrential downpour and although not a problem caused by the hotel, they immediately moved us to a better room. Also had a great relaxing massage! Very eco- friendly. I didn't like them smoking just outside the restaurant, should be NON Smoking in all areas.

Room Tip: We enjoyed rooms 24 33 and 32 some rooms have a toilet and shower in separate locations, which i dont like.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lippyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Our deepest gratitude to all our customers who like you, we still visit the rains affect us support it without feeling bad. Waiting recommend us to your friends
thanks
manager:
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a starting point of our holiday. Cheap convenient bus from airport via ADO just a block away. A funky, beautiful garden oasis in the middle of the city. Rooms are basic but clean, lovely patio area to enjoy morning coffee, nice pool, breakfast included in a small restaurant (shoes were optional) had a wonderful poolside nap, no traffic noise. Free wifi was handy as we planned our next adventure, super friendly staff, soooo comfortable I did'nt want to leave. Highly recommended. $62CDN per might with breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks for your comment, it is very important for us. We will continue working to give to our guest the best service we can.
Araceli Dominguez
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the city only a few footsteps from the ADO bus station and the main shopping street (not hotel zone!). Staff is very friendly and helpful, nice choice of breakfast selection, clean and quiet rooms and surrounded by lots of plants and trees in the inner yard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TWald_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are happy we could fill your expectations. Your comments are very important . Thanks you very much for coming,. next time you visit us try our massages they are great and cheap
Araceli Dominguez
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews