We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #48 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If just passing through Cancun, this hotel is great for 1 or 2 nights as it is well located (5 mins on foot from the bus station) & well priced. It has clean, large rooms & hot showers. It's close to the markets in Cancun - tourists handicraft market & local one.
You can get a minibus transfer (yellow transfers) from the airport which will drop you at the door (160 peso) or take the bus & have a 5min walk (63 peso). The bus station is very handy for getting to Playa del Carmen, Tullum or Chitchen Itza if you don't want to take a tour.
I took the advise of other reviewers & had a room at the back on the second floor which was very quiet.
I was en route to Cuba & needed somewhere just for a couple of nights with good access to the airport. Probably if I was holidaying in Mexico for longer I would choose somewhere closer to the beach.

Room Tip: At the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araceli2005, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for you visit, we are glad we fill your expectations and that the choice of being in Eco Hotel El Rey del Caribe was convenient for your purpose. Next time you come tray our massages they are good and cheap. We are not in the beach but we are very well located , and people like you that has to be near everything, this is a perfect place.

See you soon again
Araceli Dominguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    243
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
110
304
61
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is definitely not what you would expect in the city centre of Cancún. There are so many plants, a nice little pool and some sunbeds and hammocks in the yard. The rooms are really big, we even had a small kitchenette. The staff were always very very friendly and helpful. For breakfast you can choose between orange juice, tea or coffe and one of a few plates. Everything else needs to be paid extra. Unfortunately, when there were many guests having breakfast, it took a long time as there was not enough staff. We booked a massage with Julia which was very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We welcome your comments, and will talk with the manager of the restaurant Mrs. Martha, times for breakfast which is freshly prepared and what you ask, it may be hotkake, eggs prepared in different ways (5 difrenets) quesadillas, chilaquiles, oatmeal, fruits etc.. all fresh.
Thanks and hope to visit again
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and i came here for one night stay to travel back to the airport the next morning. This place is an oasis in downtown Cancun! Just outside is everything to your doorstep to great shopping, airport, & beach but inside the hotel feels like a beautiful garden jungle. The natural environment and Myan decor automatically relaxes you to zen. All staff were very helpful & nice!

Room Tip: First floor if large luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for the feedback, everyone in the eco-hotel we have endeavored to create this environment, separating the waste, recycling, saving electricity, saving water and gas. We use solar water heaters, solar clothes dryer and we reuse the water for watering plants. We also have 28% of the toilets are composting, thus reducing the impact on the environment.
attentively
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed one night before traveling home. The hotel is just two blocks from the bus station and it was the oasis that others had said it was with gorgeous gardens and a really peaceful vibe. The room was simple, clean and spacious and the staff are really friendly. I arrived at 6am and they held my bags and until my early check in at 9am. Getting to the beach will only cost you less then 10 pesos each way on the local bus which is a steal and easy. The included breakfast is served in the courtyard and is a great way to start off your day.

Make sure you look at the picture beside your door as this is the secret to finding your room again! The number on the back of your key doesn't help because the numbers at the foot of the door are mayan, which is fine once I realize that but no help to me when I was exhausted. I would bet that is why another traveler said someone tried to get into their room.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street will be quieter. I was right over the reception area which had a door be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flybyinstinct6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comment, Mayan numbers are part of our culture, many people do not know they used a vigesimal system for numbering and only use two different signs plus zero. This represents an advanced even for our time.
MANAGER
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Me and two girls stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights and we were pretty satisfied with our choice. It is conveniently located in a decent and safe neighborhood of downtown Cancun. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. It came with a kitchen and a table with several chairs. The staff were always very friendly and willing to help out. The complementary breakfast was also quite good in our standard. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to stay somewhere other than Hotel Zone in Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks for your comments, in the month of May each year, whale sharks visit our waters, the world's largest fish and a show in their habitat. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED VISIT.
thanks
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for one night before flying home. The hotel has a convenient location to the bus station (for the airport and long distance buses), about a five minute walk. There is also a large supermarket nearby. The beach is twenty minutes away by local bus. Our room was on the first floor, nice and clean, and the breakfast included was tasty. The hotel grounds are nice and green and there's a small pool (which we didn't try).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_and_H_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks a lot for you comments, It was a pleasure to have you as a guest. next time please try our massages they are good and cheap. See you next time.
Araceli Dominguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a lovely, quiet hotel amid the hustle-bustle of Cancun. When I travel I enjoy staying in typical hotels or inns of the country where I am visiting, and this was no exception. The garden is an oasis with a beautiful pool, fountain, shade trees and lovely places to swing in a hammock and listen to the birds or read a book. I enjoyed saying hello to people from Germany, England, Nova Scotia and elsewhere while here. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The owner was gracious and kind, and made me feel like I was a guest in her home. Breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from, including healthy smoothies using fresh fruits. I wouldn't stay another place in Cancun except here. And I look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I stayed on first and second floors, and both rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We wait you with your friends very soon, it was an honor to have you here. Your comments are very important, next time rey a massage, they are very good. See you next year.

Araceli Dominguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#47 of 175 in Cancun
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#82 of 175 in Cancun
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#37 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing