We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation in center of Cancun”
Review of Hotel Tankah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tankah
Ranked #135 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good accomodation in center of Cancun”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were in Cancun during the rain period and Hotal Tankah has all necessery for us, clima, big rooms with equipment according to price and good services with them together position in the center near the ADO and market Mercado 28, close from pub and restaurants. Best deal for private tourists and private fiesta... explore it.

Room Tip: It is not necessery to have good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I am a local guide in Belize. I recently visited Cancun and did Stayed here at Hotel Tankah. Low Budget but WELL-WORTHED. 15 minutes away (walking) from the Bus Terminal. Not in the hotel zone. The Rooms Was Clean. the Receptionist was courteous and did answered my questions as to how I can move around. I recommend this hotel. but it does not accept any credit card payments. on a side note, right infront of this hotel there is a local market where u can get reason prizes for souvenirs, and can get great deals on tours. and if u happen to be by the little market, ( el Mercado 38 ) look our for Ceasar, the local tour agent to give you better deal as oppose to booking a tour at the hotel zone, where the prizes would be much higher, for the same tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingDavidBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corporativo H, Manager at Hotel Tankah, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review! As a Budget hotel trying to offer clean loding at reasonable prices it is always good to read words like yours. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a very basic hotel catering to Mexican travelers. It is far from margaritaville, but very inexpensive, very clean, and serves breakfast in the courtyard. If you are not going to Cancun to stay on the beach, are en route elsewhere or want to see more of the real city than the tourist version, this is an excellent value. The rooms have air conditioning. There is a good taqueria nearby, and a market across the street, but no nightlife in the area. Keep in mind that when you book through a service, you are booking a reservation, and must pay when you arrive - it will not be charged to your card. Their credit card machine was broken, so we had to pay cash.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Texastourist78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for one night in Feb. 2011. Our flight arrived in Cancun in the evening and we were planning to head out of Cancun with our rental car the next day. We are budget travelers who are pretty much the polar opposite of the Cancun hotel zone type so our expectations aren't super high.

This is a comfortable, basic, clean hotel; it doesn't have a lot of frills, but at approximately $30 a night it was fine. The only negative thing I can report is that I found the bed too hard to get a very good night's sleep on. Otherwise, it was fine- the staff were friendly (my partner is Mexican and we are both fluent in Spanish, so that probably helped); our room and bathroom were very clean; our room was spacious and had cable TV; there was free secure parking for our rental car; and we were across the street from a market area that had restaurants and stalls with lots of stuff for sale. We did see some guests eating in the common dining area in the morning (it looked like a free continental breakfast) but we preferred to head across to the street to some of the market stalls for breakfast.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a long-term stay, just because the location isn't very interesting, and the beds are terribly comfortable (at least ours wasn't). But for one night, it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank special_j25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We arrived to Cancun at midnight. We had been told they'd be waiting for us until midnight, but apparently the reception is open 24-7. The people in the reception do not speak English even though you can communicate with them via email in English. We had booked at HostelBookers for $20 US per night but upon arrival the guy told that it would be $60 US per night. Luckily we got into agreement even though my Spanish is very limited. The room was basic but for the price we paid it was excellent as it came with AC. Potable water was available on all floors in the corridor area free of charge. The location is OK but not great. You can find restaurants within walking distance and there's a sort of mall next to the hotel (Plaza Bonita). I would recommend this one for $20 a night but not for $60.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paavalimuurahainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The location in downtown Cancun is a convenient alternative to the far higher priced beach hotels. The rooms are basic and clean. This hotel is best used as a base for exploring Cancun, or if passing through enroute to other destinations on the peninsula.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BeantownTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 January 2005

My husband and I stayed to the Hotel Tankah during a recent trip to Cancun. We found the hotel exceptional in all areas except one-there is no beach outside the front door. If that is important to you and you don't mind paying $200-$300 a night, you should stay in the Hotel Zone. Hotel Tankah is about 10 minutes from the beach by bus and close to all other services. There are some excellent restaurants in the area within a few blocks-!00% Natural, Labyna , Habichuela, and many more. The hotel was clean, quiet and the staff were very helpful. The manager, Aaron, and his wife, Mimi, who handles reservations, speak English. And we had no trouble communicating with the rest of the staff in our limited Spanish. The rooms were reasonably priced, there was abundant hot water (not always the case in economy hotels in Mexico), the beds were comfortable. We would recommend the hotel to anyone interested in an economy hotel in Cancun.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#126 of 175 in Cancun
41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#155 of 175 in Cancun
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#131 of 175 in Cancun
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#101 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alux Cancun
Hotel Alux Cancun
#148 of 175 in Cancun
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tankah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tankah

Property: Hotel Tankah
Address: Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tankah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tankah is located a few steps away from the Market 28, one of the largest handcraft markets in the city. We offer rooms that are clean and basic. The ideal location for the independent traveller or business man who is looking for a place for a hot shower and a clean bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tankah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankah Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing