We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for layover”
Review of Grand City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand City Hotel
Ranked #91 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We agree with all the positive reviews about the Grand City. As long as you don't expect a Mega resort, or in the Hotel zone, this is an excellent choice in Cancun. It is close to the Bus Depot if you are travelling within the Yucatan (we're returning from Merida) and is close to several small restaurants and a few bars. Our room was well-appointed and very clean, the wifi signal was strong, and the restaurant and small pool were clean and quiet. It is on a busy street, but we had very little traffics noise in our room. If you want a nice room for a layover before flying home, or want to be the Bus Depot, this is a good, economical choice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skihockeynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

A modern hotel. That means large bathroom with hot and large stream of water, simple yet decent breakfast, internet access for free (although the signal isn't very strong, it just about works well enough), night time reception and a fridge. Stuff like the bus station and certainly the beach aren't very near bye, but the taxis are aplenty and very cheap (certainly after negotiating). There's a very loud, very popular bar on the street corner, which depending on your room location might get you up all night. Ask for the one farthest away if you come to sleep. Beds are quite hard but not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erickok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we stayed there for only one night and arrived after midnight, so didn't really get to use all of the amenities in the hotel. The room was quite spacious, clean and nice. And the location was great if you don't want to stay in the beach area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed in the Grand City Hotel twice, and both times have been very pleased with the cleanliness, service, and accommodating staff. The food in the little café is delicious - particularly the chicken enchiladas! The café shuts in the afternoon though, so you can't eat here in the evening.

The hotel has a small pool, and the rooms are all round a little courtyard with the pool and trees, with loungers. It's all very contained, but very peaceful and relaxing. An ideal stop-over place if you have arrived at Cancun airport but are heading off elsewhere in Mexico (as we were).

Room Tip: There is a bikers bar that occasionally plays loud music late at night. It didn't happen the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We wanted somewhere to stay overnight. We were not interested in the beach. This place was within walking distance of Market 47 (supposing you don't get lost) and of the old town center. The staff bent over backwards to help us with things like finding somewhere to eat, ordering taxis, drying our shoes etc. This was greatly appreciated.
Our room was at the far end. It was so noisy during the night. It sounded like we were right next to a night-club with a band playing until the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the far end if you don't want to be kept away by the noise from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

As long as you don't need the beach outside your room, you will enjoy your stay at the Grand City. The staff was great, the rooms were spacious. In the room was a microwave, safe and mini-refridge. Also a coffee machine. ( they provide the coffee and a bottle of water to make it).

There are no elevators here but only two floors, so not a problem. The air worked great and the hot water was good. The only negative, sometimes it took a while for the water to get hot. Once it did, the shower was good.

The bed was nice and firm, the room was very clean. There's a small pool and restaurant that I didn't try during my stay.

Since the hotel is located downtown, I took the bus to the beach the two days it didn't rain. The bus stop is only half a block away. The Sam's club and walmart is one long block away. Many good eating places in downtown which I usually walked to, but if you need a taxi from the hotel, it was usually $30.00 mx anywhere downtown.

When I don't need the pampering of the resorts, this is where I'll stay in Cancun, at a 1/3 the cost of the resorts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario M, Gerente at Grand City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are grateful for valuable comments.
Regarding the hot water, we have implemented a machine that allows recirculating hot water arrives more rapidly. Also put sticker red and blue in the single lever to indicate where to direct the key to get the hot water.
I believe these actions will improve our quality of service to you.
The entire team of Grand City Hotel Cancun will send warm greetings, wishing back soon and serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while doing day-tours around yucatan. Very happy with the place, had everything we would have hoped for when booking it.
We stayed in a junior suite, the room was basic but modern, spacious and clean. A bit noisy at times due to live music next door, but shouldn't have been a problem for other rooms as our one was the only room with windows facing out on the street.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, some did not have much english but we always managed to get across what we needed.
The hotel is located close to a lively downtown area, it feels safe but you won't see many holiday-makers around. Its fairly far from the main Kukulcan blvd, you'd need a taxi to get there.
Grand city hotel has a tiny pool (looks bigger in the pictures), probably ok for a quick dip in the hot day but not really suitable for anything else. There is an outside bar area that was closed in June but opened up and served breakfast every morning. Food looked good but we would usually go to a nearest convenience store to get juices, yohgurts and pastries instead.

Overall, good honest clean budget accommodation. Not great for a long-term stay but a perfect harbour for a couple of days while exploring the yucatan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 177 in Cancun
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 177 in Cancun
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#81 of 177 in Cancun
611 reviews
1.4 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#50 of 177 in Cancun
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#83 of 177 in Cancun
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand City Hotel

Address: Av. Yaxchilan 154 Manzana 17 SM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand City Hotel has a strategic and privileged location for all executive or families who require proximity to work centers, financial institutions, shops, restaurants and services close to stadiums, minutes from the hotel zone to receive visitors on vacation, which allows them to enjoy a hotel that will provide comfort and relaxation with a warm service.We are a 4 star hotel and we have over 300 m2 of beautiful gardens, pool and our new gourmet coffee shop "cafe Naay" where you can choose to indulge in any of our dishes or snack, rest and relax, or use it as a nice area work, and to combine with family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing