We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,669)
Filter reviews
5,669 results
Traveller rating
3,663
1,299
395
148
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,663
1,299
395
148
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip restaurantadult villassports barcappuccino barspecialty restaurantsjacuzzi on the balconykrystal restauranttamalessteakadults only sectionocean viewisla mujeresdays in advancemain buildingmain buffetliquor dispenserbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
2,630 - 2,635 of 5,669 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Although weather channel predicted last week of August as cloud covered and rainy, we had sunshine. Hot but not excessive. Nice breeze. White sandy beach. Took 15 minute cruise to island and rented golf cart. Toured 3 miles of island. Many golf carts. Shop around. Don't expect to set speed records. Food was excellent! 4-6 buffet tables per meal plus 4 a-la-carte restaurants. Everything included. We took 30-minute kitchen tour. Very informative to see how a big kitchen works. Thanks Rocques! This RIU is two years old ... Nouveau styling ... Purples. Most important WIFI in the room!

Room Tip: Get there early so you can change rooms to suit your needs. Sunwing provides bus service. We take a cab but it's not cheap.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tmbrunk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was stunning. The food was great, the service was amazing. The rooms were so spacious with a jacuzzi inside and outside of our room. Very hard working staff, immaculate hotel. My boyfriend and I would definitely go back their. Keep up the good work riu!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This resort was really awesome!! I went there for my honeymoon and we had a amazing time!
The buffet Las Olas had really nice food and we especially liked Juanita one of our servers that served us every dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend from London stayed for 7 nights from 14th - 21st of August, so all we intended to do was just sit by the pool and enjoy what the hotel had to offer until we flew home. From reviews we chose this hotel and we're so glad we did, both of us had a superb week and would love to come back again.

From arrival the reception staff were very kind, especially Danko who greeted us. Welcome glass of bubbly did us nicely. We stayed in the Villa just for adults and had a second floor room looking at the sea which gave us a great view of the grounds but also a glimpse of the sea, I must say we were upgraded upon arrival which made us so happy so we can't complain from maybe having a high sea view in the main hotel to the Villa view. What sets the Villa different is that you have a private adult only pool, jacuzzi on the balcony (amazing) and also a restaurant that caters only to Villa guests which i'll mention later. Room amenities were different class and the added 4 spirit bar in the room was a nice touch. Air conditioning superb, so was the king sized bed and the shower / bathroom. The adult only pool was always great to relax by and with a man taking drink orders as you lay there you felt very well looked after. So big shout out to Fili who met our needs for constant Banana Mama's and Margaritas he was very friendly and if we go back hope to meet again. As its adult only there we're a lot of couples staying and we met some great people and enjoyed a few drinks or 5 in their company each evening as the day wound down. There is also a private beach for hotel guests only which is white sand and clear sea up to the waist. A nice refreshing cold dip in the scorching heat. Speaking of weather since it's supposed to be the wet season we only had one quick rain storm during the night whilst we slept with 90 degree heat every day with little clouds. Perfect weather since before we left the weather everyday looked like thunderstorms.

So obviously the drinks were great and many different varieties to sample, but the food choices all week... amazing. We ate mainly at the buffet for lunch which had a vast array of hot and cold food but they also have a BBQ which is pool side for lunch if you want a change. There are also some restaurants which have their own themes for example Mexican, Japanese and Steak but are all reservation only. We tried the Mexican one night but we're more impressed by the Mexican theme night at the buffet in the evening. The evening buffet was also very good and whatever you fancy would be there. The seafood night was a chance for me to try Lobster which I wouldn't normally be able to do without spending a fortune. But the best Restaurant we had was the Adult Kulinarium, I had the most amazing 4 course meal which included a superb Lobster soup and Steak for the main, I normally don't eat beef but this was simply divine. We which we stayed longer so we could go to that again!

With the number of bars across the resort and the evening entertainment in the stage area there was plenty to do after dinner and before retiring to bed.

Thomson included taxi transfer to and from the hotel which was just for us and very quick and easy.

A side note on outside the hotel; The Thomson rep was very nice and gave us all sorts of options for us to purchase including Dolphin swimming etc but with 6 full days we just wanted to relax, if we stayed longer we would have taken one of the many excursion offers given.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view but if travelling as a couple the Villas for an adult only experience, no kids around at all.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank eggsoakley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I must say that I am SHOCKED at the negative reviews posted! My husband and I haven't been back a week and are already planning our return trip! We stayed in room 2121 and couldn't disagree more with the prior comment regarding the room. Regarding the smell, yes, there is a musty smell but that is what you get when you stay near the ocean and in an environment as humid as Mexico! To expect anything less is ignorant! I've been to several resorts in Mexico and other areas and the smell is the same.... Musty, not fishy!! With that said, there is nothing offensive about the smell, it's just different, but normal.

The room was beautiful. It was immaculately cleaned EVERY DAY! Our mini-fridge was stocked daily with a variety of drinks, and the fridge worked just fine! Our alcohol dispenser was also kept full and if we needed anything, it was sent to our room very quickly! The towels and bedding were changed daily and were of excellent quality. We were also provided with white, fluffy robes which were perfect for our spa that was on the balcony!

Now, let's talk about the food! The buffet was top notch and the service was outstanding! The only negative about the food was the Japanese restaurant. It was not good and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone! Also, the room service menu could stand to add a few more selections as it was fairly limited, but the food was excellent! Other than that, we were very impressed with the
food! We were never hungry!

Since we stayed in the VIP Villas, we had a private pool which could only be used by others staying in the Villas. We appreciated having an area where children were not allowed and spent most of our time there. Waiters constantly made sure we had everythibg we needed from food to drink, it was wonderful! The other pools were beautiful as well, we just wanted to be in an area free of children. It was odd that the swim up bar allowed children and had it been for adults only, we probably would've spent more time there. But like I said, our private pool provided us with everything we needed so we missed out on nothing!

The staff was polite and very kind and always made us feel special! We signed up for a free photoshoot on the beach and came home with the most beautiful photos I have ever seen! I highly suggest this to everyone, you won't regret it!

On my birthday the hotel put a bottle of tequila in our room with a kind card... Very nice!

The grounds were beautiful and our trip met all of our
expectations! If you are looking for a true all inclusive (no small print) resort that is beautiful, clean, relaxing, provides excellent service and has food to die for..... Then this place is for you! P. S. No stomach issues!!! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindylynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews