We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“playboy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“playboy”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

the location of the hotel is ideal for beach goers and sunbathing,service and cleanliness was good. the room a/c was loud and on all night pillows were hard. Almost everyone spoke English ,the highlight was being able to walk to the shops.

Room Tip: higher floors better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Feedback is very important for us since it enables us to make positive changes where needed.

As you mention, Sunset Royal is located in one of the finest sections of the Cancún hotel zone, and continues to be a first choice for travelers who prefer a first-class beach resort.

We will be happy to welcome you back and please follow us on Facebook for updated resort and destination information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    955
    377
    166
    230
See reviews for
1,156
856
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Spa Hotel, which is a sister hotel of this one. We took a free shuttle to this hotel to check out the beach and pool. It is fantastic. The beach is amazing and worth the trip. However, it is a huge hotel and has a ton of people there using the pool, beach, restaurants, etc..We had lunch at the pool and it was pretty less than average and expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriss z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy the services that Sunset Group hotels has to offer. There is no better way for us to improve than through communication with our guests, and we truly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First I have to say the folks working at Sunset Royal are all very, very nice and helpful. They have a program helping sea turtles that was fascinating. We got to help launch the baby turtles one night. However, I am sorry to say the food in both restaurants for all meals was bad news. Whether it was buffet or ordering off the menu I would not stay here again because of the really bad food. A week spent on a tropical beach should have offered at least excellent fish. Not so, every food item was bad. I love donuts for breakfast when I'm on vacation and even those were bad news. I stuck to the Yoplait yogurt for breakfast. With that said and it would take too long to advise on each dish I must say the tacos and quesadillas they made around the pool were really good and the guacamole was excellent by the pool. The beverages were good also. Every evening I went out on the beach for a short look at the sea and stars. Be careful there are no lights going down the steps to the beach and it's dark. I wore mosquito repellent in the evening because of this. The last night we were there I decided that wasn't necessary and went to bed without. What a surprise to wake up with bites all over both my legs, what was in that bed? I hadn't gone out on the beach that night so the bites were not from outside. I loved the ruins, but we were told we would be transported in a bus with a/c and water and other drinks. Well, it was a 12 passenger van with a/c that didn't work and turned into a sweat bath with no drinks. Fortunately we had taken water with us. The sack lunch was bad. Same old food problem. This is all sad as it could be a great place. Kudos to the staff. I wouldn't stay here again. PS The Captain Hook pirate ship show and dinner was fabulously entertaining.

Room Tip: There are no decks on the rooms around the pool to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always great to receive positive comments on our staff and we are happy to read that they provided you with a personalized service. I will be sure to share this with the them.

We are delighted you had the opportunity to participate in our turtle release program. Eight species of sea turtles that the planet has, seven reach the Mexican coast of the Pacific, Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean Sea, "no other country has that fortune",

We have shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage Manager, and we can assure you that he is taking your recommendations seriously.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, we also were caught in the timeshare presentation trap. We we're asked to dedicate 90 minutes for a presentation and finally we spent more than 5 hours, in a location out of the hotel. We really felt deceived.
After this trap, nothing else looks ok.
Be careful with these guys.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Participation in our residence club presentation is meant to be fun and informative, we have however informed our senior staff about your experience.

We strive to provide a memorable vacation experience to all guests. We regret to hear this was not your experience and hope you will give us a second chance to provide you with a vacation such as the ones we have become known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Five of us had a great time at this resort - food and activities were wonderful. Roberto, provided us with coffee and pastries each morning. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Fernando did a very good job of providing a scuba refresher course in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifeloverWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your time at our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; that is the goal and commitment of every team member at our resort. Thank you for your kind words for our team, especially Roberto and Fernando, they will be thrilled.

We hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've been to the Royal Sunset & Sunset Lagoon several times over the past 15 years. First as guests of owners, a few times through expedia & a few times directly through the hotel. We love both places. The staff is awesome. They make it fun. Lots of excursions to ruins, xel-ha, xcaret, and so on. Huge list of affordable trips. Games, water aerobics. Great kids staff, lots of families, people of all ages. Not a lot of dining options but they make every meal an event. Buffet has everything you could possibly want, plus the grill with special orders. We love the ability to go back and forth between the 2 hotels for various entertainment or dining options. The ocean if right in front of the Royal & lots of fun.. On our last visit the Lagoon was being renovated, so a little bummer. You can walk down the street or take a bus or taxi to endless shopping options. Night clubs are within walking distance & the staff plans nights out at all the popular clubs and help you get acclimated to the club before they head home after a 14 hour day of entertaining & babysitting their guest. TIP everyone who provides you with a service same as in US. You WILL e treated like royalty. CAUTION THIS IS A TIMESHARE HOTEL.... You will be pressured, highly pressured to buy in.

Room Tip: Get the all-inclusive. Rates vary, keep searching for he deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers through this media.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience during your stay at Sunset Royal; your perceptions with regards to our services helps us to improve and maintain the level of service that distinguishes us. Your comments will be transmitted to the all those who helped build your memorable experiences.

As a repeat guest, we can't thank you enough for continually visiting us and look forward to exceeding your expectations for many trips to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Royal sunset was outstanding. The staff was super friendly and remembered my whole family by name. Eddie was especially great to go out of his way to find us an make sure we were having a good time. Very clean, great food, and comfortable rooms. The pool area is great for relaxing or playing a competitive game of volleyball. The spa was excellent and the overall service at the resort was amazing. I loved the music they played at dinner in both restaurants. Does anyone know the name of saxophone song they play? It played almost every night at dinner and I loved it but can't find out what it's called. But anyway, great resort! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so glad that you chose to stay here with us and that you received excellent service from our Team. We will be happy to share your kind compliments with them.

It is so good to read that you especially enjoyed the music at dinner and we are glad to share this link with you: https://soundcloud.com/flaulipe, where you can find different songs played by Felipe.

We can´t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#84 of 175 in Cancun
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#58 of 175 in Cancun
2,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 175 in Cancun
2,917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran caribe resort
Gran caribe resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing