We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me, my family and friends go to Royal Sunset Hotel in Cancun every year. Besides the view, the sun, the food the water...people that work at the restaurants like Guadalupe and Axel make the vacation the perfect vacation! The staff is friendly and make you feel like queen and kings! Whatever we wanted we got from the hotel staff. To our surprize the hotel has free wifi and free international calls to USA! The family that sings in the lobby at the hotel are wonderful and makes the evenings fly...like haven! I can hardly wait next spring brake to warm up in the sun and have someone else cook for me!

Room Tip: you want a room with a view if you spend time in the room otherwise it doesn't matter you will h...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmencarminadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Royal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

The resort is kept immaculate! Workers were continually scrubbing, picking up after guests, and wiping away the fingerprints my kids were leaving everywhere! Our 2 bedroom suite faced the ocean on one side and the pool on the other. Absolutely beautiful. Kid friendly. Kids woke early, popped on the flat screen; we slept in and didn't even hear our 4 boys on the opposite side of the condo. We stayed during spring break season, but didn't experience any "spring breakers" partying. Thank you Geny for cleaning our room every day and thank you Guadalupe for serving our breakfast each day. Sunset has the hardest workers on the planet!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was at this hotel for one week and enjoyed my stay. All the employees are nice and always ready if you need something very clean and amazing beach facilities. Special thanks to Orbe at the reception very good pearson whoalways have a nice word to say. the housekeeping with Rosa Maria who was taking care of the room and Sandra who received us and took good care of us. And also Marisol at activities whos smile is contagious. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageur176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The room was magnificent & cleaned spotless everymorning. The beach was well maintained & the water was too beautiful. The bartenders Hector, Victor, agustin & eva were phenomenal with their service. I'll defiantly be staying at this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkylerMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

IT was my first time in Cancun, my first time at Royal Sunset . What I can say is I will never forget this amazing vacation! ROYAL SUNSET is 100% the place to be ! the hotel is very clean , rooms are very spacious, beds are very comfortable. Everything is high class ! On my 10 days stay at Royal Sunset I was very impressed by the amazing stuff : Marisol ( THE BEST ) ,Danny ,Esteban, Felipe , Guadalupe, and many more ! at the Marina : Ellie a great person ! Many thanks to all of u ! We felt special because all of u and we could not ask for better service ! ROYAL SUNSET are u ready for our return next year ? :) THANK U FOR AN AMAZING VACATION !

Room Tip: rooms on the 7th floor ocean view are the best !
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for one week- beginning of April 2014- it was excellent. Would recommend to anyone. Great location, affiliated with other resorts that you can take shuttles to. Close to everything - walking distance to Flea Market, Coco Bongo, Malls, easy access to local transport-just catch a bus. Felt very safe. Beach is amazing!! Difficult to swim in because of the strong waves coming in but you can walk for miles. The pool area is very nice. Great resort- you can do lots or just stay pool side or enjoy the beach. Will definately stay here again but for 2 weeks next time. One week felt too short however it was better than not going at all. Loved our vacation and stay at the Royal Sunset!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are configured around the restaurant so if you are a light sleeper the noise from the clan...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laverne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

It is a pleasure for us to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Resting on one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the Mexican Caribbean, Sunset Royal Resort is an ideal place for a Cancún vacation, as you were able to experience.

We thank you for your candid review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and continue to create good memories for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from our 14 day vacation at the Royal Sunset in Cancun. This was my 2nd visit and again I was not disappointed. The grounds and the hotel are very clean and well maintained, the room (205) could use a little update, same as 10 years ago.
The beach is breathtaking.
The hostess Monica was very friendly and Gerardo is a gem, he is friendly,very helpful and always has a smile on his face.
The BEST are the are the waiters, Guadalupe is the greatest, he goes above and beyond to please you. Ricardo, Daniel, Ruben and Samy were fantastic, outstanding service. They make you feel so special, could not ask for better service.
The food was great, no complaints.
The nightly entertainment is outstanding and the team, especially Danny, are excellent in what they doing. Hard working.
The jewel at the desk is Cesar, always friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are very proud to offer friendly service and clean, comfortable facilities for our guests. It means a lot that you took the time to recognize the efforts of the great team we have.

We cannot wait to have the opportunito to welcome you back for another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#82 of 176 in Cancun
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#54 of 176 in Cancun
2,737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#73 of 176 in Cancun
2,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran caribe resort
Gran caribe resort
#30 of 176 in Cancun
8,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £121 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing