We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service..beach..all inclusive...GREAT...what more could you ask for??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
1 review
“Service..beach..all inclusive...GREAT...what more could you ask for??”
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I went with an adult only group and was very happy with the service, food, and alcohol we received. Marco and Arcenio (waiters) were amazing to accomodate our needs. Yes...we did tip them very well, but they always made sure that there was enough alcohol in our drinks:) and we had what we wanted. There were also activity directors that were very helpful on the places to go out to and made sure that when we went out with them that we were taken care of. I would definitly stay with this hotel again. We did have to take a 90 min. tour that only turned into 2 hrs and it was not hard-core pressure, but you need to be consistent in your decision to get things moving. The view is to die for and I believe that the location of this hotel tops many of the other hotel sites.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 30thBDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    954
    376
    165
    230
See reviews for
1,155
855
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIchigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2009

every thing u could want!

  • Liked — food,sun, booze
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

This hotel is the worst of four that I have stayed at in Cancun. I stayed there for a week with eight friends.

Upon check-in, they discovered that we were not time-share members. We then spent an hour for the check-in process as they tried to convince us to attend a time share meeting.

That first night, three friends stepped out onto the balcony, closed the door... and got locked out. They were out there for an hour shouting for help before they were discovered. We complained about this on three separate occasions to maintenance, and it was not fixed.

One of the rooms had a broken shower that would run for several minutes, shut off for thirty seconds, and then begin running again. This was also not fixed, despite three complaints.

The food and drinks that we sampled were of low quality. Staff was frequently unhelpful (much more so than other hotels in Cancun that I have visited).

The rooms themselves were fairly clean, and the view from the rooms is lovely. Location is also good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Incredibly pushy sales people and problems with rooms that were never fixed
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 29SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2009
Dear guest thank you for you review, Sunset Royal would like to address some of your points. In reference to the terrace door incident we apologize for what happened, on the other hand there is a sign that lets guests know about the automatic door lock to prevent this issue in the future we will make these signs more visible. The reason for the automatic door locks is for security, especially on the first level floor, secondly the automatic lock is connected to the air conditioner in order to maintain the desired temperature and prevent condensation the terrace door should be closed.

Now in reference to your comments about the shower we have a system in the hotel where any report about maintenance that is opened must be closed within a certain amount of time, this makes for efficient complaints management. In this case there is only one report from your room and it was addressed. There is no record of any more complaints about the shower situation.

In reference to the offers made by our representatives upon check in, it is to let you know of the discounts on tours that are available for you. As you are very well aware the presentation is optional. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Worst experience of my life. Their time share is a scam, will say and promise anything with their high pressure sales pitches and the actual contract will contain nothing that was promised. We signed up, but after reading over the contract we saw what a BAD deal it was and decided to cancel. We went back to them to cancel a few days later and they said we could not. (even though the contract stated we could cancel within 5 days. It is actually a law in Mexico to have a 5-day grace period after buying a time share that cannot be revoked, but they tried to deceive us into signing a waiver on that policy which is actually ILLEGAL) We were told we will lose our deposit.and they were very rude and unprofessional, so we left. We are dealing with the credit card company to get the charges reversed and with Profeco (Mexican agancy) to get the contract cancelled. We will never visit Cancun again, will never have anything to do with Royal Sunset, Sunset Lagoon or any company working in partner with them and will never ever entertain the notion of purchasing a time share again. I can't believe they are allowed to operate a business and take advantage to tourists. Please contact me if have any more questions or had a similiar experience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Timeshare scam
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SunsetisaScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we as Sunset Group would like to address your issues regarding your purchase. We as a group in order to sell our product are often able to enhance the offer, such extra promises are put in writing and attached to the contract as addendums; all of this information is again reviewed in our verification office after the purchase to ensure that everything that was promised is put in writing and placed in the contract. We sit with you and explain every point of the contract to ensure your satisfaction before you sign.

By Mexican law you do have 5 days to cancel your purchase in which we request you to provide written request. If you indeed placed such request we ask that you come forward with this information to the Sunset Group Customer Services Department, you will be able to find their contact details in your welcome kit. This website is for people that are travelling to the hotel and are seeking information about the property itself; we as Sunset Royal do not feel that you have placed an accurate rating, considering you are upset about your decision to purchase. We invite other members to contact the member support service line with any questions about their membership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Our stay was excellent. We started out at another resort, but this 4 star resort was a dive. Upon arriving at the Royal Sunset we were greeted by friendly accomodating staff. Everyone from the room attendant to the waiters were friendly, accomodating and efficient. I highly recommend this resort to anyone and everyone.

  • Liked — The staff friendliness and value for service
  • Disliked — the eyesore next door
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seadog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

My mother-in-law had gotten us a 4-night stay at the hotel as a result of telemarketing with the understanding that we were supposed to attend a 90 minute sales presentation about the resort on our second day there. We were surprised to find that the room was clean and pretty decent with a view of the laguna but that was the only nice thing about this hotel. The staff were horribly rude starting with the receptionist that checked us in. We didn't sign up for the all-inclusive plan (thankfully!!!) and when we went to find something to eat at 9:30 on the night we arrived, our only options were either a very noisy tent with a $39/person buffet dinner or a snack bar by the pool. We chose the snack bar and waited for 15 minutes for someone to show up and take our order...noone ever came out!!! So we walked to the nearest shopping center and ate at Chilli's (not exactly our idea of an authentic Mexican meal). The beach at the hotel was tiny and the pool equally as small and overpopulated. The bar in the reception area was always full of loud drunk people, so if this is your idea of a good time, you might like this hotel. We absolutely HATED it and hated how commercial and Americanized Cancun is and even though we had our last night paid for at the Sunset Royal, we left and headed for Playa del Carmen which is soooo much better and nicer!!!
Oh, and the whole 90-minute sales pitch....get ready for a full day (ours was 5 hours) of listening to sleezy, pushy, yucky sales people. Our actual "tour" guide was very nice which is why we felt like sticking with him through the entire tour but once we got into the sales room, it was an absolute nightmare. We had three different people try to convince us to buy and they just would not give up until we finally got up from the table and left. So glad we didn't fall for their scheme!!!
I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a nice and relaxing vacation in authentic Mexico. Escape Cancun as soon as possible....the hour drive south to Playa del Carmen is worth your time

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
12 Thank Boston67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

JOYCE who works with the SUNSET ROYAL RESORT activities / entertainment group made our vacation as enjoyable as possible at this resort. Joyce went out of her was to accommodate any guest as best as she could. During a typical day she worked with the many - many kids at the hotel and in the evening she would helped with the buffet dinner show. For the late night crowd, she helped guests arrange night club fun and would even escort the guest to the local hot spots. Oh, you got to visit Coco Bongos! This gal needs to be at a “real” 4 or 5 star hotel. Ok, now about the resort / hotel. I have been to Cancun many times. This time I bought our stay on the internet for $689.00, (air fare not included) for 6 days 5 night plus $445.00 for an extra person. Seemed like a good deal as long as you are aware that you will be attending a 90 minute (really a 3 hour) time share presentation. We were picked up at the airport with a hotel shuttle van right away with only two other couples, which was nice. Once we arrived at our hotel around 7 pm, we were given a quick tour of main lobby area, a fairly quick checked in and then asked to book a time for the required time share presentation before heading to our room. The bell boy escorted us to our room #201. Avoid this room. The room was a typical hotel size room, looked clean but had a very musty type smell. Soon after settling in to our room, we discovered the bath tub drain was plugged up, problems with the sink faucet and Oh, of course the A/C did not cool the room below 82 F., and the vibration noise which it made helped make the room more uncomfortable to be in especially in the evening. Who needs sleep anyhow in Cancun? As for the beds, they were very uncomfortable, the kind were your body aches and lower back kinda hurts when you get up, but we didn’t plan on staying in the room much anyhow. We were told the hotel was booked up so we could not change rooms. They sent up a couple guys from the maintenance crew and fixed the faucet but the drain and A/C apparently was unfixable. The room all-inclusive amenities consists of the filling the refrigerator once a day with 4 cheap beers, 4 soda pops, 4 small water bottles, 3 small juice bottles, 1 small bag of chips and a bag of peanuts. NO hard liquor at all. Next was our dinner experience. The two hotel restaurants were booked two days out from hotel guest not wanting to eat at the buffet. We had to tip the hostess $20.00 to seat us with-out reservations. We ate at the Italian restaurant the first night. This restaurant is located in an indoor open common area just outside the hotel room doors, very private, Not... Food was Ok, wine was bad. The other restaurant offered a one time steak & lobster dinner for each hotel all inclusive guest again with reservations. Not a bad dinner. Not much else offered though if you are not a lobster eater. This restaurant is where you will wait, with the crowd, for a table for breakfast and lunch meals. The next morning we did our obligation and went to the time-share presentation. We had a very nice middle age man trying to sell us the time share. After just over 3 hours of listening, being given probably the only good drinks we had at this hotel and being ganged up on by two other sales staff members we finally had enough and asked to leave. We were asked to stop at two other rooms on our way out, one to give our opinion to an independent time share someone and to the assistant hotel manager, both of which asked if were interested in buying a future ten week vacation package that can be used over the next ten years for seven thousand dollars, not the time share. I don’t think so. Will it ever end? Finally, around noon we were ready to swim and have some fun so we set out to get a drink by the pool. The pool was too small for the hotel size and full of kids playing. The beach area was open, pretty nice and probably one of the best in that area. Getting a drink was a slow process. Getting a drink with alcohol we could recognize just didn’t happen. Bailey’s on the rocks straight out of the bottle was the only drink we were able to match the drink with the name. A Mai Tai at the pool bar was punch with what ever was handy. Down on the Beach don’t expect any service. If a waiter happens to wander by do yourself a favor, go get the drinks yourself, it will be much faster. Tipping right away or at any time to get the service does not work at this resort. The pool food service in minimal, hamburgers, chips and quesada’s on request. The hotel Room service was slow and the food was not the best. The dinner buffet was pretty plain and if you are not there with-in the first hour expect to the food to be pretty much picked over. The dinner theater was a nice attempt at killing time but not worth sticking around for if you are over the age of ten. We went twice during our stay and that was enough. SO, to sum up, what you get at this “3 star” hotel named as a resort is an all-inclusive bracelet that allows you to all the food and drinks you want during “open hours”. There are two restaurants and a pool snack bar. The food is average at best. There are two bars one by the pool and one in the lobby, both are very-very small. The bar in the lobby has only five or six seats around it and there are a few sofas in the lobby area and it typically did not open until late afternoon. We did get hotel transfers to and from the hotel, two 30 minute massages, one 55 minute massage, one each steak and lobster dinner and a $100.00 dollar resort voucher to use for resort activities at their sister resort located 5 minutes away in the lagoon area. If you don’t expect to hang around a lot at your hotel in Cancun and can put up with daily hotel inconveniences this is the place for you. I personally am willing to pay a tad more next time for my family to stay in a better place and enjoy the entire experience. This "hotel" is no resort and is a 3 star at best.

  • Liked — Great Beach, Good location to night club activities
  • Disliked — The fact that this is a hotel called a resort, misleading...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Clarson812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2009
Dear guest thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you pointed out the good things you enjoyed as well the things that you felt needed work. In reference to the comments regarding the room our beds are standard hotel beds that have a firm mattress.

Regarding the food service we have since your stay hired a new executive chef and we have noticed improvements in the food comments. Regarding the beverages we use the international standards which is one ounce per drink, unless otherwise requested by the guest.

Regarding your comments about the wait staff by the pool or by the beach, luckily the Sunset Resort beach has a top rating. Unlike other beaches there is plenty of white sand,, therefore guests who sit way at the end may be a little far away from the pool bar, it make take a little longer for the waiter to get out there. Once again we appreciate your comments and hope to have you as a future guest with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#57 of 175 in Cancun
2,666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran caribe resort
Gran caribe resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing