We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My husband and just returned from our 2 week stay at the Royal Sunset Hotel in Cancun Mexico
We stayed in a 1 bedroom which was spacious with 2 bathrooms.
it had a excellent view of the city and lagoon and excellent night shades for sleeping in.
The furniture was very out dated and damaged looking and the walls needed repainting and re caulking.The beds were very uncomfortable and we both woke up with neck/back aches.
The food was so so but the service was excellent.
The beach and pool were beautiful.
Our all inclusive was agreed to be $95.00 per person per night and upon check in was demanded we pay up front which we did.
Upon check out they demanded another $160.00 as they said the price went up the day after we checked in.
I felt the price negotiated up front should be honored without any sudden price changes not agreed upon upfront.
I overheard a number of other customers who got treated in a similar unfavorable manor of being charged extra funds after the fact.
For that major reason I will not be returning back to Sunset
Royal as I find their business practices objectionable.
I further will be attempting to get my money returned via charge back for the overcharge.

Sharon Harris
Vancouver Canada

2  Thank SharonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2009

Dear Guest thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that your comments in reference to the hotel itself are all good. Now in reference to the extra charges for change in rate for all inclusive meal plans. This reservation was made through an organization that trades weeks; the tariffs that we have between us and such organization constantly change and do not necessarily depend on Sunset. In this case we notified the customer’s organization that the second day after arrival there was a change in rate. The guests agreed to travel regardless and knew of the change in price beforehand. Even though Sunset Group can empathize with these customers on having to have a price increase, they where not surprised with this at the end like they said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,685 of 3,064 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2009

I read several reviews of the Sunset Royal Cancun prior to our trip and was confused and a little concerned. I was prepared for a heavy duty sales pitch and to be penalized if I did not at least attend their timeshare presentation. I was a guest of a timeshare owner and the check in process was definetly geared to making contact with all of the guests and giving them a pitch for the "presentation". I was prepared and when approached firmly said no thank you..and that was it! I was never approached again! I did however see ALOT of business going on. There were many guests that must have been there on their dime and obligated to at least hearing their pitch..cause there were alot of sales people walking around with families..it was clear they were working hard at making a sale. With regard to the property..it was great! Our room was clean and comfortable, and I did not have any problems with anything turning up missing. We did make sure to tip the maid daily though! (just in case) The food was fine..nothing fancy..but it did great. My favorite was the burgers that a nice man made out by the pool. They went great with Mai Tai's! The staff was what made the place though! Brian and Luis who were in charge of the activities were absolutely awesome. They worked soooo hard to make sure everyone was having a good time. Overall every single staff member that we had the pleasure of dealing with was absolutely great! I would go back just to visit them again! So please don't worry if you are going to the Royal Sunset..you will have a great time! Just remember to stay away from the salesmen! :)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mewinters39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Stayed for a week, LOVED IT. Bought a timeshare, it was a breeze, no pushy tactics, very helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarkKotok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I went with an adult only group and was very happy with the service, food, and alcohol we received. Marco and Arcenio (waiters) were amazing to accomodate our needs. Yes...we did tip them very well, but they always made sure that there was enough alcohol in our drinks:) and we had what we wanted. There were also activity directors that were very helpful on the places to go out to and made sure that when we went out with them that we were taken care of. I would definitly stay with this hotel again. We did have to take a 90 min. tour that only turned into 2 hrs and it was not hard-core pressure, but you need to be consistent in your decision to get things moving. The view is to die for and I believe that the location of this hotel tops many of the other hotel sites.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 30thBDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

every thing u could want!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

This hotel is the worst of four that I have stayed at in Cancun. I stayed there for a week with eight friends.

Upon check-in, they discovered that we were not time-share members. We then spent an hour for the check-in process as they tried to convince us to attend a time share meeting.

That first night, three friends stepped out onto the balcony, closed the door... and got locked out. They were out there for an hour shouting for help before they were discovered. We complained about this on three separate occasions to maintenance, and it was not fixed.

One of the rooms had a broken shower that would run for several minutes, shut off for thirty seconds, and then begin running again. This was also not fixed, despite three complaints.

The food and drinks that we sampled were of low quality. Staff was frequently unhelpful (much more so than other hotels in Cancun that I have visited).

The rooms themselves were fairly clean, and the view from the rooms is lovely. Location is also good.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 29SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2009

Dear guest thank you for you review, Sunset Royal would like to address some of your points. In reference to the terrace door incident we apologize for what happened, on the other hand there is a sign that lets guests know about the automatic door lock to prevent this issue in the future we will make these signs more visible. The reason for the automatic door locks is for security, especially on the first level floor, secondly the automatic lock is connected to the air conditioner in order to maintain the desired temperature and prevent condensation the terrace door should be closed.

Now in reference to your comments about the shower we have a system in the hotel where any report about maintenance that is opened must be closed within a certain amount of time, this makes for efficient complaints management. In this case there is only one report from your room and it was addressed. There is no record of any more complaints about the shower situation.

In reference to the offers made by our representatives upon check in, it is to let you know of the discounts on tours that are available for you. As you are very well aware the presentation is optional. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Worst experience of my life. Their time share is a scam, will say and promise anything with their high pressure sales pitches and the actual contract will contain nothing that was promised. We signed up, but after reading over the contract we saw what a BAD deal it was and decided to cancel. We went back to them to cancel a few days later and they said we could not. (even though the contract stated we could cancel within 5 days. It is actually a law in Mexico to have a 5-day grace period after buying a time share that cannot be revoked, but they tried to deceive us into signing a waiver on that policy which is actually ILLEGAL) We were told we will lose our deposit.and they were very rude and unprofessional, so we left. We are dealing with the credit card company to get the charges reversed and with Profeco (Mexican agancy) to get the contract cancelled. We will never visit Cancun again, will never have anything to do with Royal Sunset, Sunset Lagoon or any company working in partner with them and will never ever entertain the notion of purchasing a time share again. I can't believe they are allowed to operate a business and take advantage to tourists. Please contact me if have any more questions or had a similiar experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank SunsetisaScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we as Sunset Group would like to address your issues regarding your purchase. We as a group in order to sell our product are often able to enhance the offer, such extra promises are put in writing and attached to the contract as addendums; all of this information is again reviewed in our verification office after the purchase to ensure that everything that was promised is put in writing and placed in the contract. We sit with you and explain every point of the contract to ensure your satisfaction before you sign.

By Mexican law you do have 5 days to cancel your purchase in which we request you to provide written request. If you indeed placed such request we ask that you come forward with this information to the Sunset Group Customer Services Department, you will be able to find their contact details in your welcome kit. This website is for people that are travelling to the hotel and are seeking information about the property itself; we as Sunset Royal do not feel that you have placed an accurate rating, considering you are upset about your decision to purchase. We invite other members to contact the member support service line with any questions about their membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#88 of 177 in Cancun
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 177 in Cancun
2,968 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 177 in Cancun
8,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £120 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing