We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed it, nice, quiet, small, out of the way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #26 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it, nice, quiet, small, out of the way.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Royal Cancun overall. Our initial impression was that it was a bit outdated, but its charm came out over the week. We stayed in 1436 and loved our unit. However, if we had a unit that either faced the lagoon or faced the pool, we may have a very different review (very negative). They only give beach-side rooms to their members, but 1416, 1426, and 1436 are on the end unit and have a direct view of the ocean and beach, so we were very happy. There is no surf here, just calm water, which was great for floating and wading. There is not much beach walking, only a quarter mile in either direction before you have to stop or it starts to get sketchy. The best part of the beach was the dock that goes out deep enough to dive off.

Some of the best features were the free snorkeling equipment, sports equipment, and free sail boats, that was very cool. It was small, so we never had to rush for prime beach chairs, and we were there for Spring Break. We also liked that the clientele seemed to be more Mexican families, which is great to avoid the obnoxious American families yelling at their kids or complaining all day about something, well at least we couldn't understand them. Happy hour is really cheap, which made it nice to end the beach day with a margarita or drink, and the beach waitresses were very sweet and always checked on us.

The ferry to Isla Mujeres (if you haven't gone for the day, then you are missing real Mexico) leaves a short walk away and if you want to stay for dinner, you can take the Puerto Juarez ferry home (last one at midnight). If you go to Isla- rent a golf cart, eat breakfast at Mango Cafe, spend the day at Zama Beach Club, do a tour of the island (don't be afraid to take back roads, the people are very nice), drop the golf cart off at 5pm, get a drink on North Beach at the place with the swings and second story patio with the colorful ratan chairs, do some street shopping, get appetizers at Comono on the roof, and then have dinner at Olivia (call several days before for reservations, ask for courtyard)...finally e-mail and thank us for the recommendation because this will be one of the better days of your trip, ha ha.

Room Tip: Ask for end rooms toward the ocean, unless you can swing ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    601
    175
    56
    40
See reviews for
1,251
455
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Extra clean, Great service, RELAXING. Beach front units with great views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I used to be proud to say we were owners with the Royal resorts (we own at the Royal Haciendas) but after this trip it is no longer something to be proud about. We traded into the week through Interval International which was the first mistake. I tried for six months to either upgrade our room or get a confirmation on which room we would be in and was stuck between II and Royals saying it was up to the other. I even asked to conference with both or get something in writing and was denied. We contacted our sales rep, Renan, and he told us he would make sure it worked out. It didn't.
When we arrived we were taken to a room in a building which is sandwiched between two others. I stepped onto the deck and was looking directly at someone standing in their underwear in another room. I contacted the front desk and was told the manager was too busy to speak with us. We had waited an hour past the promised check-in time of 12 to get one of the worst rooms in the resort, An hour later the manager arrived and showed us two other rooms - one was right off of the pool and definitely met our expectations. This is the big difference between the Royal Cancun and other Royals. All the rooms do not have a view, all the rooms have not been remodeled and there is only one bathroom in the majority.
You would think this would have been the end of our issues, but it wasn't.
Throughout the week we had problems with prompt service at the pool, we booked a tour being told it was only for Royal members (the trip there was, but the trip home stopped at every resort before us, and to top it all off we met other people who did not own but were staying in a beachfront 2 bath unit through II. They had made their reservation months after us and apparently management had forgotten about those rooms when telling us II had no options available near the ocean.
We bought with the Royals because they used to be known for their excellent guest services. I guess this is no longer a value to them and is being replaced by their drive to become all-inclusive and a typical time share. If you can use your room every year, it will most likely work well for you, but don't purchase intending to trade. We tried the internal exchange (we own week 52) and received no response for three months - then we got one through II but received no loyalty for being members. In fact, it appears that non-members got the better rooms as they are potential buyers. The resort has many rooms still for sale and had plenty of other options that week, but our past business meant nothing.
We did manage to enjoy our trip. The resort is beautifully maintained, my husband thought the diving was well handled and once I got all the way to the Sands, I enjoyed my massage. The convenience of the bus stop made travelling around town a breeze. By Wed. we thought nothing else could go wrong. Not true.
We were to check out on Sunday at 11 am. We told this to the front desk, the bell boy, and I spoke to the manager Claudia. However, at 9:45 other guests were moving into the room we had not yet vacated. Claudia's resolution was to offer us a bottle of wine (at 9:45 am??). As it was not the other guests fault, we let them have the room. I asked for 100 dollar refund as that is what they would charge me for asking to stay an additional hour, but Claudia just apologized and then would not speak to us as she walked past three additional times that day.
All in all, the resort can be enjoyable, but the value in buying is not there. You are better to take advantage of the cheap rates on the internet or in renting someone else's unit. Trust me, you are more likely to be treated as a valued guest that way.

Room Tip: Don't accept a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Member:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you feel this way. I tried contacting you to request further information but was unable to get a reply back.

Nevertheless, a copy of your comments has been passed on to corporate management so they can review them closely and make the necesary adjustments in our service as required.

Having said this, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your trip. Thank you for the kind words about our resort and Spa!

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My friends found this resort on-line after much searching, and we booked a week there over three months before our planned stay. We finally arrived, tired and sick of cold grey winter weather, and discovered a piece of paradise. This sounds cliche, but it was the absolute truth. We had a "villa" that sleeps six, which for the three of us, was a great amount of space. The couple took the king-sized bed, and I, a single, took the double room with sink and mirror. The double murphy bed went unused, but would be fine if you had more people. We used the fully stocked kitchen for breakfast and beer storage, and ate out for dinners. The facilities were OUTSTANDING. The grounds are immaculate and there are two pools to choose from. Each morning at 10 a.m. there were water aerobics in one pool, so we'd go to the other. Of course, there's always the brilliant turquoise ocean to choose from too, and the resort keeps the beach clean and well-stocked with chairs and lounges. You can trade your used towels for clean, fluffy ones. You can borrow pool noodles, volley balls, etc. You can take out bikes. You can play tennis. There is a personal concierge available to help you book tours, or you can do it yourself at the Thomas More booth in the lobby. You can buy essentials at the on-site mini store. There is a bus stop RIGHT outside the main entrance, and from there you can go one direction to downtown Cancun, or the opposite direction further into the hotel zone. There is a golf course nearby, tons of restaurants (in addition to the on-site, beach side restaurant), and every possible thing to do - or not to do, if you just want to lie in the sunshine! I can't say enough about this place.....I'd go back tomorrow, and I just returned home two days ago! Even the inevitable timeshare sales pitch was done in a classy way. Rafael rocks the front desk with great recommendations for authentic restaurants and always has a smile for you.

Room Tip: Views of the pool or the ocean are equally stunning. Try to avoid looking over the water desalianat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thejourneygenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at The Royal Cancun due to a promotional sale so for the price I paid, the value was good. Similar to other reviewers the guests at this resort are older so it's not a fist pupping resort. Also, the beach isn't the best. The good thing is that you can take the shuttle to the other properties and enjoy. We went to the Royal Sands and LOVED it! The grounds and beach were amazing!! There, you can have food/liquour charged to your room which is nice. The shuttle doesn't run too often so it's not ideal but not bad either. The room we got wasn't like the pictures everyone has posted. Our decor was dated. Possibly because we got a deal. The staff was friendly. All things considered it was a great deal because we got the place for $133 a night which isn't bad for a 2 bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jencolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We traded our timeshare for The Royal Cancun. The Royals are a group of hotels on the island which are all different. We went the week of President's Week and found the hotel to be ideal! We are a family of 5 and we were able to get a C unit which translates to a grand townhouse! It was two floors. Main floor was a kitchen, eating area, living room with a Murphy Bed (which we didn't have to use because...)1st bedroom had 2 double beds and a bathroom. The second floor had the master bedroom with a king size bed and ultra deluxe bathroom and a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea!
The place was quiet but the island is not. So it's a refreshing break to come back to your hotel and relax by the pool or by the ocean and really soak in the sun. We did take the shuttle to the Royal Sands (only 15 minutes away) to get to jump the waves and see the wild and crazy people at the much bigger, much louder resort. Our children ranged from 8, 10 and 16 and all would go back again, including us!!

Room Tip: Definately get a C unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rube440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckville, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Love this place. The staff is friendly and attentive. The grounds are immaculate. convenient to downtown or the rest of the hotel zone. Family oriented. I'll be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tele65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing