We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$542
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$511
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$546
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$741
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$557
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$599
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$593
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$578
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$550
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,700)
Filter reviews
2,700 results
Traveller rating
1,660
695
222
63
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,660
695
222
63
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restaurantsports desktime sharefull kitchenla trattoriamurphy bedhacienda sisalfree shuttlethomas moorecaptain's covecalm watersall inclusive packageroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbedroom villabig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,976 - 1,981 of 2,700 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I have traveled much of the world. The Royal Resorts can NOT be equalled. You know the resort is doing something right when you see the same staff each year!

We purchased our original week in 1997 as a re-sale. When the resort asked owners to re-invest, we gladly said YES! Royal Cancun (a.k.a. Vacation Club International) is the oldest resort in Cancun - it's where the time share concept got its start - and the resort continues to out-perform the competition! If you are looking for Mexican excellence with the undecided flavor of the Mayan culture and ambiance of a beautiful resort you have to come here!

Because it is older, it does not have all the "WOW" of some others (no hot tubs on your deck) - Royal Hacienda, the newest of the Royal Resorts, has it all. And, we purchased an adjoining week there when that resort opened its doors. It is very upscale and has its very own personality - and, yet, the quality is the same:"lo mismo"!

Each year, we invite a couple to join us - two of them have since purchased their own weeks here - they see what we do: exceptional service, food, ambiance and facilities.

I could write volumes on the Royal Resorts but suffice to say, come, stay, enjoy! We do!

Room Tip: The only ones I don't care for are on the back of the resort, closer to the Avenue - but they have a view of the lagoon instead of the ocean and have their own charm!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanaBrownDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights after 4 hectic nights in play del carmen, had a beachfront 3rd floor room with great views of Isla Majures. The resort is very near to the inlet to the lagoon so you get to see all kinds of interesting boats go by (ferry, yachts, sailboats and party pirate ships). Nice and quiet, with a bus stop right out front for easy access anywhere. All staff are friendly and helpful when asked. Food is a bit pricy for what you get (resort food) but with the best places to eat being in downtown Cancun (Peter's , La Habichula, etc.), it is a cheap and quick bus ride or a taxi is about $10 each way with a tip. Having a full kitchen would be a good way to save some $, but we just ate breakfast in the room and ate out the rest of the time. We bought beer in the onsite market and it was pretty cheap, about $1.50 US for Leon, Negro Modelo or Bohemia Obscura. I agree with others, that for a longer stay take the bus to walmart and stock up and maybe take a taxi back. At night the taxis are not very negitiable, but during the day when things were slow I could usually get what started at a 135 pesos from Market 28 down to 85.
We could always find a palapa on the beach, and the water a the end of the pier was plenty deep and clear for diving and swimming. There is a good assortment of reef fish under the pier, I even saw a 4' long Barracuda under there once. Great value, we paid about $150/night (advance purchas discount on the Royal resorts website) for the smaller single story two bedroom, with one bath, but here is also a sink in the second bedroom, It would be a good place for a family with a couple kids, becuse in the second bedroom the beds are small. We did not try the pull ot Murphy bed. Happy hour from 3-6 was a good deal (2 for 1) on beers (about $2.50 each) but the liquor drinks were weak. It would be an easy walk to the ferry if you wanted to do a day trip to Isla Majures. They mentioned the timeshare pitch at chack in, but when we said no, we were never bothered again about it. Clean rooms and well maintained property, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for beach front, we like the higher floor for privacy and view but first floor would be very good for quick and asy beach access.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just spent 2 weeks at Royal Cancun and loved every minute of it. We liked it so much that we bought a third week. In short, the place is immaculate and super clean. The maids and groundskeepers are constantly working meticulously to ensure that everything is in showroon condition.

The food at the Palapa is excellent no matter what you choose. They know how to cook steaks to perfection and the seafood is to die for. Pricing is very good, no overcharging here in my view.

Customer service is top notch and everyone from the desk clerk to our concierge was absolutely friendly and warm. They made us feel right at home at RC.

A very big thanks to our concierge Darion who made us laugh, Juan Martinez for helping us get that third week and enlightening us on Mexican culture, Fernando at the Palapa who was a perfect waiter for us, and Angel at the pool bar who made great Mojitos !!

Thank you RC for our best vacation ever and we are looking forward to 3 weeks in 2013.

Robb Flemming

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobbCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed two nights at The Royal Cancun. Very pleased with the service level. Everyone was attentive and friendly. Top notch service. Reynaldo was excellent in securing van (at a reasonable price) to take us to Puerto Morelos. Getting us set up, etc. All of the staff was great.

The room was spacious and immaculate. We had a pool and partial ocean view, which was nice. Slightly dated furniture, but not an issue.

Food in the restaurant was surprisingly good, although nearby restaurant that was suggested by the staff (Dolcemente Pompei) was very expensive and quite mediocre. (Try the Mexican restaurant near Coc Bongo. If you take the bus it is on the right side of the street and just before the one with all of the flags out from. nNondescript sign, but they have giant puppets outside the restaurant.)

Take the buses into the party zone. Cost about $.70 and beats the $14.00 cab rides. Hotel is a little out of the main hustle and bustle, but not a bad area, just not great.

Beach is very, very shallow and only suitable for infants and small children unless you go off the dock to swim.

We did go to the sister property at the Royal Sands and loved it, although we did not see or use rooms.

I would go back, but would probably opt for the Sands due to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sschafe48170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

Thank you for your kind words about our resort and staff! We work very hard to make our members and guests feel like family and it's always nice to read that we are doing it right.

Regarding your comments about the beach at the resort, I'm sorry that it wasn't of your liking. However, as you mention, you can take our free inter-resorts shuttle and spend some time at any of the other Royal Resorts in Cancun, which are located at a different part of the beach strip.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards from Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

You cannot find a better place to relax and enjoy the caribbean. Royal Cancun, formerly VCI, is the jewel of the 6 Royal Resorts. While all are first class in service, facilities and grounds, Royal Cancun is the most laid back and relaxing place in Cancun. After 27 years of trips to the Royal Resorts we still cherish our stay at Royal Cancun. Love it!

Room Tip: Take in the free services like tennis, sailing, snorkling, trips to the other Royals and into Cancun and Playa.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews