We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$689
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$741
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$587
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$542
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$433
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$467
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$468
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$640
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,691)
Filter reviews
2,691 results
Traveller rating
1,653
695
220
63
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,653
695
220
63
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restaurantsports desktime sharefull kitchenla trattoriamurphy bedhacienda sisalfree shuttlethomas moorecaptain's covecalm watersall inclusive packageroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbedroom villabig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,967 - 1,972 of 2,691 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Enjoyed 5 nights and 6 days at this incredible hotel. Everything from the food & drinks to the pillows on our bed were outstanding. Edwardo in the beach bar served the most wonderful mango tangos for me everyday and treated me like gold. I'd go there again in a second!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nlreabold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just back from a week at Royal Cancun that we obtained through a trade. The reviews about the resort had me concerned - specifically about the beach/water and the age of the resort. The beach is fine - lots of room, lots of chairs and shade, the sea grass isn't ideal, but didn't slow us down. The interior of our unit was very nice - roomy, comfy, well stocked with what we needed to blend drinks, cook meals, and such. The Staff was terrific, from our maid to bell hop to front desk to waiters and concierge, everyone worked to make our stay enjoyable. They learned our names and sought us out to make sure we were having a good time. We had several meals at the Palapa restaurant and everything was very good. We spent one day at Royal Sands to try out the real beach. It was nice, but we came back saying we'd rather be at Royal Cancun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from an excellent vacation at The Royal Cancun, Cancun, Mexico. There are a lot of places with similar "Royal" or "Real" names in Cancun. This facility is part of The Royal chain in Cancun and also in St Maarten (Simpson Bay) and Curacao. Also owned by this chain of timeshares in Cancun isThe Royal Sands, The Royal Islander, The Royal Caribbean, and The Royal Mayan.

First, despite many cautions from many sources, the tourist areas of Cancun were completely safe. The people outside the resort were friendly, polite and helpful. We regularly rode the public bus and felt safe and welcome at all times.

The Royal Cancun was incredible. The people were very friendly, professional, and genuinely care that the guests have the best possible visit. The facility was clean and well-maintained; operations were extremely smooth and well run. The rooms were spacious and well-equipped. Additionally, the Royal chain runs free shuttle buses on a regular basis between each of their resorts in Cancun and encourages guests to visit the other resorts to use the amenities, explore the different beaches, etc, This is made even more appealing by the ability to use the home resort's key card to check out towels and equipment and charge food and drink just as if the services were being used at the home resort.

The Royal assigns a conciege to each guest. Our concierge, Michelle, was very helpful in arranging dinner reservations and tours as well as providing information, directions, and recommendations.

We can certainly understand why people come back every year and purchase multiple timeshare ownership weeks. We are believers!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I have traveled much of the world. The Royal Resorts can NOT be equalled. You know the resort is doing something right when you see the same staff each year!

We purchased our original week in 1997 as a re-sale. When the resort asked owners to re-invest, we gladly said YES! Royal Cancun (a.k.a. Vacation Club International) is the oldest resort in Cancun - it's where the time share concept got its start - and the resort continues to out-perform the competition! If you are looking for Mexican excellence with the undecided flavor of the Mayan culture and ambiance of a beautiful resort you have to come here!

Because it is older, it does not have all the "WOW" of some others (no hot tubs on your deck) - Royal Hacienda, the newest of the Royal Resorts, has it all. And, we purchased an adjoining week there when that resort opened its doors. It is very upscale and has its very own personality - and, yet, the quality is the same:"lo mismo"!

Each year, we invite a couple to join us - two of them have since purchased their own weeks here - they see what we do: exceptional service, food, ambiance and facilities.

I could write volumes on the Royal Resorts but suffice to say, come, stay, enjoy! We do!

Room Tip: The only ones I don't care for are on the back of the resort, closer to the Avenue - but they have a view of the lagoon instead of the ocean and have their own charm!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanaBrownDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights after 4 hectic nights in play del carmen, had a beachfront 3rd floor room with great views of Isla Majures. The resort is very near to the inlet to the lagoon so you get to see all kinds of interesting boats go by (ferry, yachts, sailboats and party pirate ships). Nice and quiet, with a bus stop right out front for easy access anywhere. All staff are friendly and helpful when asked. Food is a bit pricy for what you get (resort food) but with the best places to eat being in downtown Cancun (Peter's , La Habichula, etc.), it is a cheap and quick bus ride or a taxi is about $10 each way with a tip. Having a full kitchen would be a good way to save some $, but we just ate breakfast in the room and ate out the rest of the time. We bought beer in the onsite market and it was pretty cheap, about $1.50 US for Leon, Negro Modelo or Bohemia Obscura. I agree with others, that for a longer stay take the bus to walmart and stock up and maybe take a taxi back. At night the taxis are not very negitiable, but during the day when things were slow I could usually get what started at a 135 pesos from Market 28 down to 85.
We could always find a palapa on the beach, and the water a the end of the pier was plenty deep and clear for diving and swimming. There is a good assortment of reef fish under the pier, I even saw a 4' long Barracuda under there once. Great value, we paid about $150/night (advance purchas discount on the Royal resorts website) for the smaller single story two bedroom, with one bath, but here is also a sink in the second bedroom, It would be a good place for a family with a couple kids, becuse in the second bedroom the beds are small. We did not try the pull ot Murphy bed. Happy hour from 3-6 was a good deal (2 for 1) on beers (about $2.50 each) but the liquor drinks were weak. It would be an easy walk to the ferry if you wanted to do a day trip to Isla Majures. They mentioned the timeshare pitch at chack in, but when we said no, we were never bothered again about it. Clean rooms and well maintained property, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for beach front, we like the higher floor for privacy and view but first floor would be very good for quick and asy beach access.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews