We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$542
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$511
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$599
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$741
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$557
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$546
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$537
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,699)
Filter reviews
2,699 results
Traveller rating
1,660
695
221
63
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,660
695
221
63
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restaurantsports desktime sharefull kitchenla trattoriamurphy bedhacienda sisalfree shuttlethomas moorecaptain's covecalm watersall inclusive packageroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbedroom villabig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,964 - 1,969 of 2,699 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After staying here in 2010, I purchased a "C" unit....2 story, 2 bed & 2 bath! Although this resort is the oldest, it is more quiet and laid back, which is exactly what I was looking for! Don't get me wrong...you can still enjoy yourself...but if you REALLY want to party...go to one of the "other" associated resorts!

Prices at the restaurant are a little high, but the food is very good and the location is very convenient!

Security is very good and the cleanliness is top-notch!! ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Although my "balcony" faces the Lagoon......it's still a nice view and I love to people watch!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AudreyBrooksvilleFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Tropical setting with beach front B unit, friendly staff, homey feeling, near all things to do, on the bay, great for boating of every kind, best massage i had at any Royal Resort. No pressure concierge and host; the resort sells itself.

Room Tip: Beach front.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My great experience started when I began researching Cancun for my family vacation. I contacted Royal Resorts inquiring about the Royal Sands. I was so lucky to have had the pleasure to work with Sigfried. After listening to my vacation needs he suggested that I try The Royal Cancun hotel out of all of their family of resorts. He proved to be amazing even up to 3 days before arriving.

The hotel is beautiful it is small but perfect for what we wanted. The staff was great and they accomodated our request to have my Brother and his family's room close to us.

The hotel was immaculately maintained. Our room faced the pool bar and restaurant and every morning you would shee the hotel staff working on the landscape and scrubbing the pool.

The Bar staff was great especially Angel, Manuel, and Patricia.

The little market is perfect for your immediate needs but if your stay is longer than a couple of days it's nice to venture out to WalMart

Our concierge Lloyd was great and always willing to help.

Just a side note....My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary and went to Peter's to celebrate. It was a little gem of a restaurant I found (thanks to tripadvisor) approximately 10 mins by cab from the hotel. It was perfect! Quaint with delicious food and Chef Peter came out to take our drink order.

This experience at The Royal Cancun was top notch. My entire family loved it! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation, where the only real decisions are "where shall we start at the pool or the beach and what should we drink and eat today?"

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We tried to do Mexico in comfort, but on a reasonable budget and we struck gold with Royal Cancun. This hotel is excellent value. We had a 2 room villa over NYE which was a great price, something like 200 for 3 nights (booked 10 months previous).

We had a full kitchen which helped to make the overall stay cheaper AS LONG AS you shop in the supermarket in Cancun town, NOT in the on site supermarket which is extortionate.

Happy Hour is another bargain fest, lounge round the pool with half price beers from 4-6.

A free bus runs every 3 minutes up to coco Bongos and the other night spots if that's what you are after, you are also 10 mins on same bus from the main strip of Cancun's beach which is amazing! There is a smaller beach at the hotel that over looks Isla Mujeres, but this is nothing compared to the main beach.

The staff are friendly, the aircon is plentiful, the rooms are spotless, service a bit slow in the restaurant, but all in all i would stay again if in town. Perfect for families i think.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louloubell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here two couples just for One night to go on a night excursion so we did not have to go back home, price was great for this specific weekend so we booked it easily sleeps 5 if not more, great cooking facilities(which we did not use) Its mini market was reasonable prices for snacks and beers, its restaurants were a little pricy if you are staying a long term you should do your own cooking.
Ower all we enjoyed the room and its location right next to excursion we were taking for that night.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better easy access to pool and beach, try not to get the rooms by the pool that they do Time Share presentations and it is mega loud on the speakers and the guy on the mic thinks he can convince you to buy timeshare by screaming silly stuff, so if you party at night this is deffinately not your type room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews