We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #26 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Royal Cancun”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We're owners for the 8th year now and nothing but kudos for the staff. Every year we are greeted by Jeremias when we get off our pre-arranged ThomasMoore private transportation, $105 round trip for up to 7 people. Makes getting to the resort much faster with no stops and secure.
The resort is immaculately maintained, lots of gardens and green areas which one will not find at most other resorts here. We're on the quiet side of the strip but only 10 min away by local bus, 9.5 peso's per. Love the location but honestly, the staff make the difference since there are only 200 units and they remember you personally, even year to year. Rooms are spacious with full kitchens and very well maintained. One of the servers from the pool (Patricia) and beach area saw us coming in and called us by name. Is that cool or not?
We highly recommend this place. All-inclusive being offered now for those who don't want to mess with cooking.
Come see us. We'll be at the pool and we will engage you and hopefully visit with you in the years to come. Just mention this review and you'll figure out who we are (from Texas).

Room Tip: We prefer the lagoon side so we can people watch when sitting outside for coffee in the morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    588
    169
    55
    39
See reviews for
1,222
448
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed as a couple and after doing quite a bit of research found this place to be the best value for an all inclusive. We arrived early and were told it would be a couple hours until our room was ready but that we could go put our things in the room and were pleasantly surprised when we got there they were finishing up already so got into our room quite early. All inclusive plan starts at noon so we got to use it right away.
Room:not much else to say but was very clean and did provide us with shampoo etc and replenished them. We did keep phones unplugged and when we did have them plugged in after calling room service etc we had a couple pH calls from concierge around 830am keep in mind if you like to sleep in. Ac very loud hard to watch TV when its running, my husband turned it way down at bedtime so that it would run all night and not click on off. Beds are very firm. Rooms very quiet never heard a neighbor only noise was the birds, being poolside was great small view of ocean and walkout to the pool and bar easily. I thought being by the pool may be noisy but no, only during good games of pool vball which were during the day and didn't bother us at all. The only issue with first floor pool room is people can see right in so you have to keep curtains closed if you want privacy. I guess if you have a room at the back toward the main road it wouldn't be so nice away from the action but I think most hotels on the strip would have the same issue.
The sea: Just to be clear it is on a beautiful cove of the ocean, based on some other reviews I thought it was facing the lagoon. No, the lagoon is across the road at the back of the resort where you come in and personally I saw nothing 'swampy across a about it. Water very calm and blue,can see some little fish swimming around you. Went to the sands and my husband really enjoyed riding the huge waves, just totally different beaches depends on your preference. For me it was hard to swim at the sands beach without getting knocked over by a wave.
Food: we learned that only draft beer in included in AI no cans orbottles which I think there were two choices one light one regular. Chicken parm at LA trattoria was delicious. Could order bar food at LA trattorias sports bar area. Buffets were OK. Some confusion one day at LA palapa being told we couldn't order from the menu for breakfast only buffet, when the day before we had ordered a waffle. Room service was a very nice option, 24 hours. You do have to give room key and sign every meal, time you order from the bar etc. You can leave it open at the bar if u want though. Buffet at Sands was very good lot of options and honestly we seemed to get better friendlier service there overall. Food is expensive if paying for it, 20 for a breakfast buffer, 15 for a quesadilla etc. One odd thing is that when getting water at the bars its usually room temp not cold.
There is a 200 dollar min to open a line of credit to be able to charge anything to the room and the market doesn't take any cash so you can't buy there unless you plan to spend 200 at the resort.
There are $40\hour massages to the right on the beach and jet skis for about 50 to either side as well all very close. Overall was a great stay, just a little too quiet for us. Mainly families very few other couples without kids and even 730 at night if we wanted to sit out and visit the place was dead besides some teens in the pools. The outdoor bar closes very early so no one congregating there and even sat at the pool bar one night and was just us and a couple other people, I guess everyone goes to room or out? Even karaoke night was hardly anyone there for it. Pancho and Willy's was really fun, buffet and show lots of ppl there.
Can take a bus anywhere for 9.5pesos each,bus stop right outside resort or across the st to go the other way. Make sure u know where to stop as we experienced some of the drivers will not help you then u have to pay for the retorno. The bus goes by often we never waited more than a minute for one. We took the bus to sr frogs, Walmart and royal sands, it is veryyyybusy and packed on the bus in evening though. We did walk to the ferry for island mujeres,about 5 minutes. Cab to panchowillys about 18 one way due to traffic. Turtle pond is awesome. Didn't see a lot of action with kids club, seemed to do a lot more at the sands. Everything at both are very well kept up, always cleaning and fixing things. Was a perfect choice for us to get the value at RC and still have access to Sands as well, we enjoyed Cancun!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you want to be in serious relaxation mode, The Royal Cancun VCI is PERFECT for you. The beach is calm and there aren't many people running around to bother you. Although this is the oldest RCI resort in Cancun, it is in AMAZING condition. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, and out concierge, Jeremiah, made our experience a great one!

The best thing about this resort is having the option to take a shuttle to the other couple of Royal resorts. We spent a day at The Royal Sands and it was a great getaway. The scene is comparable to the "Vegas" type of scene with a younger crowd and loud music.

The Royal Cancun is a great place for families with smaller children or older adults.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Beautiful beach, well kept rooms. Service was excellent. Nice pools and great food.

Only flaw was lack of night life after dinner time but that was common in Cancun hotels. I would go back again. Be sure to eat, pool and lounge at sister location...even nicer...royal sands.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tertro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently returned from our stay at the All Suites. We are a familly of four so the opportunity of having 2x bedrooms and pull out bed was a real plus. Our kids are 1.5 and 4 so it does not work for us having them sleep in the same room right now.
I had pre arranged for transfers to the hotel through Cancun Shuttle and was disappointed that the "very visible" representative was not so and that our pre-booked car with child seat was not ready upon our arrival.
When we finally arrived, the checking in process was slow. The desk felt understaffed and there was no feeling of there being a desire to get people into their rooms quickly.
Our room however was phenominal. I have stayed in a number of 5 star accommodations and this room blew them away. The view stretching out over the sea was like a postcard and thoughts of the journey and check in process vanished quickly.
For the entire stay, the rooms was cleaned and replenished and was always spotless.
We have paid for all inclusive that gave us access to sister hotel facilities. However with such young kids, we did not want to venture too far as the youngest still requires a mid day nap and both kids have a good sleep routine that we did not want to disturb. The affect of this however was that we constrained ourselves to using just this hotels facilities. There are two principal places to eat, La Palapa and an Italian place that we used just the once. The adult choices okay, but staying longer than a week, the menu repeated. A couple of things we have left for feedback however; They must consider having baskets of fresh fruit that can be taken away. We eat a lot of fruit and it was odd not being able to request a banana or apple without it being chopped up and put on a plate - I just want an apple to bite into thanks ! In the end, we ventured out to a local supermarket and bought fresh fruit.
Another item was the kids menu was very limited and predominantly deep fried.
We have suggested simply offering child sized portions of the adult menu, e.g. fajitas etc
I'm sure I have read that "all inclusive" is a new offering for this hotel so I am reluctant to bash it up !
There are two pools and one half of one of the pools is designated for kids, again there is scope to develop it a little so it is more apparent it is for kids versus it being a soft rule you read on your map. I would suggest that the bar at the kids pool is slicker than the one adjacent to La Palapa. We often found ourselves being ignored / overlooked and would eventually move to the other bar for drinks.
Another couple of positives were that room service and the daily stocking of the minibar/fridge was all part of the AI which I find is somewhat rare but appreciated.
Okay - Pirate ships... Our kids loved watching them go out at around 1900 each night. And yes there was the odd night that you could hear the distant thump of cannons and muffled music, but it was absolutely fine.
The beach is nice and once again well maintained and groomed. The water is shallow fr quite some ways so you can wade out for quite some distance.
Whether it was time of Year, we had no problems with sun beds and canopys. I was pleased to see that there were notices warning people who attempted to reserve beds and not use them, that they faced having their stuff removed. As mentioned though, there was no issue for us.
The general grounds again are immaculate. A word of caution thought when moving around when there has been rain - The tiled floors to the rooms are treacherous if you walk at anythin above snails pace. Not alot you can do about it, you just gotta chill out and take your time. A few days in and you knew how to get about without finding yourself up-ended.
Overall, we totally enjoyed ourselves. The last time we can take a holiuday outside of the dreaded school holidays. I would strongly recommend this place to families with perhaps kids a little older than ours. That ways you can rally maximise the use of the sister hotels with wider catering choice etc.. As a stand-alone experience, there are some hopefully minor tweaks that could be made that would boost the ratings from us. I would consider returning in the future provided I could perhaps get the exact same room as it was just awesome. I believe these are offered as timeshares and I would be interested inn the one we stayed in, it was that good !

Room Tip: Beach view - Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVEL8TOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide de highest satisfaction levels available and we take pride on that. We appreciate your insights which we find inspiring to continue our efforts in this subject. One of our representatives will contact you in order to follow up your comments. Hopefully you will find time to answer back and we can stay in touch.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean and change that 4 stars review in a 5 stars one.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I visited in June 2014. The property is beautiful and they do a great job keeping all of the flowers and shrub in beautiful shape. Everything very clean. It is not a huge resort so you find your way around quickly. There is a convenience store on site. They have most everything you need --- it is a bit pricey but you can get items for a quick meal or drink.

We did not have the All Inclusive.

The pools were very nice and the beach is great. Lots of places to hunker down. They have a towel service --- just get new ones whenever you need. Nice. There are no waves here. If you want big waves take the free shuttle to The Royal Sands. There are nice big waves there.

Room is just right. Not fabulous. Clean with the right amount of space in the kitchen for cooking light meals. The resort is probably 30 years old so things aren't all "new" but they are well-maintained and do not look cheap. You will have a daily maid who will keep your room nice and tidy. We had a two bedroom. There was a King size bed in the master, two small beds in the second bedroom, a murphy bed in the living room, I possibly one of the couches may have pulled out to make a bed (not sure). So it would have slept 5-6 pretty easily.

Small bathroom and shower. Nice large vanity. There is only one bathroom with a toilet and only one shower. Might be an issue for a large family but no problem for a couple.

There is a nice tennis court and also you can check out snorkeling equipment. They said there were sea turtles in the lagoon but we did not make it out there to see them. Also, many activities for kids. My wife and I painted some pottery and they glazed it and it looked great. Cost $300 pesos for the both of us.

Many, many friendly people there to help/serve you. We had dinner in the outside restaurant one evening and it was very nice. Good fish. Nice sunset.

As far as the timeshare deal, they will press you quickly the first morning to set up a tour. We did eventually go on the tour. My suggestion is get whatever the "concierge" promises you in writing and be very specific. We thought we were promised two "excursions" (Xcaret, Chichen Itza, Tulum, etc) for free but we were actually given discounts. So if you decide to take the tour get everything in legible writing so it is clear what your "reward" will be. We were told our tour would take 90 minutes. It took 150 minutes. We did receive the breakfast buffet at the resort when we took the tour with our salesperson. They did say that if we said no they would not pressure us and they were pretty true to their word. We only had to tell our salesperson no and then to her supervisor and then we were able to leave. We are not in the position to buy at this time and I appreciated not being subjected to countless offers and pressuring. So, that is probably what you can expect. Just remember --- GET IT IN LEGIBLE WRITING.

We truly enjoyed the homey experience and the great service. It is a wonderful resort. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Our room was right outside the pool. We did not have a view of the ocean. So, depending on what is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Royal Cancun (formerly known as the VCI (Vacation Club International) has been one of the “BEST KEPT SECRET RESORT IN CANCUN”. Now, because of its popularity & sustained reputation, when we were there weeks 19 – 21, it enjoyed over a 90% occupancy!!

This exceptional clean resort is absolutely fantastic for couples or families. All of the 2-bedroom villas have been remodeled and refurbished - complete with full kitchen & outside decks & enjoys daily maid service. The very friendly staff is outstanding and especially the front desk personnel. The manager, Rosa Dorantes, is a perfect friendly & helpful host - always supporting a smile.

The resort is loaded with daily fun & well organized activities from water aerobics to Mexican Loteria & bingo. Security personnel are not only quite visible but guest-friendly, and has full control toward preventing any unrulely guest behavior. Each villa has secure Wi-Fi & the HD television is perfect. It has 2 great restaurants: the beach open-air LaPalapa and a new Italian cuisine “La-Trattoria”. The 2 heated swimming pools have ample lounges, chairs & umbrellas. Best of all, is the beautiful well-maintained ocean beach – too nice to describe in just a few words.

The Royal Cancun resort now has a very popular & unique “ALL INCLUSIVE” feature. While non-member renters enjoy this “All Inclusive” food & drink feature, with the resort members/owners (and their friends) this “all inclusive” feature is an optional choice.

For us, our future Cancun visits will always include the Royal Cancun.

Room Tip: Talk to front desk personnel, but most all have a great ocean, gardens or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynneHemenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 182 in Cancun
1,900 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing