We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Affordable Resort! Not a Luxury Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #27 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Farmingdale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Affordable Resort! Not a Luxury Resort!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This resort has its pros and cons..
Huge Rooms- Our room had two floors, 4 beds, 2 full bathrooms, 3 balconies, kitchen, dining area and tv area (and it didn't cost much)
Good Food- Nothing fancy, but the food is well prepared. definitaly get the guac!
Access to Luxury Resorts- there is a free shuttle to the royal sands (which is beautiful!)
Great Staff- All employees were friendly and helpful. Angel, the bartender, was very kind, made excellent drinks and convo. He even remembered our names!
Beach Water- While this resorts has some free water activities and the water is calm, the water is not extremely blue- its blue, but not the breath-taking blue water cancun is known for.
Lagoon Smell- there is a stinky smell in some parts of the resort because of the lagoon.
Pool- The pool is very simple and boring. Pool bar is small, and there were children at the pool bar area.. Tip- go to the pool bar at the Royal Sands!
Pirate Ship Boat- This boat is not part of the royal cancun but it passes by their property and it is such an eyesore! Ruins the beautiful view! Something should be done about that!
Overall, this is a NICE, CLEAN, FAMILY ORIENTATED resort.. Stay here, but make sure you go to the Royal Sands and Royal Hacienda if you want something more upscale.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4 Thank laurie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just returned from a great week at the Royal Cancun resort. The resort was smaller than most of those in Cancun's Hotel Zone (which we liked), the food (both buffet and a la carte) was very good, and the staff was terrific.

Room Tip: Beach/ocean view rooms are terrific and generally quiet, but be prepared for the raucous Captain Hoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I visited Cancun with my boyfriend's family and stayed poolside at the Royal Cancun, we were there for a week with the all inclusive package. We had a really great week and enjoyed having the Royal Cancun as our home base.

Pros: Our room- we stayed in a room where we were 1 step from the pool, 2 steps from the restaurant, and 3 steps from the beach, it was perfect. The room itself was nice and had a kitchen and fridge even though we didn't end up doing any cooking.
The other resorts- part of what made this such a good deal was the fact that we had access to the other Royal resorts. Royal Haciendas in playa del carmen was definitely our favorite. I went to almost all of the other resorts during the week and they all seemed bigger, more grand, more food, etc. which was great because our all inclusive worked there and we could come home to a quiet resort.
Service - We booked a few activities through the hotel and anytime we asked for something it was taken care of immediately. We didn't have any issues with the management.

Cons: The food - It wasn't bad it was just okay. There were basically only 2 restaurants at the resort La Tattoria and the place on the beach. I liked both but was very bored of it by the end of the week. Take advantage of the restaurants at other resorts. I ordered room service which tasted fine but nothing special and there wasn't much variety.
So many people in the room! This was my first time at an all inclusive so maybe I just wasn't prepared but all day long there were employees coming into the room. First someone would come to restock our mini fridge, then someone else would come get the towels, then another employee would spend hours cleaning our entire room, later turn down service etc. Everyone was nice and courteous and nothing was stolen but it just felt like there were always people in the room!
Kids at the bar - There is a sign that says no children allowed in the roped off pool bar area but it was ALWAYS packed with kids. Not really a relaxing atmosphere. I also noticed the service at the bars wasn't as good as the other Royal resorts. It wasn't terrible by any means but at the Royal Haciendas and Royal Sands I felt like they were very attentive and helpful whereas at the Royal Cancun we had to wait 5 or 10 minutes just to order a drink.
The beach - not that great, tiny, no waves, but pretty to look at and sit on. It doesn't have the aqua blue water that the other resorts have.

Overall I would give it 3 stars for quality 5 stars for the deal (All inclusive access at the other resorts make it worth it) I dont know how much it costs to stay at the other resorts but if you are choosing I would go with Royal Haciendas, Royal Islander, or Royal Sands instead.

Room Tip: Loved room 312 right by the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have been going to this resort since it was Club International and I love it because it"s the same employees and they treat you like family. The rooms are very clean and resort is very quiet to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 243MaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I just returned from our 7 day stay at the Royal Cancun, Suites Resort. This was the second time we have taken our kids (10 and 13) and the ninth time my wife and I have visited Cancun. I chose the property based on the availability and Expedia/TripAdvisor Ratings.

Simply put, this was not the typical all-inclusive resort we are accustomed to staying at. This is more of a condo/timeshare type business model. It is more of an ala carte mentality. You will be sorely disappointed if you go in previous experiences with other all-inclusive properties in the Cancun/Mayan Riviera area. We will never go to a Royal Resort property again. I think the reason this property has a 4.5 out of 5 rating is that they have only been doing all-inclusive for 2-3 months. The prior the rating is deceiving as I believe most who rated it were visiting as a timeshare/ala carte type property and not as an all-inclusive experience.

I will start by saying, as always, the hard working folks who waited on us at the resorts were fantastic. I can't say enough about guys like Miguel and Luis at the pool bar at the Royal Sands and Javier at the beach restaurant at the Royal Cancun. Great people who always make us feel at home.

With that said, from day one we were disappointed by the policies of the Royal Resorts. I will provide a couple of examples...

For reference, the other properties we have stayed include: Dreams (2 times), Aventura Palace, The Royal (two times, now Hyatt Zilara), Live Aqua, Le Blanc and Moon Palace

Royal Resort Policies:
- Upon arrival we checked our refrigerator and saw that there were only 2 waters. I called down and asked if they could go ahead and bring us 8 waters as we would be there all week and wanted to make sure we had plenty of water. I was informed that they could only bring one bottle of water per person staying in the room.

- You are typically required to provide your keycard for everything (not always enforced). For example, if you want to get towels for the pool or a drink, you may have to check them out using your keycard. Therefore, if my kids were at one part of the resort, and I was at the other, whomever didn't have the key might not be able to get a drink or food.

- If you do not return the number of towels you checked out, you are charged $12USD per towel. In the 9 previous visits to Cancun resorts, no other property had this policy. It's annoying to be concerned with keeping track of towels throughout a long day at the pool.

- Some of the front desk workers at the Royal Cancun are smug and not very friendly. At checkout I was told that the signature on my final bill did not match the one on my drivers license. He reprinted and required me to re-sign. (The unfriendly attitude had come to be expected by this time.)

The Royal Cancun, All Suite Property Itself:
- This is a very small property. This may appeal to some people as it is smaller and directly on the water. There are no waves to deal with on this side of the peninsula. They do a good job keeping the seaweed back so you can enjoy the ocean itself. They also have 2 smaller pools. (We went to Royal Sands most days as we enjoy the larger pools with more activity.)

- The property is very dated. You are not getting an updated living area at this resort. Has a very 1970s feel. The property and our room were very clean, though.

- This is meant to be a timeshare/condo type property. They have full kitchens and an on property grocery store. It appeared that most of the folks who were visiting were not participating in the all-inclusive package. Most bring groceries and cook.

- The Royal Sands seemed to do a better job at accomodating to the all-inclusive participants. At the Royal Cancun it was almost uncomfortable at times to ask for a water or a couple of bananas. I ended up almost feeling a level of stress before I would ask for something due to the potential hassles that were involved.

These are some examples of our experience. I am very, very disappointed that I chose this property. We only go on one vacation a year as a family. Due to many of the Royal Resort's policies regarding all-inclusive visitors, combined with our expectations due to our past experiences, we were very disappointed. We made the best of it and still enjoyed our time together as a family. However, I can't emphasize enough that for the money, there are much better properties to choose from in Cancun (ie. Dreams or any of the Palace Resorts).

Room Tip: Choose another resort brand...Do not choose any Royal Resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
20 Thank CHold513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However: It is duty of the front desk host who welcomes you to inform you about the key and bracelet use policy. Food and Beverages management has received your comments and is currently working in ways to improve our service. Service shouldn't be denied to you at any circumstance and Guest Services Management will find ways to ensure this perception won't be shared by any of our guests and visitors ever again.

Minibar restocking is provided through room service which is active 24/7. We are sorry to learn we wasn't able to communicate this to you. Rest assured this won't happen ever again.

And lastly: we're sorry you misunderstood our front desk host. Signature verification is required by our bank and is front desk duty to ensure your signature is as similar as possible to your signature written on your ID. Our personnel will be instructed to communicate this needs in a friendly and polite way so this misunderstanding don't happen ever again.

We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation at Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed in The Royal Cancun Resort. Rented knowing it is a time share. We stayed for 7 nights in October 2013. The Royal Cancun is a time share, located at the 4.5 KM on Kukulcan Boulevard Hotel Zone. We stayed in the main wing in room 312 or 314. This suite had an un-obstructed view of a freeform pool, it's restaurant and the ocean. It has a living room, two bedrooms and a complete kitchen, stock with dishes. It was about 950 square feet. This room also had a balcony, dining area, two flat screen TVs, in-room safe, Wi-Fi and climate control. Though an older resort, it's private beach is groomed nightly, it has 3 pools, a koi pond and the grounds are impeccably maintained. There is also a laundry, convenience store and two tennis courts on the property and I believe it may be rented as all inclusive. The guest service was fine and the majority of guests were retired or traveling as families. In October, we the pool or beach was never crowded and there is a swim up bar. The parts that were lacking, is the older A/C wouldn't cool below 76 degrees and was noisy and the pools and beach close at 9PM. Be aware there are two Royal Cancun hotels in the Hotel Zone and you need to differentiate when arranging transportation. You may use the other Royal resorts facilities and you may use a free shuttle bus for transportation between them or and busses run every 5 minutes for les than a US dollar along Kukulcan Boulevard. If you wish to shop in Cancun, take a taxi, about 10-15 USD. We shopped at Macardo 29, (a government subsidized market for Mayan vendors), to purchase souvenirs and a US style store for fruits, sodas etc. Language can be a barrier but the taxi drivers and most people are very friendly and helpful to get directions. The Resort concierge, not so much. We went to two water theme parks and two Mayan ruins, Chichen Itza and Tulum. We had a nice and quiet vacation. Be careful at the airport, as there are many hawkers trying to lure you to time share presentations under the guise of selling lower priced theme park tickets.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building 3rd floor or higher, overlooking the free-form pool and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A clean quiet hotel, not for first time travellers. Truly a place to relax and enjoy the sun and water. Not a place with any type of evening entertainment, everything is done by 11pm. Beach shallow and quite pleasant, again not the most exciting spot very quiet (which could be a positive). The staff is generally excellent, like in all customer service oriented businesses there are a few who always stand out for their excellence or lack of excellence. Yes at times service can be slow but at other times service was exceptional. The Italian restaurant on site was ok, perhaps 3 star at best, the service in the restaurant was lacking authenticity, the staff and food failed to match the impressive physical characteristics of the restaurant. A tip to the staff, great customers within 5 minutes of seating them and try and provide a beverage shortly after taking an order. It wasn't a big problem but I encountered the same experience both times at the restaurant, an order was taken and the drinks would take 10 to 15 minutes to arrive. This was a common practice, I've never seen so many people in a restaurant sitting without any food or drink in front of them for such long stretches. A big improvement would be to take the drink orders promptly and giving customers a few minutes to look over the menu, when drinks are served food orders are can be taken. Overall a nice place to relax not for someone looking to party. 40 minutes from the airport pleasant ride in, airport generally organized and somewhat efficient. They were opening several backpacks and suitcases which seemed to be a nuisance for many vacationers who were travelling for sun and beach. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Generally all rooms are fine, no oil refineries or waste management facilities in close proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank SeaSunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#35 of 175 in Cancun
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#15 of 175 in Cancun
3,959 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing