We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel "Can't-cun"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #124 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Hotel "Can't-cun"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel should be called the "Calypso can'tcun". Everything I asked for, there was a rule why they could not provide it.

First of all, to be slightly positive, the room was fairly clean (if you ignore the small bugs near the sinks). Maid service was fine. The concierge was VERY helpful (even translating for me with the other hotel workers).

The location was ok, right across the street from the Embarcadero - the ferry to Isla Mujeres. But to get to a beach, you have to go through the hotel across the street. Views were ok. Ride to downtown on a bus or taxi was only a couple minutes.

So here's why it is the hotel can'tcun:
Can't sleep late in the morning because of the loud birds.
Can't sit at the pool area without the ants all over your shoes and table.
Can't receive phone calls in the room - phone broken.
Can't receive a visitor in room without signing a notice saying I allowed them into my room.
Can't change your American $ into pesos because we ran out.
Can't change that American bill because it is slightly ripped.
Can't walk by your room without seeing a newt on the wall.
Can't put things near the sink - there are small bugs near it.
Can't get into the shower without creating a large puddle in the bathroom since the shower door opens INTO the shower spray.

The front desk people were nice, but not helpful. As I checked in, the gentleman wanted a credit card for me to pay. Even though I assured him several times that it was already paid for through Orbitz.

I would NOT stay here again. There are so many other nice hotels in Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for the street side - otherwise you get the lagoon side - nice, but not the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    52
    53
    20
    22
See reviews for
38
53
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I LOVED THIS HOTEL!!!!!! The place was spotless inside and out. The beds were comfortable, no refigerator, but so what. The 2 pools were immaculate. And the landscaping was gorgeous. The staff catered to our every need, we were treated like queens. The restaurant and convenient store are in front of the hotel which is very handy. Any place you stay in cancun you will have to travel to points of interest. No one hotel is close to everything. I was there labor day weekend and am going back nov.3-7

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Excellent value for money. Central location with easy access to buses. Close to embarkation point for Isla Mujheres. Ideal for someone who wants to holiday in Cancun on a budjet. Don't expect too many frills as there are none. Staff were polite, though command of english can be tricky. Rooms clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Excellent value if you don't need a full view of the ocean (there is a partial view across the street, and a good view of the lagoon to the south). Ample room, small balcony. Very quiet when I was there. Very clean. Staff works hard at their English and with a bit of my tourist Spanish they were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves only breakfast, but a good selection off the menu at fair prices. Car rental, internet, and a small convenience store in front of the hotel; bigger convenience store a block away. Beach access by the outdoor bar at the ferry across the street - a hotel beach but no one objected.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phys406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

My students and I stayed here overnight after flying in from Cancun. (We were on a tour) The staff does not speak English, but since I speak Spanish, I was fine. The lobby is quite small, especially when 3 large tour groups come in at the same time! The food at the restaurant was okay. I enjoyed the spaghetti with cream sauce. The breakfast was fine as well. The orange juice was freshly squeezed. The shops next to the restaurant had overpriced items. I remember they were asking $20 for a beach towel! But if you bargain with them, you'll get a good deal.
We didn't stay here too long because we drove to Merida the next day but I'm glad we only stayed one night. That bed and pillow were so HARD and uncomfortable! It felt like I was sleeping on a table!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank complikada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

This hotel is what you expect for the price and if your on a budget its actually not bad. However if you dont want to spend your whole holiday getting on and off buses to simply go to the beach or to a restaurant then this place isn't for you! We didn't realise exactly how far away this hotel was from anything. They say they have a beach club but you need a bus to get to it (the one you pay for is actually amazing but once again you have to get the bus). If you want to go to a restaurant or anywhere, once again a bus is needed.

Also, the "pool bar" is a complete lie. There once was a bar by the pool, about 10 years ago perhaps but this is now just an empty bar at the end of the pool that is covered in cobwebs. There are about 10 sun loungers, a few of which are broken, the garden is non existent and basically the place needs a good overhall.

we were really disappointed and didn't feel like we could relax as we were constantly getting on and off buses and the place is extremely noisy due to pool pumps and people running up and down the stairs.

the rooms are actually quite nice and are very big and cleaned very well. but i would never stay here again as i actually felt as though it ruined our whole holiday which is a real shame as we were really looking forward to a relaxing beach break.

my advice is to pay the extra and stay in one of the resorts on the beach or better yet skip cancun altogether and stay in playa del carmen 1 hour away!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiegirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

We stayed here this month (Mar08) during the spring break period; the staff were really friendly and helpful especially the security guys. Our package included a light breakfast of fruit and toast which was held in a nice dining area. The rooms were clean and beds made everyday. The pool was pretty small but sufficient; for what you pay I think this hotel is really worth your money - if may be a bit out of town but you can hardly notice the difference with local buses running 24 hours a day at the cost of 30p a trip! If your on a budget but not looking for somewhere too grotty I would definitely recommend this place; the only downside is that there is not more around the hotel, in the way of bars and pubs. Overall well impressed!

  • Liked — Value for ££
  • Disliked — Not enough going on in the surrounding area - but would be good for some tourists
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank philly1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#59 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#154 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#97 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
#90 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#84 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 4 Lote D-8, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing