We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I didn't stay long”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #150 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for the final two nights of a tour through Mexico.

The beach and restaurants are both a bus ride away so the location is not ideal.

The hotel desperately needs refurbishment or at the very least some maintenance. The sheets and towels were so old and overused that they were threadbare. The hot water in the shower was hit-and-miss.

The mattresses are covered in plastic mattress protectors and because the sheets are so threadbare it felt like I was sleeping on plastic. I ended up trying to sleep on top of one of the towels so that the plastic didn't make me sweat... I just ended up itchy from the towel.

The air conditioner was so loud that I had to sleep with headphones in and music playing (I could hear it even above my ear plugs). It was the middle of summer so I couldn't turn the air conditioner off and there were too many mosquito's about to leave the balcony door open.

We ate at the restaurant once. It was possibly the most tasteless food I've eaten in Mexico. The service was just average.

I'd like to be able to say something positive but unfortunately nothing comes to mind.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Part of our Gecko's tour. A three star hotel done well. Pretty much everything was just right. Not a destination in its own right but a convenient and comfortable place to stay with easy regular bus access (R1, 8.5 pesos) to downtown Cancun (4km) or the malls along the strip and a hop across the road to the ferry to Isla de las Mujeres. Our air conditioner broke down and within half an hour they had moved us to a new room with a brand new air conditioner. Staff friendly, efficient and with a good sense of humour. Washing was fast and cheap. Restaurant was fine for a late evening supper and a Mexican or international style breakfast. Internet free and functional but only available downstairs in the lobby, which is not air-conditioned. Hotel has a convenience store out the front and there is an Oxxo five minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hotel was average (depending on the point of view, border to below or above).
It's conveniently located, meaning not by the beach, but close enough, not close to town, but easily accessible by bus or taxi. (Bus= 8.50pesos/US 0.80)
Just across the road, there is the "Embarcadero", which is the ferry to Isla Mujeres (a must go island/beach/place).
The pools are old, and small, but you can enjoy a nice "splash" considering Cancun is generally very hot.
The rooms are clean, the decor reminds of Miami/80's but the mattresses are brand new (we even saw some rooms having a new decor/mattress arriving).
The restaurant is very limited, but the food is ok. If you are in a budget, the convenience store is by the hotel.
The staff was "OK", helpful but not extraordinary.
With the exception of a guy called Francisco, who seemed to be a "handyman/security/doorbell/delivery/etc", he was exceptionally polite and helpful.
We would stay there again if the rates are "ok" and are in a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Airpricing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Maintenance doesn't exist. The building is falling apart and it seems that no one cares. The colors are awful, the wooden doors are older than your grandma's grandma!
It says that its all inclusive and all they have it's a crappy restaurant with a very limited menu and operated by 3 guys only!
It's not on the lagoon, nor on the beach! The tv service sucks! Room 1008 has glass bricks on the wall so is never dark inside!
The price is super high and this hotel is not even 1 star!
Save yourself some disappointment and learn from somebody else's mistake!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bocajuniorsjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel should be called the "Calypso can'tcun". Everything I asked for, there was a rule why they could not provide it.

First of all, to be slightly positive, the room was fairly clean (if you ignore the small bugs near the sinks). Maid service was fine. The concierge was VERY helpful (even translating for me with the other hotel workers).

The location was ok, right across the street from the Embarcadero - the ferry to Isla Mujeres. But to get to a beach, you have to go through the hotel across the street. Views were ok. Ride to downtown on a bus or taxi was only a couple minutes.

So here's why it is the hotel can'tcun:
Can't sleep late in the morning because of the loud birds.
Can't sit at the pool area without the ants all over your shoes and table.
Can't receive phone calls in the room - phone broken.
Can't receive a visitor in room without signing a notice saying I allowed them into my room.
Can't change your American $ into pesos because we ran out.
Can't change that American bill because it is slightly ripped.
Can't walk by your room without seeing a newt on the wall.
Can't put things near the sink - there are small bugs near it.
Can't get into the shower without creating a large puddle in the bathroom since the shower door opens INTO the shower spray.

The front desk people were nice, but not helpful. As I checked in, the gentleman wanted a credit card for me to pay. Even though I assured him several times that it was already paid for through Orbitz.

I would NOT stay here again. There are so many other nice hotels in Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for the street side - otherwise you get the lagoon side - nice, but not the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I LOVED THIS HOTEL!!!!!! The place was spotless inside and out. The beds were comfortable, no refigerator, but so what. The 2 pools were immaculate. And the landscaping was gorgeous. The staff catered to our every need, we were treated like queens. The restaurant and convenient store are in front of the hotel which is very handy. Any place you stay in cancun you will have to travel to points of interest. No one hotel is close to everything. I was there labor day weekend and am going back nov.3-7

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank judy m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Excellent value for money. Central location with easy access to buses. Close to embarkation point for Isla Mujheres. Ideal for someone who wants to holiday in Cancun on a budjet. Don't expect too many frills as there are none. Staff were polite, though command of english can be tricky. Rooms clean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
1.1 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#153 of 177 in Cancun
694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#82 of 177 in Cancun
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 177 in Cancun
153 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#105 of 177 in Cancun
918 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
Adhara Hacienda Cancun
#71 of 177 in Cancun
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 4 Lote D-8, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing