We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #126 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Doors open with an actual metal key. This could easily be copied and who previously had the key could have access to your room. Location of hotel is far from the where all the fun attractions are in the convention center area. Hotel is dated and not at all what I would expect of a 3-star property. I would compare it to a Motel 6 or Super 8.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    53
    53
    21
    23
See reviews for
39
54
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here mid January 2014 for two nights, and I think we were the only guests checked in! For two days, apart from the receptionist, we saw no one else in Calypso! We stayed in a double room, which was pretty decent, however the bathroom smelled of mold. Can`t say too much about Calypso as we spent most the time out and about. However for a few extra dollars I would recommend staying in a nicer hotel on the beach.

If you`re just in town for a few days, then Ibis Central is a much better hotel, and much cheaper. It`s located downtown, but buses are regular to the beach from close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The location is ok. No private parking. The room almost has no wifi signal. The water is not hot enough when you are having shower. The elevator sometimes is horrible. But it is cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here after the New Years Holidays. I booked hotel throughout a popular hotel website, must say it was at a very good price for being on the hotel zone in Cancun, not far from bus stop that would take you any anywhere in the hotel zone. Rooms were spacious and clean, staff at front desk was friendly with well spoken english. Nice clean patio and pool. They also have complementary each towels and free Wifi in the lobby only. If you want to stay in the hotel zone and pay less or the same you would pay staying in downtown cancun, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uly21C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here for three nights and it was ok. The room was big and clean with AC and a balcony. There was a nice pool and place to do yoga. There was a room with computers available to use at a small fee. There was no wifi in the rooms, which was a negative. The service was good and so was the breakfast in the restaurant. The buses stop right outside the hotel and run 24hrs a day. Perfect for travelling around the island.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor and the room was big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I would recommend it for travelers with limited budget and for short stays. The hotel needs some renovation, but it is clean and have friendly staff, who is eager to give information and advices. The thing is that it is located far away from main city/nightlife attractions and restaurants, but if you stay in Cancun for one or two nights you can take a taxi or bus which will take you in a few minutes to the city center. However, for longer stays I would recommend something in a downtown, where you can experience the city's ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My partner and I were forced to stay in this disgusting "all inclusive" hotel due to a 13 hour delay with our Cubana Airways Flight. We were told it was all inclusive hotel by Cubana and the Hotel Staff when given our wrist band however it turned out that most items on the Adjacent restaurant menu were not included with this all inclusive deal and was a set meal of questionable soup and fish. The worst thing however was the smell that seemed to emanate from the shower room when the water was being used, truly a disgusting experience and if I was a paying customer I would have as though I was robbed blind

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidf1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#64 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Perlas Condos
Las Perlas Condos
#152 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#99 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mayafair Design Hotel
Mayafair Design Hotel
#144 of 181 in Cancun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Krystal Urban Cancun
Krystal Urban Cancun
#72 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 4 Lote D-8, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calypso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dorada Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing