We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Break 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Winter Break 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Have stayed Riviera Maya (RM) numerous times but this was the first time at Cancun . I loved the Riviera Maya and wanted to compare the 2. Both have their advantages.
The 1st thing the RM resorts were more secluded away from other resorts and towns, this gave them their own beach space for that resort. In Cancun the hotels are right next to each other, I thought this might be a problem with 20 floors of guest competing for a limited amount of beach space, but it was not for us , we had space everyday.
RM had vendors at the resort, kind of shopping brought you, or take a cab into town. Cancun didn't have much at the resort, but shops and shopping was a short bus ride away. Both are good.
The food at both are excellent, but I would give Secrets of The Vine the edge. The food was equal or better than any place we have stayed.
We were on the 26th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean and the city. You had elevators and a short walk to the beach. In our RM resorts 2 - 3 floors high with lots of green to look at, walk out the door and a short walk to the beach- both were okay.
The Vine is a excellent place to stay, my only marks against were minor ,1)the WIFI was spotty, you were in and out of range all the time even in your own room.
2) the lack of sunbrellas on the beach. Being a fair skinned Midwesterner I need a break from
mid day el sol. After you ask they will provide you one.
Overall we loved the Secrets of The Vine and would go back again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Bob B,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our resort. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. Also we have noted the opportunity areas you mentioned in your kind review.

We look forward to welcome you home in a near future.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,213
    1,231
    377
    116
    70
See reviews for
583
5,322
220
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here the last week of Nov 2013 - as other reviewers have said the outside of the hotel does not do it justice, however once inside it is great. Check in was quick and after a very brief sales talk we were shown to our room - overlooking the ocean on the Sandos side. The room itself was spacious and well appointed although the glass bathroom is a little unusual especially as we travelled as friends. We never had any problems getting sun loungers towels were freely available. Pool waiters always on hand and never had to ask or wait for a drink, food was excellent especially the italian and steak house both of which we visited twice. It is lovely to be all inclusive yet have the feeling you are eating out at a restaurant ever night and not a canteen!! Breakfast selection again excellent. The entertainment team Bethany,Kendall, Kara,Sunday and Winnie all making time to chat. It was thanks giving while we were there and there was a gala dinner which was the poorest meal we had although as Brits we dont celebrate thanks giving so maybe we were just missing something!! We had a massage in the Spa which was excellent and a trip to Coco Bongos all in all we had a brilliant stay and would highly recommend this hotel and will stay at another Secrets resort

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walesclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear walesclare,

We would like to thank you for selecting our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure receiving you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our Entertainment team to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

On the other hand, we regret to know that our theme dinner had not met your expectations. However all aspects you have raised to our attention are under review.

We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.

Sincerely yours,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong stay at the resort and we could not be more satisfied. This was our second year in a row staying at Secrets The Vine and our experience the second time around was just as great as the first time, if not better. We especially enjoyed our time spent at the pools and enjoyed the Entertainment Team. Alan, Kendall, Victor, and Sunday were all excellent. There were also two waitresses in the pool area that deserve special recognition: Silvia and Blanca. We decided to take advantage of the offer of a private dinner one of the nights. This came with an additional cost of a bottle of wine, but it was well worth the money! Our waiters, Marcello and Alberto, took great care of us and made sure we had everything we wanted. I highly recommend taking advantage of this as it did not seem too many people were. The only thing I would change about the stay was the check-in process. As returning guests, we did not need a tour of the hotel and were not interested in sitting through a seminar on the other Secrets resorts. It would have been nice to check-in, drop off our bags, and immediately get to enjoy the sunshine. All in all, our trip was fantastic and we already have plans to go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the north and are at or above the 18th floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RReynolds1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear RReynolds,

On behalf of the entire Management and Staff we would like to thank you for allowing us to host you once again and taking the time to post a review of your stay at our resort.

It's our most pleasure to learn that your stay was a wonderful one while you were impressed with our service and facilities. We appreciate your gracious comments as it shows our consistency in maintain the Secrets Resorts brand standards. Your feedback has been shared to the team as a motivation to keep up our work. We are sure that they all will be happy to read this review.

Please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival.

We look forward to have you back at Secrets The Vine, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I (along wth 10 of our friends) celebrated our 11th anniversary at Secrets the Vine, and all I can say is 'WOW'!
From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. Everyone in our group upgraded to the Preferred Club, and it was WELL worth it. Each floor has their own butler, there is an outdoor swimming pool (with bar and grill) located on the 12th floor which is only for Preferred Club guests.
The room were incredible, the food fantastic..although small portions at the ala carte restaurants (except for the steakhouse- they FEED YOU!). The portion size isn't a problem because you can order multiple items and get a taste of it all! There is a seemingly bottomless shrimp cocktail at the Sea Salt Grill that is wonderful.
Now the important part......the staff. I cannot adequately convey how exceptional they all were. Special cudos must go out to Kendall at the pool, Octavio at the pool bar, and the biggest of all to our butler Leon. This man went out of his way, far above and beyond the call of duty, in order to make our anniversary an especially great day. He even searched the resort on the day prior to our departure (finding us at the beach), just to ensure we had room service breakfast before our early checkout the next morning. We checked with other folks from our group that had different butlers, and none of them had that type of personal service.
THIS MAN DESERVES THE GREATEST ACCOLADES THAT CAN BE GIVEN HIM!
We will definitely return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Spring for the upgrade to preferred club....you won't regret it. Get a high a floor as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chico5118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Chico5118,

It is a pleasure to read through such a detailed overview of your visit to Secrets The Vine Cancun. We sincerely appreciate the time invested on writing this review.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and special amenities delivered to Preferred Club guests.

Your comments will serve as an inspiration to our team and for Leon to continue working with passion, ensuring our valued guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. Please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival.

We look forward to welcome you back home.

Warmest regards,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmess1
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at our recent visit to Secrets The Vine.

The property is beautiful. The staff worked hard to keep it clean and well maintained. Even though we went on a holiday weekend and the resort was booked near capacity (I wanted to upgrade my room and an upgrade wasn't available), we never had a problem getting a seat by one of the pools or on the beach. Plenty of seats/ towels.

We loved the beach! Beautiful blue water and soft, white clean sand. The beach was fabulous.


You will not be hungry. The food was very good - best we've had at an all-inclusive. There is no shortage of food available. Plenty of restaurants and buffets as well as grilled food by the pool and down on the beach. Food is everywhere and it is quite good. The one small negative is that it is pretty much the same food all of the time. After 3 days we realized that the menus and buffets pretty much consisted of the same rotation of food.

You will not be thirsty. Bar and wait service is everywhere. Great bar and wait staff. They quickly learn your name and remember what you are drinking. Very prompt. While sitting by the pool or on the beach it isn't long before someone comes over to offer you a drink. And if your drink is getting low, they show up again.

We stayed in a preferred club junior suite ocean view. I wanted to upgrade so we could have a bathtub (it only had a shower). I'm not sure what the price difference would have been, so it probably worked out fine. The room was beautiful and the view from the balcony was gorgeous. The one complaint about our room is that we could only get lukewarm water in the shower. We asked our butler for help, and she said she would send up maintenance. I'm not sure if they every came - we just learned to take very fast showers. This was a bit of a bummer - and we heard other people talking about the same issue so I don't think it's uncommon.

Entertainment was good. The entertainment schedule by the pool was pretty much the same every day. At night there was usually some type of show.

The gym was great. My husband took a spin class and said it was very good. We didn't take advantage of the spa so I can't give any comment on that.

I'm not sure if preferred is worth the upgrade. The preferred lounge did not have much for food. The preferred pool area was nice but it was far away from the beach and didn't have a hot tub. We spent most of our time by the main pool where there was more entertainment.

Overall - especially if you can get hot water in your shower - I would recommend this resort for a long weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear mmess1,

On behalf of the entire staff of Secrets The Vine Cancun we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our resort.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

It is very important that we mention that all our suites are equipped with "mixer taps" which have a single tap to regulate the flow, quantity and temperature of the water. We have as you mentioned received notices about guests having a problem with water which have been solved by setting the tap in to the "right" position.

We would like to encourage our guests to inquire if you have any problem and stay until assistance arrives as we have hot water available at all times, except if we are working on any of the pipes and if it was the case we would send a notice to let our guests know, otherwise hot water must be properly working and always available.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your return, we will be glad to update your reservation as our dear "Repetitive" guest. Our team looks forward to having you back in a not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would recommend this resort to anyone going to Mexico.
I could not find anything wrong with our stay. The workers were always there to help with any thing. The front desk people were terrific.this resort was very clean ,the food was great .
I enjoyed everything about this resort.

Room Tip: All rooms were ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOANNE155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear JOANNE155023,

We appreciate the time that you have invested on writing an overview of your stay with us.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one, and that you were highly satisfied with our service.

Thank you for your compliments and recommending our hotel to our dear readers, we look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
info.sevcu@secretsresorts.com
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I take lots of vacations and split this week between Secrets the Vine and Excellence Playa Mujeres. If you want better food, a reliable internet connection, some surf, a cleaner beach, then stay at Secrets. If you want a much bigger beach, no waves (protection by Isla Mujeres), the ability to use a small sailboat even if you don't know what you are doing, and beautiful landscaping, then stay at Excellence. There was a heated pool at Secrets, unlike at Excellence, which is nice in January.
The service was excellent at both and I do not think that a traveler should pick Excellence because it is ranked higher. If you read my review of Excellence, you will understand that there were several problems. I like to split vacations between two or more hotels, and this was a good combination, and I will certainly try other Secrets resorts. I will be back to Cancun every year or two and will probably try a different pair of highly rated resorts next time. However, I think that Secrets had excellent food (more interesting and better than Excellence, which had canned pineapple, and a more comfortable, interesting, and spacious breakfast buffet) and it is a great choice if you want to be in the hotel district in Cancun. Incidentally, it is an easy $1, 5 minute bus ride into downtown Cancun, and we never had to wait more than 3 minutes for a bus...they come constantly and sometimes there are several at the bus stop.
My one complaint was that they did not honor my request for a king bed, not even on the 2nd night, but they checked in lots of people on that 2nd day and I am certain that they had to give many of them king beds.
If you want the spaciousness and landscaping of Excellence, but a better beach, try a top rated resort in the Playa del Carmen area. Trip Advisor hides many of the hotels under I take lots of vacations and split this week between Secrets the Vine and Excellence Playa Mujeres. If you want better food, a reliable internet connection, some surf, a cleaner beach, then stay at Secrets. If you want a much bigger beach, no waves (protection by Isla Mujeres), the ability to use a small sailboat even if you don't know what you are doing, and beautiful landscaping, then stay at Excellence. There was a heated pool at Secrets, unlike at Excellence, which is nice in January.
The service was excellent at both and I do not think that a traveler should pick Excellence because it is ranked higher. If you read my review of Excellence, you will understand that there were several problems. I like to split vacations between two or more hotels, and this was a good combination, and I will certainly try other Secrets resorts. I will be back to Cancun every year or two and will probably try a different pair of highly rated resorts next time. However, I think that Secrets had excellent food (more interesting and better than Excellence, which had canned pineapple, and a more comfortable, interesting, and spacious breakfast buffet) and it is a great choice if you want to be in the hotel district in Cancun. Incidentally, it is an easy $1, 5 minute bus ride into downtown Cancun, and we never had to wait more than 3 minutes for a bus...they come constantly and sometimes there are several at the bus stop.
If you want the spaciousness and landscaping of Excellence, but a better beach, try a top rated resort in the Playa del Carmen area, or the Playa Paraiso area. Trip Advisor hides many of the great Cancun hotels under this location, which is dumb, and makes newbies to Cancun not realize that this is one of the best areas to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsTheVine, Social Media Coordinator at Secrets The Vine Cancun, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Al B,

We would like to thank you for selecting our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure receiving you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted that you enjoyed our food selection, location and in general your overall stay.

It is important for us to mention that all suites of our hotel offer king beds in the room. With the exception of suite category Deluxe Ocean View o Preferred Club Deluxe Ocean View, where bed type is subject to availability and you will be able to find either one king size bed or two double beds.

We do our best in order for us to fulfill a guest request in advance or during your stay, however we appreciate your understanding that since this is subject to the current resort availability these kind of requests cannot be guaranteed.

We look forward to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Sincerely,

Zuleica Ávila
Social Media Coordinator
Tel:(52) 998 8489400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
12.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing