We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whole experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whole experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel with the added luxury of preferred status. The staff are helpful, pleasant and polite and the facilities and food are second to none. I would particularly like to mention Tania and Alex Melendez in the preferred pool area who can't do enough for you. Also Manuel in the Nebiolo was second to none asvare all the staff. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for couples

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,221
    1,231
    377
    116
    70
See reviews for
583
5,328
221
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A group of 15 friends (celebrating 50th birthdays) just returned. All I can say is AWESOME!! The rooms were clean and modern, the staff was exceptionally kind and attentive, especially our beach waiter, Juan, who kept all of our classes filled all day!! The beach and pool areas are very nice and well maintained. I have been to many all inclusive resorts and I must say that the food choices here are great. I would recommend this resort to anyone and I would definitely stay there the next time I travel to Cancun.

Room Tip: I would recommend you pay the extra fee and say on the Preferred Floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I with another couple decided to vacation in cancun Mexico for New Years and heard great things about this secret resort which some of it was true like amazing rooms and nice pool area,It was absolutely beautiful and had great and helpful staff with decent service but the food is the worst I ever had ,from the room service to all their restaurants in the hotel it was just really bad bad food I think they found the cheapest lowest quality food on the planet to serve their customers, I think a great vacation is not just the facility but also the food and drinks has to be great for the amount of money they charge and this place dose defiantly not have food that you can even feed your dogie it's really that bad I feel sorry for the people that have to serve it be aware really horrible food

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Ardem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham,cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stayed for 9 nights here and it was fabulous. We had a preferred ocean view junior suite which gave us access to the club lounge and a preferred pool on the 12th floor along with butler service. The All Inclusive was incredible - unlimited cocktails, snacks, meals etc. I was worried with it being AI, that the alcohol measures would be small but not at all :-)
Only issue I did have was with a couple of the restaurants. They don't allow reservations and when there are 5 of you travelling, this can be annoying. One night in the Italian Restaurant, we were told there was a 45 minute wait for a table so we sat at the bar in the restaurant. There was an empty table that could seat 6 people available for the entire 45 minutes we were at the bar and then we were seated at that table. Don't know why we couldn't have just been seated there when we first arrived 45 minutes prior?! Wasn't the end of the world as we weren't paying for drinks whilst at the bar - it was just irritating being made to wait.
The main pool areas are great with friendly waiters at your beck and call - Oliver & Juan are fantastic. The entertainment staff are constantly coming round inviting you to pay volleyball, bingo in the pool, aqua aerobics etc. I didn't mind this as if you just decline, they are polite enough to leave you alone. if this sort of thing would be annoying for you, I would definitely suggest doing the preferred option as the entertainment staff do not go up to the preferred pool so you avoid this.
All the food in each restaurant was first class - I particularly loved the sushi in Dragons.
Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff either. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were shown nothing but smiles and total hospitality. I would stay back at this hotel in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Af1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just came back from 7 days at Secrets The Vine. This was our 3rd Secrets Resort and the brand offers everything we could ever ask for in a vacation. Hotel is beautiful and service was impeccable! The spa was wonderful and food was delicious. We especially want to say a great big THANK YOU to Manuel & Pita bartenders at the Terraza Bar for being super attentive to us and making our time spent at their bar most memorable! We had a great time

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor w ocean view. View was beautiful but ac was noisy on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11Lori_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The wife and I stayed here from May 29 to June 5, we were on the 19th floor facing south. We have been to Cancun twice, PDC once and the Iberostar Grand once all within the past 18 months.
Beach: the beach here is expansive enough, with soft sand predominantly covering most of the grounds. There are approximately 80-90 beach loungers and there are umbrellas upon request. A beach volleyball court is also included. Jet ski rentals are on the beach in front of the resort as well.
Water: typical Cancun with rough surf and roped off areas for swimming. We love waves, so we enjoyed this other than not being allowed to go out far enough to play in the further most first set of breakers which were the nicest and largest. There must have been a very large storm before we arrived as the water was not nearly as brilliantly blue nor clear as it was last visit in January. Beverage service on the beach is very good.
Pools: there are three ground floor pools and one preferred pool on the 12th floor level. All are nice with subtle differences. Never an issue getting a lounger, but the canopies are often taken early. There are two pool bars, not swim-up, and an outdoor buffet.
Lobby: nicely done, simple and modern.
Rooms: we stayed in a deluxe ocean view(standard) which has a large double headed shower. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows are insufficient. AC worked well.
Restaurants: the food overall was good, we would rate it a 7.5/10. We are not foodies, but the food was on par with Iberostar Grand.
Entertainment: small and short shows on occasion, this is an area they are lacking compared to the resorts further down the coast. Sunday is an entertainment guy who is beyond friendly.

On a side note: we took the Ultramarine ferry from km 6.5 to Isla Mujeres for a day trip. It cost $19 each round trip. We went to Playa Norte and it was the nicest beach we've ever personally seen. Lined with Palm trees and perfectly still and clear water. Beach chairs and an umbrella cost $12. Last visit we went to Cozumel for snorkeling. If you want diving/snorkeling that's the island to visit, but Playa Norte is much prettier and a little more "islandy".

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our first time to Cancun and first time to a Secrets property. We usually travel to the Turks and Caicos Islands and are generally not fans of all-inclusive vacations. I am not certain if my review will help those of you who travel extensively to various high-end all-inclusive resorts. We have been to Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, but over the past 10-15 years, mainly repeat trips to Turks and Caicos, Las Vegas, and short trips in Canada and the U.S.

HOTEL

The hotel is new, built in 2012. It does sit on a very small footprint, but it is very modern and beautiful. We booked a package vacation via Air Transat Holidays from Toronto. We ended up booking a Preferred Club Junior Suite, mainly for the access to the private pool. Air Transat, nor any of the other Canadian providers seemed to offer the non-preferred Junior Suite. We upgraded our flights to Club Class as well. Was the upgrade to Preferred worth it? We think so, only because we liked the quiet pool on the 12th floor and spent a lot of time there. Overall, is it worth the upgrade? Since we had no pricing for a regular Junior Suite, I checked the Secrets website. The upgrade was probably less than $200 for the two of us, for the week. Worth it for us.
The beds are incredibly comfortable. The chair in the Junior Suite that looks like a dentist's chair is utterly comfortable. The first and second night's stay, we noticed the paper thin walls and people in the hallway, but later slept through the night without any issues....probably that incredibly comfortable king bed! We did not really hear much outside noise, especially since we faced the Hard Rock.

PREFERRED LOUNGE/POOL

If you have done your research, you already know the perks. The Preferred Lounge is on the 21st floor. Floors 21 through to 28 are the preferred floors. The lounge was small and seemed a bit disappointing in its offerings. There were also two desks in a very small space where guests were also being check-in. Not a really great atmosphere, but not a big deal.

The pool is accessed via your room key, but most of the time, one of the two doors to access the preferred pool was left open, I think due to the doors not always working. The pool has no steps, as others have reported, but two ladders to get into the pool. There are loungers with padding, as well as about 8 white cabanas. Olio grill serves lunch as well. Overall, we enjoyed the quiet and great service. The staff there, as down in the regular pool areas, are exceptional in their service. Just fabulous.

FOOD

We ate everywhere, except for the Bluewater Grill. My husband and I both enjoyed all of the food and drink.

STAFF/SERVICE

For us, what makes this property stand out are the employees. The staff could teach lessons in excellent customer service. We encountered so many staff and each one of them was friendly, polite, courteous, and absolutely went out of their way if they could help you with something. From the time we were dropped off by our private transfer, Canada Transfers (excellent, by the way), we were greeted at the door of the van with cool towels. Our butler then greeted us as soon as we went inside and we were offered cold sparkling wine. We were given a brief tour and then settled into our room. We were on the 26th floor, facing the Hard Rock. Some minor examples of the service that we came to enjoy were sometimes noted in the little things. For example, after our first swim on the Friday night, we took our towels up to our room. The next morning, I asked a cleaning staff outside where we should have left our towels the night before and he smiled and took them for us. My husband, who worked in the hotel and restaurant industry for a decade, also commented one morning at breakfast, when the waiter waited to pour his hot coffee when he returned from the buffet. A little thing, but a really keen eye to service. When my husband went out to find ice for my Bailey's, he simply asked one of the staff. She happily took the ice bucket from him and got him the ice.

We tipped everyone and noticed that tipping did not change or improve service, which is not why we tip. We like to tip and that is our choice. We tip for good service, we tip the maid every day, the waiters at all meals, room service, and each time a server brings us a drink.

Finally, without too much back story, we had trouble getting our exact pick-up time for our Air Transat transfer (note to self, if ever on another all-inclusive, ALWAYS use a private transfer). Our butler gladly took over our problem and had it all sorted out. Despite meeting with the Air Transat representative, we were not on the list for pick-up. Totally glad we were in the Preferred Club as our butler saved the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrWagnerMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
2.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
12.4 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#5 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets The Vine Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets The Vine Cancun

Property: Secrets The Vine Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 14.5 | Retorno del Rey, Lot 38 + 38-b, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets The Vine Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the heart of Cancun at Secrets The Vine Cancun. This adults-only, ultra-chic, contemporary resort offers all the indulgences of Unlimited-Luxury(R), starting with 497 modern, elegant guest rooms and suites, 24-hour room service and pool and beach wait service. The 497 graciously appointed guest rooms and suites comes complete with Italian porcelain and teak wood furnishings and sleek, private terraces overlooking the crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and Laguna Nichupte. All guest rooms and suites are equipped with luxurious amenities including 24-hour room and concierge services,daily refreshed mini-bar, smart TVs and much more. Plus, stay connected with Unlimited Connectivity -offering free WiFi and free calling to the U.S. and Canada and more. The experience continues with limitless access to six gourmet restaurants and top-shelf spirits served at the six modern bars and lounges throughout the resort plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to devour late night bites at The Vine Café or stay in and order room service. Sommelier-led wine tastings with some of the world's finest wine collections with wine pairings and wine education are available for all guests to partake in. The Vine Bazaar, a contemporary and unique centralized venue adorned cozy café, relaxing terrace and more indulgent gourmet fare and beverages. All topped off by an array of exciting live entertainment and the added option to visit nearby participating resorts for a night out with the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience. Relax by one of three sparkling swimming pools, partake in many of the daily activities that are offered, or enjoy a spa treatment at the exquisite Secrets Spa by Pevonia(R), boldly inspired by cave-like structures and natural cenotes of the area. Hit the links with complimentary greens fees at a nearby championship course, or partake in Sommelier-led wine tastings. Whether you're doing it all or doing nothing at all Secrets The Vine Cancun is the ultra-chic destination to indulge in pure luxury. Secrets The Vine Cancun - Sparkling. Elegant. Bold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets The Vine Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing