We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel X”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Ranked #156 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Eureka, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel X”
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Hotel X has a great location in downtown Cancun. Perico's restaurant is always a fun night out, and Hotel X is located a short distance from Perico's. It has nice mayan themed artword, and a wonderful pool to enjoy. The hotel also has a restaurant and lounge inside of it, but was never loud in the evening. The price is also nice...under $90 during peak season.

We prefer downtown to the craziness of the Hotel Zone. We are not into crowds, high priced drinks, or all inclusive resorts. We like to experience the local culture, and the downtown area offers that.

If you want to go for a day visit to Hotel Zone and enjoy a beach, it's only a 15 minute taxi ride to get there. Although when we were there, the beach was pretty pathetic due to hurricane damage (perhaps only 10 feet wide).

  • Liked — Location in the downtown area. Everything is within walking distance, unless you want to go to the beach, which is a 15 minute taxi ride
  • Disliked — Nothing....English was difficult to understand at front desk, but we managed
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    112
    110
    56
    91
See reviews for
71
198
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

I booked this hotel for a one night stay post-Holbox island and before an early flight the next day. I booked on travel-yucatan.com as they had the best rates(I think it is also Bestday.com) The posted room rate was $95 and we paid $49. When we arrived, the front desk people were friendly and spoke good English. Our room was clean. The elevator was not working for a short time but was repaired quickly. The decor is very cutesy Mayan, but at least it isn't a concrete box like some. The air-conditioner worked very well and our room was not the least bit musty, which is unusual for rooms in tropical locations. We were on the 3rd floor, so that probably helped. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was about $6 for coffee, fruit, beans and an egg dish. It was ok, although a bit cold and the service was not very good, we kept having to look for our waiter when we needed something. I recommend going elsewhere for food unless you absolutely have to eat there. The pool area looked pretty although we didn't have the time to use it. The 2nd floor was undergoing some renovations, but didn't involve any noise. I thought it was a very good value for $49. We had no problems with noise as we were on the back side of the hotel and on the 3rd floor. It is close to lots of good restaurants, the main Plaza, shopping, etc... It does not have electronic key cards, but does have a security button to prevent anyone else using a key to get in once you are inside and a security chain. I felt safe.

  • Liked — clean and good location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islasisterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral Fl
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This hotel needs to improve its appearance and security. Bedding is SOOOOOO shabby. Single sheet on a bare mattress.
Dingy bedspreads. YUK. Thread bare and raveling towels---no hand towels or washcloths provided. The door is so flimsy that it would yield to the least pressure. Halls are dark and ominous. They are equipped with motion sensor lights so you have to be right under them to get any light. You have no idea what is lurking at the end of the hall. Bathroom has the tiniest toilet and a stand up shower. The room smelled musty and malodorus. I was very thankful that I had packed some pillowcases and a strong sachet to place in the room. Wished I had a full set of linens! I simply did not feel comfortable or secure. There was noise & conversation all night in the hallways. Front desk person was surly & totally unhelpful. That said, the restaurant on site was OK. We had a good evening meal and breakfast the following morning. We only had to do one night here. Could not have stood another one.

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — shabby, appeared unclean, poor security
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnycc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
mdlarz60
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

This is a nice hotel in Centro Cancun. The location is good, rooms clean, front desk excellent, food good, price reasonable. I asked for a quiet room and Tuesday night was ok with a nice breeze blowing in.
However, on a Wednesday night a house near the rear garden area of the hotel had a birthday party. The music was very loud and continued into day break the next day. Hotel security was powerless to get the noise under control. No sleep that night as it was such high noise that even with the windows closed and a/c on high with ear plugs, the music was ridiculously loud. Yaxchilan is a party street with many Discos. The younger party crowd will undoubtably love this location/hotel....for us older folks it's way too loud.
The proffesional massage in the rear of this hotel is one of the best I have been to. I have been to many in the past 60 years!

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — unconrolled loud very loud music and drunk karoke all night
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlarz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Friends who live in Cancun recommended it. We rented a suite for only one night as we were meeting them for dinner prior to commencing our adventure. It was nothing more than a good size hotel room with a king bed (with a hard mattress, which is typical for Mexico). Standard rooms have two doubles. Shower was luke-warm at best. The location is good if you like downtown - right in the center where the locals live and play. Many good restaurants in walking distance. "American" breakfast was included - adequate though not too filling for hearty eaters. Nice quiet pool area. Nothing special as far as hotels go - just a safe, clean, quiet place.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Booked through HRS, then the people at the hotel were unable to find our reservation. The staff asked me to get a printout of our reservation from the internet, which I did. Meanwhile the staff found my reservation. They were not willing to refund the one dollar I spent for internet services. I did this only because they asked me. I don't care about the dollar, but it was very unfriendly (btw: my Spanish is good, is wasn't a language problem). The hotel then was quite kitschy and noisy. Also, the location is bad. "Cancun downtown " can't be really called like that. For a city of over 600,000 it is a joke. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirkkrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We Stayed for a week in Cancun last July. We found Xbalamque Hotel in the Internet while hunting for deals. (We were traveling on a budget).

The pictures of the hotel looked fine and the price was right so we chose to stay there. My husband and I were traveling with our two boys and wanted to visit the archaeological zones of Chichen Itza and Tulum and take the kids to Xcaret and to the beach.

The hotel itself was lovely, with Mayan paintings on its corridor, clean rooms and a nice pool. What we liked about this hotel is the fact that it´s just 4 blocks away from the bus station where you can go to practicly everywhere. You can find buses departing every half hour to Chichen Itza, Playa del carmen, Tulum, Merida, etc.

The street where the Hotel is could get noisy at nights because it´s the street where all the nightlife is in downtown Cancun. I complained and we got a quiet room in the other side of the hotel.

I recommend you to go to Xcaret which is a theme park with awesome underground rivers, aquarium, great beach and good food. The mayan ruins were awesome and breathtaking. The beaches of Cancun, Tulum and Playa del Carmen are the most beautiful I´ve ever seen. Also try walking at 5a avenida in Playa del Carmen in the evening. it´s beautiful.

  • Liked — Its Location
  • Disliked — Gets noisy at nights because it´s where all the nightlife is.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#104 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#113 of 175 in Cancun
197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#131 of 175 in Cancun
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 175 in Cancun
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#101 of 175 in Cancun
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing