We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$886
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$892
US$496
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
US$364
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
US$442
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,074
US$779
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Palace(Cancun)
US$678
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
US$442
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$469
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$421
US$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,007
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
68
118
122
61
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
118
122
61
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown cancunhotel zoneado bus stationlovely poolreal cancunking suitepescaditosmercadoyucatanmaid
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel and I was immediately unsatisfied. Luckily i didn't pay too much for this hotel seeing as though i booked it the day before i flew out to Mexico, as a last minute deal.

Also please be aware if you book bed and breakfast with this hotel, be sure to check how many breakfasts are included as we only got 2 breakfasts every morning for 4 of us. It was very noisy at night as there was some sort of jazz band playing till the early morning. There was no fridge in our room, the shower was very old and i sometimes got a static shock from the taps when trying to turn it off or on.

The location of the hotel was very poor as it isn't situated near any beaches or any major shops, other than souvenir shops which meant we spent alot of pesos on taxis everyday. Also, there was no other solution to traveling to the beach as the 'pool' area wasn't very nice and didn't get any sun during midday.

Other than this id have to say the staff did try to help us out but didn't know very much english, so id recommend learning a few spanish words to speed up the process, Also the beach, 'la playa tortugas' was the main beach we travelled to, it was very nice and offered trips to near by islands, snorkeling and swimming with dolphins. Id recommend the all inclusive boat ride to Isla Mujeres, which was the highlight of our holiday as it had loads to do on the island like, shopping, sightseeing, trips to turtle sanctuary's and an all inclusive buffet which was beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMad038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I´m so sorry for all incovenients in your stay. I will send this information to General Manager, in order to chek these points. Thanks for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stated in the hotel for 1 night only and although it was tolerable, I definitely won't be back. Rooms, although cleanish, in terrible need of updating. There was a thumb width gap in wall around the aircon. The aircon itself seen better days - rattled throughout all night! No remotes(or we weren't given them) for TV and aircon. The breakfast was a total joke: 3 pieces of toast for 2 and a little butter.
My advise pay a bit more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiglet-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce Executive at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will consider all of this situations. All of this will send to General Manager. In order to improve all our service. But, for example, we have changed the Bufet Breakfast, now day is better with more options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We always stay here while in Cancun, but generally not for more than a day or two. We booked through Tingo and our room was $43 USD. Very reasonable rate, which included continental breakfast. The hotel again accommodated our request to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor overlooking pool/garden area. Much quieter than facing street and beautiful breeze so you can open window and go without AC. Our chamber maid, lovely Mayan lady, brought us blankets on request and gave us both a big hug the morning we checked out. We have come to know some of the staff over the years and they always remember us and treat us well. Their new elevator is up and running again!

Not much activity around pool area this visit. I don't think their restaurant onsite attracts a lot of people because there are so many great restaurants within a short walking distance. Their beer prices were too high, so visit the Oxxo nearby and purchase your beer and ice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce Executive at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your comments and your time. We will consider all of them. All of this will send to General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel in Cancun because all the other hotels were fully booked. I really cannot recommend this hotel! It is way too expensive for a maybe 2 star hotel. far from the beach and in a really ugly and noisy area. The stuff was unfriendly and hardly helpful. The rooms smell very musty and the air conditions are very noisy and old. The service is really bad. The restaurant I unfortunately can't recommend either. A lot of things on the menue they can't serve and I got the worst food poispning ever from their quesadillas. They put boiling chicken into my quesadillas which was just super nasty and made me sick for 3 days. I asked them to give me at least back the money for those quesadillas which they just didn't want to! The worst in this hotel is, that is is incredibly noisy at night. They play the loudest music all night long and won't ever apologize for it or offer you a refund.
Just really stay away from this hotel, there a lot better ones in Cancun.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caronanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce Executive at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

I´m so sorry for all inconvenients. All of comments will send it at General Manager, in order to improve all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Have passed by this hotel several times during the evenings on my previous trips to Cancun and as the rate was quite reasonable, we decided to try it for one night this year. Both the outside and the inside is MUCH nicer in the dim evening light than during daylight but then it do look nice. We had booked one of the suites and was first given one facing the busy street so we asked if there was one available that was less noisy. The reception was very kind and gave us immediately a huge nice suite away from the street. We were really happy and grateful, until the ventilator outside our window started late evening and kept going during the whole night. Even though the window was closed the humming kept disrupting our sleep, together with music coming from below. The complimentary breakfast in the nice restaurant was ok but rather basic. There is a nice big pool but we were unlucky with the weather so it was too cold to try it. Guess it is an ok hotel with central location but quite boring and nothing special so would not choose it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will consider all of situations. All of this will send to General Manager. In order to improve all our service. Hopefully that in your next visit to Cancun the weather will be friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews