We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dated, can be noisy, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Ranked #159 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and although it is dated and I noisy it is not bad for the price. On check in, look at room before accepting keys, rooms vary in size and some bathrooms really need mold removal from tiles above showers, all a/c units are old and loud but work. I slept much better with ear plugs after my first nite. Also internet only works in some rooms, check if that's important to you. Close to ADO, Palapas parque, good food, local bus lines to hotel zone. Pool is nice, can be over run by unruly kids for locals who cater bday parties, etc. The staff is always nice and attentive. The restaurant food is nothing special. The spa services are good, had a relaxing steam bath, exfoliation, and deep tissue massage for 50 or 60 US dollars. It's not new, could use some help but.... the price and staff make up for a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was reallt good, it was clean, Big bathroom, hot Walter it worked anytime You wanted, the breakfast was kind of buffet so yo can Eat a lot unlike other hotels that You get coffe and a toast. I was afraid of going to this hotels because there's a lot of bad comments in tripadvisor But i took the risk and it was worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acidmunkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

3 good things - location, decoration and pool

bad things - customer service - the receptionist made me angry with his patronizing tone every time something did not work - saying smile you are in the Caribbean - as internet that never works for example. bfast is POOR - 4 star hotel serving only heated sliced bread or pancake, fruit and coffee? appalling, makes the price you pay very expensive..as well they have a very bad system where you need to get a card with your room number before every bfast and they say in front of other customers if you are entitled to only what they wrongly consider continental bfast or some add up, a horrible omelette. BE CAREFUL with the travel agency located inside the hotel, smart travel - the guy sold me a cruise trip to Isla Mujeres that in the end did not work on Sundays so i was alone in the beach and had to close another deal having to claim my money back after. The hotel has a bad reputation and all tour agents from beaches around told me it would be better to pay a bit more to stay in a more reliable hotel in the Cancun area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptripexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I booked and prepaid for our room through RCI. When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation. Finally, they took my printed copy of the RCI receipt, and after 20 minutes, they finally said they had a room for us. Important to note, there was a sign taped down on front desk "No running water from 3-6 pm".
We are shown to our room, which had an odd odor. The bellhop plugged in the AC unit (controls did not work) to cool the room down, I opened a window to key fresh air in. No screens on the windows. I tried to wash my face. No water. I started looking around... night stand ? Filthy. Phone? Filthy. Counter? Filthy. Mirror? Did they mop it off with a dirty towel? At least the sheets looked clean and not slept in.
My husband and I went for walk to check out the neighborhood. We had dinner and returned to the room after dark. I took one of the two towels from off the bed and went to take a shower, and realized the bathroom floor was ... Filthy. Let me describe this... It was actually textured with a stucco like material, but it could not have been scrubbed in forever. The floor of the shower had black streaks of filth imbedded in the shower floor area. I couldn't even bring myself to break out the hotel provided bar of soap, opting instead to rinse off. By the time I walked to the bed, my feet were dirty. We closed the windows before bed due to the street & bar noise. During the night the odor returned to the room. In the morning, my husband came out of the shower, and tossed his towel on the floor. I looked at the towel and asked where he was bleeding. His response? I'm not. My response? There is blood on that towel, where are you bleeding??? He wasn't bleeding. The towel had fresh blood stains on it.
Needless to say, we headed out to find a different hotel. Finding a hotel for a full week the week before Christmas is an impossibility.
Keep in mind, I prepaid for 7 nights at this hotel. I were told they would refund my money... I hope they do.
However, I strongly recommend you don't stay at this so called hotel/resort. I do have pictures of the filthy conditions.

Room Tip: Just don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My stay was really nice here. The staff went out of its way to make me feel comfortable at all times. They were very respectful of my privacy and rest. The Mayan theme depicted so beautifully throughout the hotel shows pride in the history of this area. Their pool and gardens area is so natural. They have a theater for live plays and performances. Their services include travel, for sightseeing in the area and other, car rental, spa, hair salon, boutique, restaurant, room service and taxies are available at the front entrance. There is also a dance school (salsa). One can walk to the Palapas park within one block and enjoy reasonable local cooking, kiosks for arts and crafts, live entertainment 7 days a week. This is a great value for families.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce| at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We welcome your comments about all the services that has Xbalamqué Resort & Spa Hotel. We hope your visit again to enjoy our hospitality further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After checking in, I found that there was NO toilet seat on the toilet. It was quickly fixed...but????
There in none or imitted WiFi access....real bummer!!
You need to ask for hot water so they can turn on the heater. Then it takes 1/2 hr before it's hot enough to take a shower. I like to take random showers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeRealMacaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I´m so sorry for this inconvenient. All of this will send to General Director. In order to improve all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We wanted to rate this experience as a 'ZERO'; however, the Trip Advisor System doesn't allow for zero stars! Here is what happened:

1) When we checked in at the Hotel Xbalamque in Downtown Cancun on 13 May 2013, we processed a Credit Card Charge of 1,000 Pesos to cover expected meal charges. The credit slip for this transaction had the words 'CHECK IN' on the top of the slip.

2) During our stay at the Hotel, we spent only 130 Pesos on meals.

3) When we checked out on 18 May 2013, at the Desk Clerk's suggestion, we paid the him 130 Pesos in cash to cover the 130 Pesos that we had spent on meals.

4) We have to believe that the Hotel has records that indicate that we only charged 130 Pesos in meals during our stay.

5) Likewise, we believe that there is no documentation showing that we charged 1,000 Pesos for meals or anything else during our stay at the Hotel Xbalamque.

6) The Desk Clerk had told us that if we paid the 130 Pesos in cash, then he would process a refund to our Credit Card for the 1,000 Pesos that was charged at 'CHECK IN'.

7) Instead of processing a refund, the Desk Clerk processed a second charge to our Credit Card for 1,000 Pesos. The credit slip for this transaction had the words 'CHECK OUT' on the top of the credit slip.

8) Apparently, a Credit Refund in Mexico has the word 'DEVOLUCION' at the top of the slip. We were unaware of this.

9) At a result of this second charge, the Hotel Xbalamque had billed our Credit Card for two (2) charges of 1,000 Pesos; so instead of zeroing out the charge, the Desk Clerk actually doubled the improper charge to a total of 2,000 Pesos. We did not realize this at that time.

10) Apparently, the next day, the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant figured that this second [18 May 2013] charge of 1,000 Pesos was improper, so he issued a refund [with the word 'DEVOLUCION' at the top of the credit slip], which effectively canceled one of the two improper charges.

11) At this point, we were being overcharged for only one of the 1,000 Pesos charges to our Credit Card

12) A reasonable person might assume that the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant would have asked the Desk Clerk what he was attempting to do when he issued the second charge for 1,000 Pesos. If the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant had asked this question and learned that the second charge of 1,000 Pesos was caused by a mistake in attempting to refund the first 1,000 pesos charge, then he would have issued a second refund for 1,000 Pesos and the problem would have been eliminated. However, a second refund was not processed.

13) When we left Cancun to return to the United States, we had no idea that the Hotel Xbalamque had overcharged us in the amount of 1,000 Pesos.

14) When we received our Credit Card Bill in June 2013, we saw that we had been either mistakenly or deliberately overcharged 1,000 Pesos by the Hotel Xbalamque.

15) On 12 June 2013, we sent an email to the Hotel Xbalamque informing them of the overcharge and asking to have the 1,000 Pesos refunded. We got absolutely NO RESPONSE !

16) We finally found the email address of a specific person at the Hotel Xbalamque, so on 14 October 2013, we provided her with all of the information about what had happened. Hopeful that she would understand our problem and see that the 1,000 Pesos was refunded.

17) The specific person that we contacted was Ms. Blanca E. Ovando, Gerente de Reservaciones, at the Hotel Xbalamque, who appeared to be willing to help refund our money.

18) We explained the entire situation to her and asked to have the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant issue one (1) more refund for the outstanding 1,000 Pesos overcharge.

19) Ms. Ovando led us to believe that the 1,000 pesos would be refunded to our Credit account and, in fact, on 16 October 2013, she provided us with a copy of a 'DEVOLUCION' for 1,000 Pesos dated that day. She asked us to wait a few days for this refund to be processed.

20) After several days of waiting, we contacted Ms. Ovando to tell her that the refund had not been processed. She told us that the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant would be hand-carrying the transaction to the bank the next day.

21) This process of us waiting a few days, then re-contacting Ms. Ovando to tell her that the refund still had not been processed, and her telling us that the Hotel Xbalamque Accountant would be hand-carrying the transaction to the bank the next day was repeated several times.

22) As of 4 November 2013, the second 1,000 Pesos refund has not been processed. Ms. Ovando has ceased corresponding with us. We have concluded that her tactic was just to string us along. You decide if you agree with us or not.

23) We consider this episode an 'educational experience'. Any education usually costs money and we paid the price. But, perhaps, this story will provide you with some useful information that can help you from getting ripped-off.

24) When you get a credit card refund in Mexico, make sure that the word 'DEVOLUCION' is on the top of the slip ! Or, better yet, use cash !

Room Tip: The workers at the Xbalamque Hotel are mostly delightful an honest. Unfortunately, there always seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan R, E-commerce at Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I´m so sorry for all incovenients in your stay.
We have followed your case. The return was made in the first day in our banking point of sell. But, for situations of the bank, your money is not returned to your credit card.
A few days ago we received the notification from the bank that the money has been returned to your credit card. Could you check your bank statement, in the case that the money isn´t reflected, could you send us an email to reservaciones@xbalamque.com
Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#145 of 177 in Cancun
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#86 of 177 in Cancun
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#104 of 177 in Cancun
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#109 of 177 in Cancun
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#133 of 177 in Cancun
129 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £22 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing