We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Ranked #156 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Little dated but great value. 2 cool lounges open late with great food. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. English speaking and didn't make fun of my broken Spanish. Like the funky feel to it with a nice private pool area and patio. Lots of bars and nightlife in the area. Only downside is parking is tight with only a few spots in the back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Surferjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    112
    110
    56
    91
See reviews for
71
198
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Best thing about the Xbalamque are the painted details of Maya ruins and ancient life that cover the walls of the lobby and stairwells! Pleasant staff and right around the corner from the La Habichuela restaurant--a real treat!

Room Tip: if you want to avoid the high rise touristy hotel scene of the beach at Cancun, stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEADSHOTSphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked 3 nights at this hotel, but only ended up staying one. We had planned a tour packed vacation, not planning on being at the hotel much. I read the reviews, and thought I knew what to expect. We have stayed at boutique hotels in the past and have had very god experiences. This one was so-so. A combination of dissapointment and an injust to my husband had us leaving after the first night. The injury did not happen at the hotel, but the location of this hotel made it undesirable for him because he had a hard time walking.

We arrived very late. The front desk staff was neither helpful or very nice. Its tough - being a tourist who does not speak the language, checking in after a very long day of travel. It was a relief, the man who handled our luggage tried to ease the process.

The hotel gives a decent first impression, the artwork is pretty neat. The room was not clean. The window in the bathroom, not only did not close, but didnt even have a latch. We were on the first floor, and were not comfortable with that. The curtains were very thin, might as well not had any there. I felt like we were on display in a fishbowl in this room.

The pool was disappointing, much smaller than the pictures portray. When going for breakfast the next morning, the staff informed me that we needed a ticket for the included buffet. Reception must have forgot, so I had to back track to retrieve.

There was one highlight of this stay. We went to the bar downstairs that faces the street that night for drinks. We met the chefs sister - very friendly and helpful. The live music was amazing, and the atmosphere relaxing.

We left after the first night, gave up our non refundable next 2 night stays, and moved to the hotel area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ampuriabrava
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

After a long time of research,which hotel to pick in Cancun, we decided to book one night in the Xbalamque. Instead of 1 night we stood 4. And the next time in Cancun, i will definetly stay here again. The rooms are spacious, spotless clean, all the staff is very friendly, helpfull and well looking after you. The hotel is nicely decorated with Maya themes, interesting and never seen before. I had a look in several other rooms and they were all very nice. My room was faced to the street, which is ofcourse a bit noisy, but i think ,its very interesting to see all the people,trafic and all the action. If somebody wants a quiet room, there are plenty of them facing the huge patio with garden and pool. The pool area is great and the pool get cleaned and maintained several times a day. We meet aswell a few nice interesting people here. A special thanks to the receptionists, who answered all my typicall tourist questions, thanks to the restaurant staff for their brillant service, too. Aswell i will remember the interesting conversation about god and the world i had with Luis, the manager. The hotel is in a very good location, closed to many restaurants, the main bus station, Av.Tulum etc. We really enjoyed the included breakfast, which consists of fresh fruits,cereals,pancakes etc.We highly recomend this charming Hotel. I have traveled to almost 40 countries and know, if a hotel is worth this review.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spacecowboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms are big and spacious , but need to be fixed you can see and smell the mold we were on the 3rd floor but he had to moved down because air conditioning wasnt working, was imposible sleep like that as the room was so warm. Wifi was working perfect on the 3rd floor but when we moved tp the 2nd one wifi didnt work at all.
This is just our first half day in it. Wake up in the morning came for breakfast and is the worst I ever see for a 4 star hotel as they say... is more like 'hostel' breakfast: fruits, pancakes, cheap cereals , horrible coffee, that's it! If you like an omelette you have to pay 35$ pesos.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Micaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and although it is dated and I noisy it is not bad for the price. On check in, look at room before accepting keys, rooms vary in size and some bathrooms really need mold removal from tiles above showers, all a/c units are old and loud but work. I slept much better with ear plugs after my first nite. Also internet only works in some rooms, check if that's important to you. Close to ADO, Palapas parque, good food, local bus lines to hotel zone. Pool is nice, can be over run by unruly kids for locals who cater bday parties, etc. The staff is always nice and attentive. The restaurant food is nothing special. The spa services are good, had a relaxing steam bath, exfoliation, and deep tissue massage for 50 or 60 US dollars. It's not new, could use some help but.... the price and staff make up for a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was reallt good, it was clean, Big bathroom, hot Walter it worked anytime You wanted, the breakfast was kind of buffet so yo can Eat a lot unlike other hotels that You get coffe and a toast. I was afraid of going to this hotels because there's a lot of bad comments in tripadvisor But i took the risk and it was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acidmunkeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#101 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#111 of 175 in Cancun
197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Kokai
Hotel Plaza Kokai
#131 of 175 in Cancun
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#74 of 175 in Cancun
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#102 of 175 in Cancun
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing