We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Ranked #157 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Cuernavaca
2 reviews
“awesome”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

well .the first time im stay a long time far from my house but when i was with my friends in hotel xbalamque was a great moments because the atmosphere is just great has a nice bares well is just great there are everything around just near also the bus stop ......i hope u have the great experience to be in this place is will make a grate moments for you peace ...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orihuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    111
    108
    56
    89
See reviews for
68
196
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We booked this hotel as a 4* and couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived. The hotel is very dark, mainly because most of the lights in the lobby and hallways were broken. Our first room was a death trap with exposed electrical wiring, broken bathroom mirror, and a big chunk of broken glass near the bed.
The rooms are like caves, with concrete bases for the beds, very uncomfortable.
The staff were very ignorant and only wanted to speak to you if they were trying to sell a day trip. The pool was also terrible, and was surrounded by family of the staff, you were lucky if you got a metal chair as all of the beds were taken up by them sitting there all day smoking and leaving food everywhere.
This was the worst place we've ever been to and we didn't even get it on the cheap!!! It is advertised as a 4* but we found out that this is a rating the hotel has given itself as it has a spa.
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LiverpoolMustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vilnius
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Although the interior was so authentic and incredible, the staff was very impolite, rude and unhelpfu, even the head of the hotel, that made a very sad impression. Instead of one big bed we had two separate on our honeymoon!!! :)) they were not willing to give a normal room anyway :(
They really know nothing about customer service!!
Would not recommend it to anybody, but maybe you will be lucky ;)

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raselex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

If you want Waikiki, go to Hawaii. If its a real Mexican experience you want, stay at the X. The rooms are tile and stucco, the bathrooms almost clean, the water temperature fluctuates for no apparent reason, the bed was hard but huge, the nights are alive with the sounds of traffic, and the buzz of weekend parties. There is a police station right behind the X, armed troops around the hotel day and night and they live in the X as well. A local said there is a drug war going on so the police are ....a little tense, but not at all hostile. There is a money changing booth right outside the X with current exchange rates. Across the street we found the best fish tacos, and Mayan style food, and the X opened a Mayan food spot the day we we were leaving, so we took a couple of killer tortas with habenero salsa for the plane. Mercado 28 is 4 blocks or so from the X, and it has everything Mexican or Mayan you would want. Everyone was friendly and helpful at the X. They went above and beyond for us if we asked for info or help. My wife is Mexican American , and I (white guy)can get by , so language was not an issue. One night we found a park behind the X that had street food vendors and little bumper electric cars and a playground for the kids. There are numerous restaurants and stores in the centro area of Cancun . If you are so inclined to rough it for a night or two, and get a feel for what real Mexico is about, try the X , the Caribe, or Margarito, which all can be seen from the X. We engaged the folks working at the small tiendas, taxis,hotel maids, and strangers everyday, and had the best time just chatting about Cancun, and what their lives were like. Bottom line is that staying at the X allowed us to experience daily Cancun from a totally non " Hotel Zone" perspective. Next time maybe we stay at the Caribe to get another take on Cancun. The Chitzen Itza Tour was outstanding. If you go, be prepared for the humidity and heat. Its a jungle, not a theme park. Otherwise be prepared to be amazed at what the Mayans and Toltecs we able to do so long ago. The X was not exactly comfortable, but not as some have suggested. I guess it depends on your needs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocknroll48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We got a cheap deal to this hell hole, my advice is don't do it spend a little more. This hotel fronts as a 4* our travel rep even laughed at this and said it was a 2* at most he said it was the same as a $30 room in America.
On arrival the staff were rude, we had no help with our bags and the lift was broken. There were no lights on in the hallways and there were mounds of food left sitting on a bin outside our room.
We thought our room was like a cave, all white with lumps on the walls. Facilities are basic free cheap soap and ancient frayed towels.
The water that come out of our tap was often brown and made a lovely screaming noise as it come out.
Our first room had a chunk of broken glass next to the pillow! wires hanging out of the wall and paint all over the mirror. The towels were brown and frayed so much that they looked like the hulks pants. Our second room wasn't much better.
We went down to the pool and found it no better there, the water was freezing and very unclean my partner got an ear infection from it. The pool did not get cleaned during our stay and it had a foam of scum on it fron the dirt. The pool was often surrounded by staffs family they took up the tiny sitting area and smoked all day. The floor near the pool was covered in fish bones and bottle tops, it was foul.
Our beds were solid concrete bases with a matress on top and stained sheets.
We complained relentlessly to get out of here and in the end paid to go to the hotel zone for our last 4 nights.
The only good thing about this place is that wal mart was a ten minute walk and you were near the locals.
If you have children beware there is broken glass everywhere the windows on the 2nd floor were cracked and if you leant on them they could fall through, not safe for a little one.
The bus stop was around the corner we used it everyday to escape the hotel. My advice is unless you are a backpacker or need to do mexico on the cheap then stay away and do not book with FLEETWAY TRAVEL!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank bubbles2two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Other peoples reviews made me think twice before I went but the hotel was just fine. Room was clean, bathroom was cool. Bartender was nice.
It wasnt spectacular but wasnt bad either. Only a few blocks from the bus station so that was nice.

  • Liked — close to everything
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

basically, that's the message we received from the female and male working the front desk at the time. We booked through Expedia and were supposed to be in a large deluxe suite and receive free standard rate meals. the female receptionist just shook her head while looking over the itinery and then commenced writing up what she was going to give us instead, which was not the deluxe room and there would be no free meals....not while she was on watch, anyway. we requested her to phone expedia for clarification and again she shook her head and basically tried to hand over the key to an inferior room and while doing so informed us that meals would cost us 100 pesos each if we wanted to include meals. at that point we decided to try staying somewhere where the service and rooms were great which was el rey del caribe. note: we had pre-booked these places and had no idea what they were going to be like in advance except by what others had said on trip advisor, etc. el rey did indeed have a room for us and it just happened to be the room we stayed in before and it was all very inviting and comfortable. summary: there are lots of great places in mexico to stay at and wonderful mexican people to meet, however, once in awhile one can be unlucky but we just have to make the best of it. afterall, we're on vacation....right :)

  • Liked — leaving the premises
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennisTruscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antillano Hotel
Antillano Hotel
#104 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Royal Lagoon
Grand Royal Lagoon
#123 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#91 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#102 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Yaxchilan No. 31, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cultural Hotel that represents the Mayan Culture and mythology. 80 standard rooms, are usually decorated to reflect the constant desire to show the Mexican culture, its colors and carved stones.We have Spa, Relaxation Massage, Reductive, Steam Bath (Temazcal), Facials, Treatments, Beauty Salon, Meeting rooms, Conferences, Yoga, Pilates, Film Art, Art Gallery, Swimming Pool (Out Door), Beach Club, Car Rental, Travel and tours, Wireless Internet, Parking, Elevator, Radio Station, Handicap Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xbalamque Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xbalamque Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing