We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Vacation”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #23 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon:) AMAZING experience for me and my husband in the ROYAL SERVICE!! Everyone is really nice and treat you like a king/queen in this beautiful palace! Special thanks to all the services in the royal pool! Thank you sooo much Omar, Pedro, Octavio… and ALL these guys that make these services very special!
Please tip even if your all-inclusive.. they deserve it for all their hard work :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,422)
There are newer reviews for Paradisus Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,417 - 4,423 of 9,422 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel and everything is good but don't get fool with My Time, I didn't got any special service for having My Time even after complaining 7-10 times. Rest service and all is good. with My Time you have coupon which I got on 6th day that to after knowing from other friends and they were supposed to give me same same time when we check in

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Dimpal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in the resort 10 days together with 8 friends , so, the reservations for "a la carte restaurants" were difficult to get, even one day in advance . Anyway, exepting Tempo, which is very expensive, the rest of them are average; NAOS international restaurant is ok, but in rush hours, the lack of organizing things is obvious. Food choice is good, however few of the members of the staff are almost rude.
Accomodation is fine; the music at poolbars is too loud on beach side rooms and lasts too many hours a day. It seems like a "teenagers "hotel. Cleaning of the rooms was superficial, under the beds there was a thick layer of dust. The technical team was efficient and they helped us almost every day with a problem: stuck doors, leaking pipes, air conditioned, bad key cards. This hotel is older than you'd expect for its stars.
The beach is exceptional, however the beach boys make a business from "reserving" places at 6 AM, 4 hours in advance for some special guests; think they could use a better control from their superiors, it's only them that do not respect the" 30 minutes rule"

Beautiful tours: dolphins, sharks,aqua parks, good public transportation; very poor WiFi in the rooms

Room Tip: the upper floors
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank icmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful property with gorgeous white sand beach! Resort should make it a little bit more clear for families about kids activities. The hotel has a kids club but all activities were for kids 1-6 years old. Had some troubles booking dinner reservations as you have to book only 24 hours in advance and dinners were booked up pretty early - 8 am on some days was too late. However, the buffet food was absolutely delicious and staff took care of everything we needed. Great pools also!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view - gorgeous!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had Royal Service...Sergio was our Butler....Great vacation....Pool swim up bar was fun and then you could go mellow out at the Royal Adult Pool...All restaurants were excellent !!! the bartenders treat you like a king !! Please tip even if you are all inclusive !!!

Room Tip: 4204 is great view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Traveled with 15 people so the size of the resort was nice, wasn't too big and there was only one pool bar so we always could find each other. I'll list out my pro cons and tips to make it easier but overall and average place I would not return. One big thumbs up to the customer service and workers, all were great!Pros: gym and classes, great. some food was really good, but most was ave. but the theme of lunch everyday changed and was nice. Room service food was delish! staff was super helpful and kind, kids zone was awesome for my 6 and 9 year old, they did something new and special (like cooking) everyday. Hotel shows every night were great. Cons: everywhere in the hotel and restaurants were boiling hot - your "resort credits" are a joke, you had to carry around a coupon book, yes a coupon book to get anything. Wine upgrades were so over priced it was terrible. Bring cash because there were lots of extras and tipping was expected! If you want shade my the pool rent a cabana for $50 a day, ouch! TIPS: bring lots of cash and bring a float for the pool, the pool is just a touch too deep and everyone there has to by a float unless you are over 5'4, stick one in your suitcase and save $30! Book a photo shoot, its free and the pictures come out amazing (ps buy the disk so you own them). Talk your price down for everything, at the hotel, stores, rentling stuff, for anything you purchase it was harder to make a deal at the downtown markets than at the hotel.

Room Tip: Our AC did not work when we arrived or not well, we were on the 5th floor and it was so hot. The hot...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robynquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor and for share us your the Cons that your encountered during your recent stay, We regret that we did not achieve our goal and commit that we will do better.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass too your positive comments to our staff .

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was our first time to visit Mexico and the color of the beach is what caught my attention the day we arrived. I thought it was just in pictures but the color of the ocean was real...turquoise. I have been to Bahamas and Grand Cayman but this by far is the best beach I have been to...the color, the waves and the water. The staff are all great! They were all friendly and very attentive to the needs of the guests. We did not go for Royal Service yet we were treated like royalty. It was a truly wonderful experience to have been to this resort...we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Myla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
2.2 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#16 of 176 in Cancun
6,126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#26 of 176 in Cancun
3,188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
3,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £205 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless Luxury with an Avant-Garde Flair Evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Meliá Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Meliá Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Meliá Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatán Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Meliá, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing