We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, not couples”
Review of Paradisus Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradisus Cancun
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place for the family with small children, not for couples, great food, great accomadations, nice beach, nice pool.
Only issue was that you needed to rent the poolside cabanas inorder to reserve them, kind of petty.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,721 - 4,727 of 9,928 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is one of the best vacation, i have taken. The hotel is 4-5 star with great
amenities and services. The foods varieties is unbelievable, great taste and varieties. You have more than enough to choose from. Varieties of fruits and fresh. The restaurants are first class with wonderful services. The staffs were very polite and ready and willing to assist promptly. I will definitely repeat my visit and highly recommend the hotel. You will definitely get the value for your money and more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank ADEYEMI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for seven nights with my husband in a Royal Service Junior Suite with a lagoon view. We had originally wanted a sea view room but they were fully booked. Upon check-in, we inquired about this again and were first shown a bigger suite with a sea view on the ground floor and then the deluxe suite on either the 5th or 6th floor with a lagoon view. We chose the lagoon view because my husband loves sunsets and because the sea view from the room on the ground floor was pretty limited, to say the least.

Royal service is a must, my rating and experience of this hotel would be considerably lower without it. The Royal Service gives you a nicer, calmer and child-free pool, great beach-side service and the lounge where you can serve yourself a huge glass of perfectly nice sparkling wine (note; not champagne, as some have claimed!), among other things, whenever you want. In short, it pretty much raises the standard of the hotel and your hotel experience with one star.

Positives:

- The All Inclusive plan was extensive and included more or less everything within reason (ie. also, for example, espresso, sparkling wine, sake and an array of different wines which I have seen excluded at other AI-hotels we’ve stayed at previously)

- Fantastic beach service; menus and food are brought to the beach so you can actually spend the entire day on your sun lounger and have food and drinks brought to you. We booked beach cabanas on two days (you get two days in royal service) and they were absolutely gorgeous. However, we had no problems whatsoever getting sun loungers under a palapa on the other four days (and we’re not early risers and do not participate in the towel game).

- Gorgeous beach. The red flag was up every single day but that didn’t stop people from wading in and swimming.

- I was initially worried about the room since some previous comments on TA have noted that it’s in need of modernizing. Yes, it’s not the flashiest room with the newest designer lighting, twin sinks or rainforest shower but it’s clean and sufficiently modern. I did not feel that it was old. Room had excellent soundproofing (or, at least our did) and the minibar (with M&Ms!) was replenished daily.

- We travel extensively around the world with my husband and without exception always get stomach problems at some point even though we stay away from all the usual suspects. Here, I decided to risk it and even went for ice in drinks and some veggies. Amazingly, we had no problems whatsoever.

Problems:

- We realized immediately upon checking into our room that our toilet was not flushing. We called the front desk who promised to take care of it. When we came back from dinner it was still not flushing. I called the front desk again. They told me someone had been up and fixed it. This was an outright lie since we’d used the toilet before realizing the problem so we could tell no one had flushed it. I called again, this time more sternly. At this point we were getting pretty frustrated because we’d been travelling for the past 20 hours, had arrived at the hotel in the early evening, had had a quick meal and just wanted to go to bed. I understand that hotel rooms need maintenance once in a while and that things break down. I can easily compromise with certain things but a flushing toilet isn’t one of them. We waited for another 45 minutes until maintenance showed up, they worked for 20 minutes and the problem was resolved. My bedside table lamp was also broken but although we told the front desk about this four times on four different occasions during the week, nothing ever happened. It didn’t feel like a huge thing so in the end we just let it be.

- Inconsistency when communicating with staff. In addition to the incident described above, we experienced similar problems on a number of other occasions. 1. We were planning on dining at Bana one evening. I don’t eat sushi so I asked three different members of staff beforehand if the restaurant also served other food. They all said yes. When we got there and were handed the menus it was blatantly obvious that it was all sushi. I had all the other items on the menu, ie. a small noodle soup and some fried starters. The waiter made things worse by insisting that I “should try a little bit, it’s very nice”. I’m not five. 2. On our first morning, when we had planned to have a long lie-in, we were rudely awakened by the phone ringing at 8.43. It was the Melia concierge, trying to give us the time-share pitch. The next morning, the phone again rang before nine, waking us up again, but there was no one in the other end (wrong number?). We learned our lesson and disconnected our room phones for the night after that. 3. One morning I called to reserve two spots for the tequila tasting. I was told it was already full although bookings had just opened three minutes earlier. When I asked about this, the lady in the other end went silent and then hung up the phone!! We simply decided to turn up for the tasting. There were the two of us and two other people! Pretty bizarre.

- Wine in the AI package was served by glass, not per bottle, which was pretty annoying. We constantly had to get a waiter to top up our glasses since we're hard-core wine-drinkers.

- The hotel blasts out really loud and annoying techno music constantly on one side of the beach. If you’re on the Royal side you will hear it depending on the wind. We considered renting a beach cabana one day on this ‘music side’ since the cabanas looked pretty but were put off by the music. I think the hotel advertises these as party cabanas, but unfortunately the party atmosphere spills over to everyone else as well who might be looking for a more tranquil and romantic experience.

- There is a similar problem with music clashing in the lobby during the evening. Just outside Bana, they have a piano or violin player in the evenings. Unfortunately, you are simultaneously bombarded with music from at least the lobby and the evening show.

- Desserts at all restaurants were pretty bad. There was no ice cream, which was a pity.

Other things to take note of for fellow travelers:

- Restaurant service varied from fantastic to utterly and totally lousy, we experienced the whole range.

- There is no restaurant for dinner on the beach (except if you pay extra for the private dining option) and almost all are more or less inside for dinner (except for Market Grill and the Royal Service restaurant and buffet for lunch). Many are huddled together in the main lobby and although they’ve done a good job of separating between them it feels like such a waste to not have, for example, a barefoot seafood restaurant right on the beach.

- Butler service is odd. We had a good butler, who did all of our dinner reservations etc., but if you’ve stayed at other hotels (5 star) with real, proper butler service you will notice a big difference. It felt like they’d come up with a fun-sounding and attention-grabbing term but then not really implemented it in practice and thought about what a butler is supposed to do.

- This was not American spring break time but the hotel still seemed to attract a certain amount of adults (both younger and older) who appeared to consider it acceptable to behave as though it was their private party arena. They were walking around the hotel without shoes (or perhaps just beach flip flops for dinner as ‘dress up’), jumping headfirst into the pool and yelling (“making new acquaintances”) from one bali bed to the next. The swim-up bar was unfortunately totally run over by them and they were doing body shots in the pool (yes, really). Extremely uncomfortable for everyone else.

- There is no complimentary beach bag in the room that one can borrow.

- We had perfect weather, it did not rain a single time during our week-long stay in July. This isn't really a comment about the hotel, but just as info for others thinking about whether Cancun is okay in July.

All in all, this is a solid 4 star hotel in a gorgeous location on a beautiful beach with friendly and, for the most part, pretty good service (especially the beach service!), perfectly acceptable food (as long as you’re not expecting Michelin standards) and drinks and a perfect place to unwind and just lie back, enjoy the view and the strawberry margaritas.

Most of the negative comments above (except for the toilet issue) did not really detract significantly from a great vacation. Just set your expectations right: it’s all-inclusive and if you’re paying around 200 euros/night you can’t expect five-star luxury, amenities, food or service.

Would definitely recommend, but only if you get the Royal Service, and would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Boarding_gate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Worst experience ever. No air conditioning anywhere besides lobby. Poor service, horrible food . Cant really mention a single thing that was ok. None of the stuff speaks or understands english. I've traveled a lot but never had such a bad experience. Did not enjoy at all! Stay away from this old, unprofessional, unfriendly and WARM hotel! It's not worth it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Vetusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDCR, Quality Department at Paradisus Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Paradisus Cancún Resort as your host during your recent visit.

We are humbled to have received your comments, for there really is no greater way to better our services than by receiving truly vital feedback from a valued guest. We truly appreciate that you have so graciously allowed us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience, and we also appreciate if you have any suggestions you can provide us.

To all our staff Maya and Spanish are their native languages, we all do our best effort to learn English at a high level and provide quality service to all guests who not speak Spanish. Once again for the inconveniences you encountered.

Please be assured that we do take all feedbacks and suggestions seriously, and we will look into them accordingly.

We hope that you'll give us another opportunity to serve you and your family the next time you're in Cancún.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I visited Paradius Resot and spa hotel for my birthday and they made it so special. We were lucky to get an upgrade to royal suite with ocean view, it was just amazing. The hotel staff were very friendly and made our stay very comfortable. Food options were very good, specially Vento. Victor our server made the experience very special. Also the royal suite pool area service was excellent. Over all excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Rashmitsuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Resort was absolutely gorgeous. Customer service could have been MUCH better. We checked in and ended up having to wait 4 hours for our rooms to be ready. The staff didn't really make any attempts to accommodate us while we waited. When asking for help, staff kept bouncing us back and forth. The restaurants were all really good. BlueAgave was my favorite. The buffet was also great. Ask for the mango blended margarita.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Caribbean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_necas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon:) AMAZING experience for me and my husband in the ROYAL SERVICE!! Everyone is really nice and treat you like a king/queen in this beautiful palace! Special thanks to all the services in the royal pool! Thank you sooo much Omar, Pedro, Octavio… and ALL these guys that make these services very special!
Please tip even if your all-inclusive.. they deserve it for all their hard work :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,158 reviews
4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
10,431 reviews
3.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
0.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, km 16.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £170 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 678
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless luxury with an avant-garde flair evocative of an ancient Mayan civilization; lavish architecture that rises into the sky and slips back into the sandy Cancun shore. Gran Melia Cancun Resort is a 5-star, AAA 4-diamond beachfront resort, voluminous as it is elegant, decadent as it is distinguished. Gran Melia Cancun's five majestic pyramids decorate this timelessly-tropical scene, revealing a backdrop of the Caribbean Sea. Four spectacular pools, luxurious guestrooms, dining and the hotel's renowned YHI Spa, one of the most prestigious in the world, are only a taste of a bold collection of services and amenities offered at this sleek, seductive and luxurious Cancun resort paradise. Positioned, carefully, in Cancun's Hotel Zone, Gran Melia Cancun luxury hotel is within 5 minutes from the city's premier shopping centers, 15 minutes from the International Airport, and immediate proximity to the downtown and many exciting entertainment venues. A 9-hole, par 3 executive golf course, three lavish pools, and the signature YHI Spa offer the discerning guest a definitive means to leisure. Experience a hotel that radiates the beauty of the Yucatan Peninsula, and the privilege and compassion of Gran Melia, premiere Cancun resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Gran Melia
Grand Melia Cancun
Melia Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing