We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9th TIME HERE, NEED I SAY MORE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #29 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“9th TIME HERE, NEED I SAY MORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is our 9th time staying at this resort. Why, location, location, location. You are within walking distance of all the night clubs, malls, and places to eat. The hotel staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the building is clean. The food is not 5 star but there is a wide variety of good food and if you cannot find some food you like then I would say you are a very picky eater. The rooms are just that a place to shower and sleep, they have added flat screen TV'S and the beds are comfortable but lets be honest you are in Cancun for the water, sun and fun not to watch tv. The drinks in the fridge are stocked every other day so life is good. There is a great view from each room with a balcony to sit and enjoy the sunrise or sunset. The three restaurants at the Riu offer a different menu to order from I like all of them but the only draw back is you have to make reservations for them and can only make them two days out. It is not a big just get up in the morning go the front lobby get your times and enjoy the rest of the day. I have also seen people come without reservations and get seated because some people do not show up for their reservations. The drinks around the hotel are good and if you like strong drinks just ask for moe alcohol. Also if you have a special adult beverage you like ask the bartender if they have it and they will make your drink using it. These are kept under neath out of sight. If you dont ask you will get well liquor and that can make a difference between a good drink and not so good. There are two quiet pools and two pools where the action is, never had a problem of not finding a chair around the pool. One small problem is people walking around the pool will try to snag your towel leaving you short a towel if it does not get replaced. The nightly shows are good and are different each night. Bottom line my family have stayed at several different properties in Cancun but we enjoy the Riu Cancun as our kids grew up it is a perfect fit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,086
    2,769
    950
    444
    340
See reviews for
1,820
3,939
132
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just Returned from a 2 week holiday for my 30th as a couple at Riu Cancun and came back engaged!! He proposed in the Carribean sea which is gorgeous!! Had such an amazing stay the local staff can not do enough for you especially Ceasar on the front desk who upgraded us to a higher floor 1010 from 634 the views were amazing (definitely recommend you email hotel before stay to get higher room) from the guy picking up the seaweed to the staff in the restraunts everyone works so hard in this hotel tip or not! The only thing that let this hotel down were the ENGLISH Thompson reps be very careful when booking excursions we wanted to go to the Isla Controy we were told remote Island bbq on beach the day is yours to relax when we got there the day was planned out for museums, bird sanctuary and snorkelling then an hour on the beach no sunbeds and no smoking all of this we were never told prehaps if Tara had explained all this instead of scrolling through her facebook on her phone when booking the excursion we would have never booked and when it came to wanting a refund ($250) we were not the only couple who came back we were faced with Peter who argued with my partner for 10 minutes disgusting customer service!! This however didnt spoil our stay the local staff were amazing and coco bongos is a must all in all fantastic holiday!!

Room Tip: High floor 10 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went to the rui cancun in November 2012 for our 30th wedding anniversary. It's a lovely hotel on the beach, well situated for the nightlife of cancun, Congo bongos was just 5 minute walk. I didn't think much of cancun, bit run down dirty nothing nice to look at. But if you want to do the nightclubs then that's the place to stay. Hotel is lovely, very clean, spacious rooms with well stocked fridge and optics. Food was excellent, plenty to choose from, pools were lovely. The beach is a bit small, not very wide. We walked along the beach to the shops and restaurants, nice bands playing on the beach. Overall we had a lovely time, but I must say I prefer playable to cancun. The views are stunning, all rooms have seabirds, even the glass lifts have seaviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel was great! Staff were friendly! Rooms were awesome, left a couple of dollars for tip came back to a very clean room. Food was awesome!! Pool were small too many people in there. Didn't go in. But the beach was great. Didn't like that fact that we had to go to the closest bar for a beer, but we did it with no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from a fortnight at Riu Cancun - had an amazing time and my boyfriend proposed on the beach which just made it even more of an unforgetable holiday. The hotel is fantastic, brilliant location and atmosphere with lovely staff and decent food. The animation team are the best - day and nite and u must def go out with them at nite. This is a great hotel to make new friends and close to all the action but still in a beautiful location on the beach. Even Riu Palace guests would visit this hotel and comment on the great, friendly atmosphere. Cancun is an awesome place too, I would def recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulavillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We went here in April 2012 for my wife's 40th birthday and it was fantastic. A couple of minor things such as wait times for the lifts and the smallest night club in the world.. But we forgive them for that. All rooms are facing the Caribbean Sea, so what a view to wake up to every morning. The service around the pool and beach is superb, the staff quickly remember your drinks and on occasions we sat on loungers on the beach and our drinks were there before we even asked!! Great selection of food and drinks and even the mini bar is all part of the package. We took a organised pub crawl that ended up in Coco Bongos and were a bit nervous that we were too old.. But it was a good range of ages and had a great night.. All in all fantastic holiday but it was the service that made it really special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Never been to anything like it in my life, this hotel was fantastic, rooms were big, clean, balcony area with mosquito net as part of balcony door, full fridge of alcohol water and soft drinks every second day, maids fantastic, clean room every day fresh towels and beds made. Restaurants, steakhouse was not bad, didn't manage Brazilian however Japanese was amazing, really fantastic food, first time for Japanese went twice, sports bar greats, open 24 hours, hot dogs burgers cocktails beer etc, brilliant. Buffet restaurant fantastic also la mission great too, entertainment good, get there early for seats and tables, bar service great, waiters fantastic, would tip about 20 pesos maybe every 3 drinks, hotel is beautiful inside and from outside, pool bar excellent, just chill with drinks, great pools, reps brilliant get you really involved, go on a night out with reps 30 pound each VIP all inclusive bar at the clubs, worth the money, would recommend palazzo a great night, take a taxi from club, back to hotel,wifi free 90 mins lobby, hotel right at beach brill, would go back tomorrow, if you go with thomson do the bar crawl, go to hooters food and drink great, get the fried gherkins, hotel 5/10 minute walk from all the clubs , beds very comfy, please ignore bad reviews I would go back tomorrow if I could

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiemcg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing