We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #29 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Trip with our daughter's family(kids 4 & 7 months). Something for everyone. We had 2 rooms and although they don't have adjoining door the rooms shared entry hall so step out of one door and knock on the other worked well with kids naps and letting our daughter and son in law go out late while my husband and I got children down. My husband and I preferred the Riu WiPalace Peninsula we stayed at months earlier, but son in law and kids loved the Riu Cancun so much that when I presented options to return for a trip somewhere they wanted Riu Cancun again rather than other Riu options . For a couple the food, pampering, relaxation at Peninsula better, but for young family with kids the beach and pool options plus location ideal at this resort. First choice to return for 4 now 5 year old and his parents . Will be there in a week and all are looking forward to the lobby Christmas Tree, dining and beach/pool time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommieSueBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,083
    2,767
    950
    442
    341
See reviews for
1,816
3,936
132
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from 9days stay here. I was disappointed as we stayed in Dreams the last time we were in Cancun and it was much nicer than Riu. The food was good and the rooms weren't bad, although a little old fashioned.The biggest problem was that the beach area is tiny and was always really packed. The hotel is so high that the sun is gone by about 2.30pm (well in November/December) so if you like to get the whole day out of the sun I would not recommend the hotel at all as you are left in the shade from about 1.00pm by the pool and the whole hotel by 2.30ish. The liquor wasn't great quality and they had a eally poor selection. The Japanese restaurant was really nice and overall we were impressed with the service and buffet. The hotel is in a really great location but I wouldn't stay here again if I was to return to Cancun...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_B279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My travel group the Crazy8s have been traveling together for 13 years. The Riu Cancun in Cancun Mexico is the worst hotel accommodations we have ever had. The first day one of us had to move 3 times because of the following. The first room had mold growing on the ceiling and walls.The air was not working and third a roach infestation. The hotel was quick to send someone up to wipe walls with bleach. Two other rooms had roaches also. The hotel sent exterminators the next morning. The chemicals were very strong and we had to be out the room and leave sliding glass doors open all night. The hotel need major updating. They had a key to open the door not a key card. The safe had a lock and key that you had to install. The walls were paper thin. You could hear toilets flushing from other rooms and their conversation. We were told that the hotel is closing in March 2014 until August 2014 for renovation. The staff were very nice. The service they gave was good. There were some language problems with some of the staff. The food was a lot of repetition. The liquor was very cheap and had no good quality. I would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't be near the ice maker or elevators. You hear everything all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Well all i can say this would be more 3 star than 4 star Thomsons rating and Riu rating of 5 star.... Noooooo..

Service was appaling by 80% of the staff
The food was shocking same food for lunch and dinner and i have had better in a three star in europe. And the All inclusive Restraunt had no service of directing us to tables and very squashed
Room very basic and also very small.
Pool area great but if you want sun you have to get your beds at 7am..
The wifi was only in the lobby.. 16 settees with over 1500 wanting a seat..
Location was amazing for the bars in town
Very 18/30s and also full of kids..

I would recomend if your looking for this standard is to go the upgraded Caribe a taxi downtown is only £5.. 10$ so well sworth the better standard and also great spaces in the bars and also the pool area is great up there ..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is awesome don't know where to start.

1. Food

WOW. The food here is amazing and so much variety! They have different themes every night, example wednesday Mexican night, so you will never get tired of the same food some all inclusive resorts usually offer. From breakfast, lunch and dinner you will not be disappointed.

A La Carte Restaurants.

A. Steak house = Good (Try the Rib Eye)
B. Japanese = Least favourite, but still descent
C. Brazilian Steak house = Very good

2. Rooms

The only complaint would be the pillows, pillows are way to soft for my liking, I'm used to latex pillows, I would suggest bringing your own.

Warning: Don't book triple occupancy, they will send you a cot instead of a 3rd bed.

3. Pools

There are 4 pools, 1 swim up bar pool, one quiet pool, one entertainment pool, and one main pool. Water is warm and pools are very clean.

4. Location

Close to the nightclubs and other shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph_xxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fantastic hotel, polite staff, lovely food and brilliant location. Would love to return!
The weather in October was a bit hit and miss with some rainy days, but staff worked hard to keep guests entertained.
Coco bongo and pirAte ship are fantastic trips and 'must do's'.
The beach is beautiful and sea is great to swim in. Views from balcony are amazing.
Great selection of cocktails, but we're watered down a bit. Overall this was a fantastic hotel and resort. I would defiantly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our 4th trip Back to the Riu Cancun and it was great as usual, we had an amazing trip. My husband and I have been to Cancun several times and have stayed at other resorts but the Riu Cancun is our favorite. The location is great it is close to to everything when it rains all day I like to take that opportunity to get off the resort it is the only time I leave the resort and there are markets and a mall just across the streets. The staff at the Riu is amazing starting at the front desk when you are checking they have a cocktail waiting for you and the front desk staff is so helpful and they always have smiles on their faces, Rebecca, Andreina, David, Paulina, and Bellino always so pleasant!!!!! The bartenders in the lobby bar make very good drinks and are very fast, and the waiters and waitresses in the lobby are always happy to get you a drink and remember you from your last visit and say welcome back The rooms are a little outdated but they are clean and they face the ocean and that is all we care about we don't spend a lot of time in our room. If you an amazing vacation spend it at the Riu Cancun

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing