We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers.”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #36 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

First timers to Cancun. The location was great, withing walking distance to everything. 20 something sons have a great time at the clubs a block away.
Food was everything you could ask for. Wine not so good, could have been a better quality of drinks in our rooms. The view was to die for, but the beach was a bit small. Staff were awesome especially with all of the events that they had during the day. Night time lots of fun for us older folk but the younger generation needed to head to the clubs. The nightclub on site was not so great.
The gals in the spa were wonderful and I would recommend a pedicure.
Overall our trip was great, the weather was overcast , but that was no fault of the Hotels. I would recommend this place to anyone. We give it a 4 rating because it just is one step below it's sister Hotel the palace. When we booked we were told it was a 5 star, but I think 4 better rates it. But again no complaints because it was much livelier than the Palace. Guest from that hotel would come over to ours to party in the pool bar.

Room Tip: I don't think that you could have a bad room in this Hotel. I think that every room had a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CANCUN1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 10,413 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I returned to the UK on the 28th January after spending 10 nights at the Riu Cancun. We visited Mexico two years ago and stayed at the El Dorado Royal. The Riu Cancun is right in the middle of the hotel zone which suited us as we wanted to visit lots of the places we didn't get to visit when we stayed at the El Dorado. This hotel was also much better situated for the dive center - just a short bus ride. The hotel was immaculate, the bed very comfortable, plenty of cupboard space. The shower was amazing and the bath filled up really quickly. Water was always hot.Room was always made up to perfection and the fridge always well stocked. Ample sized balcony (6th floor) with a great view over the sea. Somebody previously mentioned about doors slamming - not the hotels fault! The doors to the rooms are fire doors (thank goodness) and if you leave the sliding doors open to your balcony and don't close the door to your room carefully when you go out - yes it will slam - but there is a big enough handle on the door to be able to control how much you allow it to bang.The staff were all amazing and we didn't find a single member of staff who were miserable. We did however meet a couple of extremely miserable holiday makers who not even the most loveliest of staff could have done anything for, however much they tried. Some people just set out to be grumpy and ungrateful and this attitude often gets transferred as being the fault of the hotel staff.We were not over impressed with the restaurants that you had to pre book - preferring the endless selection of healthy foods in the buffet hall. Somebody reported on here that the food was all fried and greasy - well - they couldn't have looked far enough to see the array of fantastic fruits, salads, amazing fish and lean hot and cold meats. If you only want bacon and greasy food - choose that but don't complain about your choice then mark the hotel down on their food selection! I have never seen such a wide and varied selection. My partner and I decided that if we stayed here for a month we could easily have a different meal three times a day with what was on offer. The breakfast juices, particularly the green one, was yummy and I will miss it. Thank you to all at the Riu Cancun for helping to make our holiday so special.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the sixth floor away from the ice machine and had no problem (room 506)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine65England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was my third trip to Cancun and I have stayed at two other hotels that were great but this one takes the cake! We stayed from January 19th to the 25th and the hotel was right in the middle of the hotel zone, so it was easy to wonder to the malls, flee markets and nightlife. The hotel was very clean and the hospitality was great. We had an ocean view room that was beautiful and it was quiet as we slept with the patio door open every night. The food was really good especially on Spanish night! The waiters were very friendly and staff greeted you everywhere. The beach was kind of spilt into to ends of the hotel shore line, one end had a ton of large rocks and coral with sand and some swimming areas and the other end was soft sand but there was plenty of room for people to sunbathe, play volleyball, swim and walk along the beach. The pools looked very well maintained but we never managed to make it into the pools as we swam in the ocean everyday instead. The sports bar was amazing! Be sure to visit Angelito as he was the best bartender and made our drinks to perfection!!! He is the Kindest person to have conversations with as well! The nightly entertainment was pretty good and the disco had a great selection of music. The excursions we booked from the hotel to Chichen-Itza and Xel-ha were amazing and the service was great as well. The Wi-Fi was a little weird as you had 90 minutes a day which is plenty BUT you basically had to use it in one session so if you couldn't get through to whomever you would have to wait and try the next day. Overall this hotel was amazing and we definitely plan to go back!!!

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th Floor ocean view side and slept with the patio door open every night! No noise co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What can say. We have stayed here 5 or 6 times now and every time it is excellent.
From the moment you enter the lobby you are treated well. The rooms are ok. The food is plentiful and of good quality.
My only negative is the specialty restaurants. They are really not worth the hassle of getting a reservation. Almost everyone who was in the restaurant with us went to the buffet afterwards like we did.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSlaterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Riu Cancun is bang smack in the middle of everything you will ever need, but dont forget to plan your budget well. With so much to do and see your going to need lots of spending money. Most trips and adventures will cost around £40-£60 per person, but when you consider this is nearly always including your food and rink then it really is pretty cheap for what you get. Everyone will go out of their way to ensure the trips are great fun and enjoyable. (Tip1) Everyone will take your photo for you, but it will sot you on average around £40 to but them... be prepared or take your own cameras.
Do not take the trip reps word for everything, go explore and see some of the other agents offering trips, you can often save enough to pay for a few more if you use the outside agents and they will happily barter with you. The Jungle trip with self drive boats a must, the night out at Cogo Bongo definatley well worth the vip price of around £80 -£90 per person, you will never forget that night. Do the ferry trip to the island of women, but do not take the buggy from the guys onboard, barter one as soon you get onto the island, youll pay around 450 pasos for the whole day and its worth it, you can see the whole island and anyone can drive, so its fun for all. This is also where youll see turtle farm and the dolphin experience, alongside the shark pool if you look close enough and dont drive to fast. The cata tour is pretty cool and lots of fun, so get your adventure head on and do go sail flying, its a hoot.
So once you have gone to myan temples and pyramids and done all the fun stuff, take some long walks along the only main raod around cancun and go into downtown. There you can see the matador arena which is seasonal and only open up to end of Nov or there about, and you can use the the Riu complex just after the Riu Palace and the Rou complexe in playa whihc is a 15min scooter ride down the coast and well worth the visits. Lots of great little shopping markets, rental scooters and cars and jet ski fun to be had in Mexico, so go Mexico

Room Tip: 13th floor upwards have great scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diablopablo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived at the hotel (after being delayed) in the evening We thought first impressions to be quite good, This was short lived as we where woken up in the night with people slamming doors and people playing loud music the arguing( though drink) this was in room next to use. which we had to complain about to our Thomson rep (the lowest rating we can give on noise is one or it would be lower}. We where on the second floor only to find out when we woke up to find the balcony had a concrete wall to the front of it which took away a lot of the view.(if you where short you had to stand on a chair to see the pool down below). Don't get a room by the ice machine as it is very noise. I must say our room was kept clean we had a good maid. The food was fine for the first few days but it was the same thing day after day.I must say that two of the staff( Alexis and willy) in the bar near the reception where very good they looked after us every time we used the bar. If you like the sun get up early as the sun disappears round 3 because the beach is very small. We did the Dolphin trip on the island we where told we would have a guide but we did'nt get one ,we did'nt know WHAT was happening .Where told food and drinks where included but had to find this out for our selves it was chaos ,we found that all they where interested in was selling us photo's with the dolphins. IF we did go back to mexico it would be to a different hotel....sorry Rui cancun

Room Tip: Get a room above the 6th floor we found out on the last day they are not as noise Don't get room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I don't know how people can give a bad review because another guest slammed the door yes they are very heavy and very secure as they should be. Also people are upset because some of the help does not speak english shame on you YOU ARE IN MEXICO DUMMYS some tourist should indeed stay home. The service waiters lobby bar service, maids were the nicest I have ever had in a hotel always asking is everything ok? Such a nice group of workers ready to help in any way. The resort is great beautiful in every way plenty of sun great food clean clean lovely room. Very safe hotel strangers are not allowed to wander in --they run a tight ship I guess also spring breakers are allowed but cant misbehave. Felt so relaxed everything taken care for us --food very good drinks whenever all day all night nice music very very beautiful lobby and grounds. Riu Cancun hope to see you again and thanks for everything!

Room Tip: big building is 14 floor or side annex is only 6 floors both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.5 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 177 in Cancun
7,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
0.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 9 | Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#32 Family Hotel in Cancun
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £177 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Cancun opens all year round and is located right on the beautiful beach of Cancún, in the Corazone area which is the modern hotel zone with American-style shopping center, various restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancún Airport (20 km) and Cancún city (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 569 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Asian, Italian specialty restaurants, Steakhouse, and 5 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing