We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CANCUN VACATION AT RIU PALACE PENNISULA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #29 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CANCUN VACATION AT RIU PALACE PENNISULA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is so worth going there. Good rates. All inclusive and impeccable service. Rooms are so clean. All rooms have a outside balcony. Customer service is awesome. Never wanted for anything there. A dollar tip will go a long way there. The employees are awesome and I mean awesome. Always tip because they really take good care of you. Can't say enough about this resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and all have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,086
    2,769
    950
    444
    340
See reviews for
1,820
3,939
132
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on holiday to this hotel in April 2014 and had an amazing time. The staff were really good and efficient and the food and cleanliness were absolutely excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but the rooms that face out onto the long stretch of beach is superb espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to the Riu Cancun this year in January, we had a fantastic week and nothing spoiled the holiday even the small things that other people may list that did ruin their week. The hotel its self is lovely, a bit out dated but lovely. The lobby area is lovely a wide space and enough room for sitting.

The pool area: The pool area was ok, could be better. There are two pools as far as i noticed they are side by side one has a bar in and in the other it was just plain, however it was an infinity pool. The area around the pool in my eyes is not big enough for the amount the hotel holds.The main problem being that when it got to about 3pm the hotel shadowed the pool area which meant all sunbeds were crammed to one side near the balcony.

The Beach: Lovely beaches, not much of of a beach but it was just enough. White sand and luke warm sea.

The Staff: very friendly happy to help especially in the dinning area's. Enterainment staff was ok, we had one lady who was excellent but i didn't catch her name, the rest was mainly men and of course was only interested in the young ladies who was there single and didn't bother with most people. Checking in was quick we arrived on a night time so all we wanted to do was grab dinner and go to bed. Bags was brought up to our room within 15 minutes.

Food: I can't pass a fair comment on the food as i am a picky eater and wont complain about small things that others do.

The hotel location is fantastic, there is alot of shops and bars just a 2 minute walk away from the hotel, you are bothered by market shop keepers to come in and buy their things but they are polite enough when you say no.

The rooms: Lovely big bed in the double room we had yes it was 2 medium beds pushed together but we never noticed. You have an actual key to get into your room not a key card, this is something that needs improving on but it is just because it is a bit outdated. Lovely bathrooms, massive mirror plenty of space for 2. Bottles of alcohol in the room a mini bar which was free which was fantastic, pepsi,sprite,beer and water all stored in a mini fridge for no extra charge and refilled daily. Lovely view of the pool and beach from our room.

Amazing Holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, but the lifts do take a while to get from floor to floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in 2010. It has a great location, perfect part if the beach and a 5 minute walk from all of the shops and clubs. The bus ran right outside that would take you anywhere you liked. The staff were very good and there was always entertainment. ,y favourite restaurant was the Japanese cuisine. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a great stay!!!!the staff was excellent and helpful at all time :)food and drinks were great... can wait to go back loved Cancun too..tons to do and always felt safe...use the public busing, its cheap only 1 each way

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer6374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C.I. Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

As soon as I arrived at the resort, Joe "aka Jose" from Aeromexico tours, who was stationed in the Lobby greeted me at the car door. He gave me all of the information about the resort. He made sure I had a smooth check-in and gave my friends and I all of the information we needed when we needed it. The food is excellent. The beach was nice, a bit rocky at low tide. The staff was attentive. I never went hungry or thirsty. The only thing was they were building an extension next door and the construction went day and night. They only stopped on Sunday. Also they need to get Havana Club Rum. I hope to come back to this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay on water side, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FredRci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been here twice and would like to say we cant beleive some of the negative reviews.
The food , the staff , the location is totally very very good.We traveled as a couple with teens and twenty yr old kids and with our 60 yr old inlaws and everyone had a great time. We love our food and drink.....and we have no complaints.

Room Tip: We like staying in the annex which is closer to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennskimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing