We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless! ”
Review of Hotel Riu Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Cancun
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Faultless! ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Actually came here in June 2011 with 3 of my friends. We had 2 rooms both with double beds each. Room cleaned from top to bottom every day, not one speck of dust in sight. Fully air conditioned which was imperative as it was baking hot some days. Fridge always fully stocked with water and beer. Bathroom always stocked with toilet roll, towels, shampoo etc.

Staff attentive, friendly and willing to help.

Made very good friends with some of the reps ans still speak to them now.

Stayed here for 2 weeks, everything all inclusive, all kinds of drinks, entertainment every night, stunning beaches, fantastic food, great staff.

Couldn't find one thing wrong with this place. I know I'll be back again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank Gareth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,230
    2,837
    975
    462
    351
See reviews for
1,876
4,078
135
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a great time but not as good as most all inclusives. Hotel did not feel like you were in the trpoics. It was a high rise and rooms were small. Too many Children for me also. Food was average. Drinks were good and bars were ok. Overall had no real problems with this RIU but I would try other venues in cancun if I were to go back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goblue0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynardville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed April 6 - 11, 2014. We were a little a worried about staying here because we read other reviews stating that the resort would be closed on 4/26/14 for renovations....but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and radiant views of this resort. This was our first time in an all-inclusive And our first time in Cancun. We traveled here with two other couples staying in the same resort. I am in my mid 50's and my wife in her low 40's. We have been on several cruises, vacations in FL, SC, etc. The color of the water here is amazing! The location to clubs and downtown is Great! The staff was always helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean, we utilized the in-room safe with no issues. As noted on previous comments, the shadow of the hotel did cover us with shade around 3pm. We had read about some rocks in the water and there were a few but we felt it safe to go barefoot in the ocean water at the resort. The food was mediocre at best and the alcoholic beverages were poor. We like to live it up, especially on vacation! but we tried every drink they made and could barely feel the effects. We even tipped the bartenders VERY well and requested Top shelf liquor but it still seemed watered down. Same goes for the bottles in our room. We wanted to take a catamaran ride on the double-decker boat named the Dancer but it was already booked for the week. We ended up booking a catamran ride on the Sea Passion Catamaran with Captain Tony ($60 per person, all fees and taxes included) to Isla Mujeres. It had rained the afternoon before and the water was very choppy so the Snorkel activity was canceled by the coast guard. It was still well worth our money! Had a blast! The staff and Capt'n Tony were so friendly and drinks kept flowing! Lunch on private island was great too. You can rent a golf cart on Isla Mujeres for approx $15 - $20 per hour for 4 to 5 people. There were 6 in our party and no golf carts for 6 :( We walked around, had local tacos and did a little shopping. You can bargain shop and haggle prices down on items purchased...you just had to ask and be persistant. Great excursion! It is safe to take city buses, $1 per person one way. Just be sure to catch the bus on the side of the street in the direction you want to be headed...get on and off fast - they do not slow down! We took bus to Jimmy Buffets margaritaville and Bubba Gumps...ended up eating at Bubba Gumps. Food was excellent - best meal we had the whole week in Cancun! We also walked downtown two nights and did not feel threatened or scared - very 'touristy' environment. Ended up not going to Coco Bongos due to loooong line but ended up across the street at Congos - had a BLAST! Will we go back to Cancun? Yes! Would we stay at Riu Cancun again...Yes! But next time we will go across the street to liquor store and buy some local tequila (brought home some vanilla tequila...AMAZING!) to drink or mix in with our drinks while on the resort. Hope this helped!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Lonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here with my partner for 2 weeks. The room was lovely,clean and very comfortable bed. We had a balcony with a beautiful view of the sea.
The service was impeccable! Great all inclusive... the choice of food/restaurants were amazing...Spoilt for choice! Drinks were of good quality and loved the all inclusive drinks in the room!(Which was always replenished) The pool area is great although very hard to get a sun lounger without having to wake up at the crack of dawn! It wasn't all bad we just headed down to the beach most days which I preferred! The spa was lovely had a great massage,definetly worth it.
The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nightlife/resataurants and shops.
We had a amazing stay and so much fun! Would definetly go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DeeJaggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is so worth going there. Good rates. All inclusive and impeccable service. Rooms are so clean. All rooms have a outside balcony. Customer service is awesome. Never wanted for anything there. A dollar tip will go a long way there. The employees are awesome and I mean awesome. Always tip because they really take good care of you. Can't say enough about this resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and all have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went on holiday to this hotel in April 2014 and had an amazing time. The staff were really good and efficient and the food and cleanliness were absolutely excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fabulous.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but the rooms that face out onto the long stretch of beach is superb espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to the Riu Cancun this year in January, we had a fantastic week and nothing spoiled the holiday even the small things that other people may list that did ruin their week. The hotel its self is lovely, a bit out dated but lovely. The lobby area is lovely a wide space and enough room for sitting.

The pool area: The pool area was ok, could be better. There are two pools as far as i noticed they are side by side one has a bar in and in the other it was just plain, however it was an infinity pool. The area around the pool in my eyes is not big enough for the amount the hotel holds.The main problem being that when it got to about 3pm the hotel shadowed the pool area which meant all sunbeds were crammed to one side near the balcony.

The Beach: Lovely beaches, not much of of a beach but it was just enough. White sand and luke warm sea.

The Staff: very friendly happy to help especially in the dinning area's. Enterainment staff was ok, we had one lady who was excellent but i didn't catch her name, the rest was mainly men and of course was only interested in the young ladies who was there single and didn't bother with most people. Checking in was quick we arrived on a night time so all we wanted to do was grab dinner and go to bed. Bags was brought up to our room within 15 minutes.

Food: I can't pass a fair comment on the food as i am a picky eater and wont complain about small things that others do.

The hotel location is fantastic, there is alot of shops and bars just a 2 minute walk away from the hotel, you are bothered by market shop keepers to come in and buy their things but they are polite enough when you say no.

The rooms: Lovely big bed in the double room we had yes it was 2 medium beds pushed together but we never noticed. You have an actual key to get into your room not a key card, this is something that needs improving on but it is just because it is a bit outdated. Lovely bathrooms, massive mirror plenty of space for 2. Bottles of alcohol in the room a mini bar which was free which was fantastic, pepsi,sprite,beer and water all stored in a mini fridge for no extra charge and refilled daily. Lovely view of the pool and beach from our room.

Amazing Holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, but the lifts do take a while to get from floor to floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#42 of 175 in Cancun
641 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#46 of 175 in Cancun
7,411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
0.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Cancun

Property: Hotel Riu Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan | Km 9, Manzana 50, Lote 5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#39 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Corazone", Cancun's resort area. 14-Storey main building and a 5-storey annex building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 20 M/65 ft. From a shopping centre. 10 Km/6.2 Miles from downtown Cancun. 20 Km/12.5 Miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Cancun Hotel Cancun
Riu Cancun Mexico
Cancun Riu Hotel
Rui Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing